We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 485: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Bawtry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I live fairly locally to Ye Olde Bell,but haven't visited for a number of years. I was invited to a Golden Wedding Celebration,and had a wonderful time. For the amount of people there I was surprised that we were given a choice of menu on the day. The food was first rate,the staff were most pleasant and obliging. I shall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannyang
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here before and I like the hotel. It can be noisy at the weekends due to weddings and events. The rooms are of a good standard and the surroundings nice. I would recommend staying here. The food is good quality and the staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul a
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Broke our journey here with a bed and breakfast stay. The food in the bar and restaurant was very good but the accommodation in the hotel was not too good. The carpet leading from the stairs to the bedrooms is very stained and the carpet in the bedroom was very dirty. The bathroom was old and needed updating and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiggyLancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this hotel for my sister in laws wedding on Monday, lovely venue with brilliant gardens/outside bar, however this only opened for about 1hour straight after the ceremony, which then forced us inside! BBQ was served outside for their afternoon meal, was disappointed when I went back out to get a hot dog, they had packed up straight away!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Faced with a long journey to help my (older) brother celebrate his 70th birthday, we decided to break the journey both ways by staying in a hotel I could not afford 40 odd years ago when I lived nearby. The Old Belle is a magnificent old-style hotel. On arrival we discovered we were upgraded to their best suite - Lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took the wife here for her birthday, we do this now instead of presents (only because she has everything) and as a treat of course. This place is a treat, not cheap by any means but the staff are amazing and the food in the restaurant is to die for. The staff are very cheerful and nothing is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow. I was invited to Ye Olde Bell hotel for a surprise birthday 'afternoon tea' get together for a friend. As it was a surprise birthday a few of us were at the venue a bit earlier, so we headed to the bar where we were greeted by the most efficient, polite and friendly barmen! Had a drink, then the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel m
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Wow indeed...what a fabulous review, thank you very much! Delighted you all had such a wonderful celebration and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to return here for lunch to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary as this was where we had our wedding reception. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent, food really good and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I think we'll return again but not leave it quite so long next time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WAMMidlands
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

How lovely.....I'm delighted you chose to celebrate this special anniversary with us...45 years, that really is a considerable achievement, congratulations! I wish I'd had chance to chat to you whilst you were here, I love hearing memories of times past at Ye Olde Bell. Hopefully we will see you again very soon......perhaps you could bring a wedding photo or two?...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quite average and poor value for money. Why are cheffy types scared of cooking veg? My wife's crab risotto was about 4 tablespoons of a soupy, flavourless rice pudding with a few peas floating in it. It was sent back, we weren't charged. The shin beef was well cooked but portion small and a couple of bit of watercress don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie J
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. I'm so sorry you were disappointed in the risotto, we would have happily made something else for you but I understand you were limited for time. I hope you will accept my sincere apology and will not be deterred from visiting us again, I have every...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place...good food and very relaxing. Reasonably priced and the staff are friendly. Had sandwiches ...one beef and one ham..both delicious! The beef was beautiful! Presentation good too. Can't wait for the summer months to sit out and enjoy the attractive garden area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyOutram
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. Yes you must come again in the summer, it's glorious today and our guests are enjoying pre lunch drinks on our beautiful terrace. We really are so lucky to have the best of both worlds, stunning gardens for the summer and cosy lounges and roaring log fires in winter. A...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
10.0 km away
Clumber Park Muthu Hotel and Spa
13.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
166 reviews
8.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
398 reviews
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range: $207 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are nice but the more you pay the nicer they become”
V604NJcolinh, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If possible look for offers on the web site. Prefer the rooms in the hotel itself and not the annexed ones.”
985nigelp, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bathrooms boutique but the rooms are cosy and victorian style.”
Emily1235, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for superior rooms or check their web site all rooms are good to fantastic”
steveec2016, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in the country so I would presume all the rooms are fairly quiet, it might be a bit noisy above the banquet hall,”
Mags1055P, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5