We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown & Thistle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown & Thistle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been regular visitors over the past two years. However, the menu seems to have changed little. Prices are high, but the food not that exciting, rather "run of the mill". Deserts are the weak point. Worst - the Cheese Cake, best avoided. A large lump of blancmange sat on a very thin layer of biscuit. Who on earth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here based on someone's recommendation and was not left disappointed. We had a lovely dinner by the log fire and I would highly recommend the Roast Beef dinner on a Sunday. It was pricey but you get more than enough meat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeTraveler
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub and great function room.. However, we recently held a wake there and the food was appalling for the price. The a la carte menu was 'sneaked in' without request and a bowl of olives was £20! They claim it was 5 portions! We ended up ordering pizza for over £50 and endured the small plate of white sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bailois
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and taking time out to do so. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was a poor one; our Management Team have been given your comments for further review.

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Wow, this old coaching inn lives up to its reputation. Such atmosphere, like being taken back on time. The. Room was clean, more than adequate, roomy and in keeping with the rest of the inn/hotel. Close to Abingdon centre, adequate parking. Now to my favourite subject food and drink.....Certainly not disappointed, fantastic friendly bar staff, made to feel very welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sammimileman
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We had an unplanned Saturday evening in this lovely cosy welcoming pub. There were seats and tables available and the atmosphere was cosy and friendly. The beer pro secco and wine was really good and we had a bar snack that was delicious. There was a wedding party in process but this did not intrude on the evening. The courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments - they are always welcome. Hopefully we'll have you with us again soon.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here before and there are some very good points about this hotel. It is old and full of character. The staff are polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy. However this visit we were given a very small room which would have just been acceptable for a single visitor rather than a couple. We paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

I'm so sorry your experience wasn't as we'd expect you to have. Our Management Team are reviewing your comments.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I went with a large family group for a celebration. The menu looked "high end" but when the food arrived it was very poorly presented. Every plate had a massive, leathery Yorkshire pudding, whether you liked it or nor, if you ordered a roast dinner. This was lumped on the plate on top of some under-cooked cauliflower and peas with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berty08
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - they have been passed on to our Management Team for discussion and review.

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The other half and I stayed here while visiting family in Abingdon. On first arrival the room looked amazing and we were both very impressed. The bathroom was also very modern and clean. There were no instructions for the air con so the room was freezing in November. After figuring it out the room became too hot and I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback. It has been passed on to our Management Team for further review.

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel, bar and restaurant are separate set around a lovely cobbled courtyard strung with lighting giving a magical effect. Open fires in the bar and restaurant give a cosy welcoming feel. Rooms are clean comfortable and beautifully decorated. Fabulous breakfast choices, made to order served by friendly attentive staff. I Would love to return when on holiday rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsKEP
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

We're lucky to have the tools with which to offer guests both a wonderful setting and incredible food. hearing back from people that their expectations have been met is very important to us. Thank you so much for the review.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed for a night, with my nine year old daughter, while visiting a friend, the location and the character of the place was what made me choose this place. The bedroom was spacious, beautifully decorated, with lots of character, and the bed was comfy. I specially liked the bathroom, with a beautiful free standing bath. It had wonky floors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anaka1981
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure to hear back from our guests - thank you for taking time out to review us and, hopefully, you feel inclined to come back for another night (or two) in the near future!

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.7 km away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
413 reviews
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
975 reviews
7.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
8.4 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Crown & Thistle Restaurant
The Crown & Thistle Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown & Thistle has benefited from a £1.8m refurbishment and is a stunning restaurant, bar and rooms with character and elegance.Serving quality food and drink all day every day, from breakfast through to lunch and dinner, as well as a range of coffees, fine wines, cocktails, local real ales and international lagers, it is the perfect place to relax in comfortable surroundings.There are 18 beautiful en-suite bedrooms with luxury features and finishings, and a stunning function room, The Barn, for private celebrations, weddings and functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown & Thistle

Address: 18 Bridge Street, Abingdon OX14 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range: $172 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown & Thistle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Thistle Hotel Abingdon
Crown And Thistle Abingdon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown & Thistle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crown & Thistle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was delightful but overlooks the main road so there is a little noise from traffic”
 of 5 bubbles suffolkpoet, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BecksyDartford, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have problems with stairs ask for a room with easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanG618, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Exec doubles are delightful. Choose a courtyard view as road view can be noisy but there is good sound proofing”
 of 5 bubbles Markmasento, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Inside of the hotel is a labyrinth- avoid if you have disability.”
 of 5 bubbles roamerLondon, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay