We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times this year and found it to have lovely rooms furnished in a classical way but we'll provisioned. The restaurant serves a good menu, that is refined and uses good quality produce. The bar is well stocked and the leather sofas are extremely comfortable for the weary traveler. I will definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0ly17
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate your considered feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well all I can say is what a disappointment. I booked for afternoon tea as a birthday treat for my 81 year old mum, we had been last year and it was lovely but how things have changed. Last year there was a great variety of sandwiches including prawn,ham,beef,egg,cheese along with mini pastries. This year there was very little variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01MrsP
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your afternoon tea especially as it was a birthday treat for your mum. We usually offer a lovely selection of sandwiches so I really don't understand what went wrong on this particular occasion. I have of course discussed your comments with the team and taken the necessary action to prevent any reoccurrence. I'd...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked afternoon tea here as a birthday treat for my sister. Booked for 3 adults & 1 child. We were impressed with the charm & grandness of the hotel/restaurant, it was warm and welcoming on a cold winters day. Shame I can';t say the same for the pitiful afternoon tea! The selection-if you can call it that- was very boring,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moddymop
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently and taking the time to write a review, I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your afternoon tea and hope you will accept my sincere apology. Our tea is dainty so you would expect delicate finger sandwiches and bite size cakes but there is usually plenty of them, in fact our guests often find...

notts, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walking into the room decorated specially for Valentine night was just a WOW factor. The staff were plentiful, attentive, welcoming, and asked to ensure that we were enjoying the food throughout every course. The food was presented beautifully, , just enough in quantity, and delicious from start to finish! We had a very special night, and we look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lynda and Alan, so pleased you enjoyed your latest visit to Ye Olde Bell, always such a pleasure to look after you. See you again soon I hope! Kind regards Kate

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently dined and stayed at Ye Olde Bell using a voucher bought for a Christmas gift for my beloved. Being local I have dined here on numerous occasions over the years and found the establishment pleasant enough, very nice, [without being outstanding], and on occasion underwhelmed. However the management have obviously upped their game as the evening was made one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Fabulous, thank you! So pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was a great Christmas gift voucher offer, the perfect present! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate

scunthorpe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I and 2 friends went to the Ye Old Bell for Sunday lunch. As discribed by others it retains an old world charm, with the hint of the gentlemens club, log fires and comfortable seating add to the overall ambiance. Unfortunately for me that is we're the praises end because my food was very disappointing, for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 301lincolnshirelad
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently for Sunday lunch, I was most concerned to learn you were disappointed and hope you will accept my sincere apology. The team usually react in a very positive way should there be any hint of dissatisfaction so I'm sorry your feedback was not acted upon. I will reiterate to everyone the importance of following...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here due to a family party. When we came to go to bed around 11.30pm we found we'd been put in a room above a dance floor of another party. Whilst not party poopers, everything in our room was vibrating as the bass was so loud. Reception weren't answering the phone (probably couldn't hear the phone). Awful nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell, I'm so sorry you had a disturbed night. We do have a small number of bedrooms that are located above one of our event rooms and I hope you can understand our policy of allocating these to guests attending the party rather...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter is home for a few days so took her out for dinner on her final evening. That's when I realised my mistake. I've certainly left it too long since our last visit. The venue is stunning. The staff were simply first class. And the food, well it was fabulous once more. One thing is for sure, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobMcAndrews
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a heart warming review, thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Wonderfully decorated room and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We stayed over for the Valentines deal and the meal was delicious and the service was exceptional. Thank you for a lovely stay, definitely will be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much, the team did a wonderful job to make Valentine's Day 2017 really memorable and I'm delighted you had such a fabulous time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Close to the market town of Retford Ye Olde Bell is the antithesis of a Travelodge/ Premier Inn. It's a very traditional style of Hotel with the feel of a Gentleman's club to the reception area. We were upgraded to a larger room in the main hotel building and, after a few misgivings over the worn state of the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
10.0 km away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,077 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
13.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
394 reviews
5.3 km away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
17 reviews
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range: $199 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible look for offers on the web site. Prefer the rooms in the hotel itself and not the annexed ones.”
 of 5 bubbles 985nigelp, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bathrooms boutique but the rooms are cosy and victorian style.”
 of 5 bubbles Emily1235, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for superior rooms or check their web site all rooms are good to fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles steveec2016, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in the country so I would presume all the rooms are fairly quiet, it might be a bit noisy above the banquet hall,”
 of 5 bubbles Mags1055P, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we have stayed in different rooms and can honestly say all dthe bedrooms are beautiful and luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles 374lyndab, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5