We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oxford Abingdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 416: English reviews
Swansea, wales, uk
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Good food and pretty comfy beds and great banter with a girl behind the bar blonde hair very attractive didn't get her name though tell her to look me up lol. All jokes aside I would recommend this place very good stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshmale
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a good stay with us and you found the team to be friendly. Thanks for your comments. Andy and the team

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Came for lunch/business meeting with some colleagues. Lunch was great scotch egg was the best I've had. The young lady behind the bar was so helpful very chatty and funny without being intrusive. I think her name was Angie. I will definitely be holding more meetings here .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your comments. I have passed your compliments onto both our chef and to Angie. Angie is a really friendly team member who loves being recognised by her guests and likes even more being described as a "young lady". Thanks again and see you soon. Andy Gelleburn General Manager

Winchester, England
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We visited Abingdon for a family wedding. We are both 80 and this seemed a good option. Rate for twin room only was excellent. Room was spotless but the big drawback was the incredibly noisy floor. If one was awake so was the other! Good breakfast apart from the cooked element which was poor inedible bacon,charred toast and rubbery mushrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprosser
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I believe I have already responded to a comment you left on another review site. It is very unusual for our breakfast to be poorly rated by our guests. Did you speak with Tom or any of the team about the issues raised as I am sure they would have been quick to rectify them? Thank you for...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I would like to start with a positive and say that the staff at the hotel are extremely pleasant. It was quiet in mid-January but they were always polite. However, there are a number of negatives that let the hotel down and they're all due to a lack of investment. Overall, the hotel is extremely tired, especially the rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliftonCampers
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you found the team to be pleasant. We are in the process of gaining planning permission to redevelop the hotel and all of the items you have described will be corrected. The breakfast is something that our team would be happy to correct for you as...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Visited for a family party. The first hurdle was getting a drink at the bar. There were many groups for Christmas dinner and only one person at the bar. Was sat to table the major problems as they were one place setting short so a couple were split up for dinner. We had usual set menu of cold salad items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gossipmonkey
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The three course meal for £13.95 per head is really good value, but we are always open to feedback about how to improve it. Our carvery is very popular and we do all we can to ensure that it is fresh and topped up. If you have any issues then please speak with any of...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea with 11 friends from work which we all paid for up front. It was awful. Vegetarian sandwiches were mixed in with the meats, there was half a scone with cream on per person, a few mini mince pies, a few other little cakes and chocolate dipped strawberries. Tea or coffee served in the large jug things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, I can only apologize for the lack of service and food portions that you felt were insufficient. All our food is costed out per portion and I know we represent great value and usually a friendly and consistent service. I will of course look further into this, and thank you for your feed back. Karl Operations Manager

Abingdon Oxfordshire uk
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We visited the hotel on a Christmas party night. Had a very warm welcome by staff and was shown to a bar near the room the party was taking place. There was about 40 of us in total as this was a get together for a special occasion combined with Christmas. The meal was amazing and service impeccable we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mummandy
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and team. We do all we can to ensure you have a great time and it is really pleasing to hear when newer team members are mentioned for their outstanding service. I will make sure that Sharna is recognised for her good work. Thanks again and have a great...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Thought I would mention that the hotel hosted free of charge an over 70s Christmas event for the over 70s in ABINGDON. The event was well organised and the hotel staff excellent in their support of the event. The food and drink was good and there was a sing song at the end. Well done to the hotel and organisers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeRadley
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for the lovely comments. It was great to be able to host the Mayor's Over 70's Christmas Party. We are proud to support the town of Abingdon and hope to be involved in future community events like this. Have a very merry Christmas. Andy and the team

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We have held our Christmas party here for many years now, another great night was had by all, and a special mention for Angie for being so attentive. Food is ok, what you would expect, but atmosphere is always good for our christmas party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whittington66
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, its always appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your special mention to Angie, she is brilliant. Merry Christmas to you. Karl Operations Manager

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I can only comment on the room as I didn't have breakfast or visit the bar (crowded due to Christmas parties) OK room with plenty of toiletries, tea, coffee and the plus point - biscuits. Comfy bed and despite the party going on downstairs it was quiet in the room. Staff are efficient and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhatNoBiscuits
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thanks for the review. I am pleased you had a good stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in the New Year. Merry Christmas. Andy and the team

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.7 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
222 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
8.8 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,593 reviews
6.7 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range: $91 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cannot comment on the rooms as we were just eating”
 of 5 bubbles annie58Oxfordshire, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in a room”
 of 5 bubbles paulmaudsley1965, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid twin room on ground floor. Floor incredibly noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles aprosser, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“End of the corridor on either floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4408RBbriana, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the ground floor as I said and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB933, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5