We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Crown Coaching Inn

Booking.comUS$67*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$67*
US$67*
US$67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Crown Coaching Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Old Crown Coaching Inn
 Click to rate
Stroud Glos UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was an old coaching inn and as a result old furniture and decor. Our room was an upgrade and for £100, for the night, we did not expect a very smelly bathroom that was all through the room. We had to buy an air freshener which was disappointing. The stafff were friendly and breakfast good , although a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackothefirst
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. We had a large room which was very clean withna great comfy bed. Ground floor room which was great as my husband has mobility issues. It is a very old property, you could here every footstep from the floor above, but still slept well. Great breakfast, cooked to order, so very hot. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
London
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My friend and I enjoyed a nice lunch here. The staff were friendly and service was good, the menu wasn't extensive but we only wanted sandwiches so that suited us. Our sandwiches were excellent, real doorstep ones and the homemade chips were delicious. I thought this place was good value for money, portions were just right and I'd definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coopergirlzmom
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Spent a night prior & thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Staff were friendly and there was a good choice to be made on the bar menu. Would recommend to anyone thinking of stopping in the Oxford area to give it a go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I stayed in the faringdon room (double)was very impressed with the size of the room and had a goodsize en-suite double shower, room was clean and very warm, Bed and mattress where comfortable, its an old building so expect sqeaky floors I could here every footstep on the floor above which kept on till around 11pm But an old building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael k
Brighouse
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay, very helpful and also very friendly too. Will cone back again. I did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was delivered delicious. The bar took credit card so no need for claiming expenses back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Stayed here recently and it was ok. Needs a lot of renovation but a nice feel to the place. Food was good and the beer, Doombar, was very reasonably priced. Good roaring fire in the lounge. The staff were good and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArtyOxford
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Great meal in the restaurant 12 of us all eating something different. Nothing to much trouble, weren't hurried. Good service form the bar. Friendly staff. Excellent would certainly return. Hotel old dates from 16 hundreds wood burning stove in the old fire place, plenty of history.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokey741
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a night and were very surprised at how friendly the landlord and staff were. Nothing was too much for them and they made our stay very comfortable. We were able to eat our dinner sat next to the open fire in the bar on Saturday evening which was very cosy. The menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
Province of Almeria, Spain
Reviewed 14 November 2016

so, my hubby and i were invited to see family in faringdon, as there would be no room in the house we thought we would book in to the crown, biggest mistake of our lives,i know its an old building but thats no excuse for poor living is there, the bedroom was small, but that was ok ish, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie B My sincerest apology's for your uncomfortable stay. The room you were staying in is one of our smaller ones but we do have larger rooms available. we were unfortunately having some electrical issues in our restaurant area which was also in connection with the fault to the fan in the room next to you these have all...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faringdon
0.1 km away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
303 reviews
19.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,710 reviews
14.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
793 reviews
0.1 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#4 of 6 in Faringdon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th century coaching inn arranged around a cobbled courtyard. Rustic bar at the front of the property with open fire and real ales. Courtyard lounge serves breakfast and coffee each morning. Carvery every Sunday lunch time ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Crown Coaching Inn

Address: 25 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Price Range: $111 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Crown Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Crown Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crown Coaching Hotel Faringdon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go elsewhere”
juliebD1639XC, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard”
Birtabroad, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not great if you have mobility issues.”
994peterb, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car park was full but easily found on road parking. Beware uneven staircase.”
384fionaa, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go! But if u do avoid the front cos of noise and smokers”
666Bunty, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$67
Hotwire.comUS$67
TravelocityUS$67
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates