We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blue Boar Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Blue Boar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Blue Boar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
South Mimms, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stayed here as we were in the area and most 'chain hotels' which we normally use were full. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was on the top floor and facing the main road. It was a Thursday night and we were not disturbed by any noise at all. The room was hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave c
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We take great pride in our establishment and it's lovely to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Vig, Denmark
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Have stayed at the Blue Boar a few times now and have always recommended people to stay there when visiting Witney. The rooms are all very nice with iPhone docking and modern decor. The restaurant is really good and the breakfast tremendous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian1711
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and restaurant. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, delicious fresh food and clean and modern hotel rooms. I am so pleased that you appreciated this and glad you had a great breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blue Boar on your next visit. The...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I stay here a lot, but this week was the worst I have had. It was 17 degrees outside, I walked into my room to find the window fully open and the room was red hot! The room was over 28-30 degrees! Absolutely boiling. So I had a choice, either keep the blind open for the air and be seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_busine22
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Westy125 Thanks for the review. We have taken all of your feedback on board and hope you'll be back to see the changes! Whilst the noise is sometimes an issue, there's unfortunately little we can do about other venue noise issues. Regards Giancarlo and The Blue Boar team

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We booked a family room and were very surprised with the spacious room we got. It fit the 5 of us properly with 1 double bed, 1 single bed and 1 sofa bed. The room is clean and bright. The location is excellent with many restaurants, cafe and bars nearby. It is just at the center of the town. Staffs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VANESSA983
BlueBoar2011, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vanessa, Thank you for such a lovely review. We really appreciate the kind words as we take great pride and care into all that we do and it gives us great joy to know that it is being shown. We hope that you can visit again soon. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Such a pity - rooms were unclean,not hoovered, dust on all surfaces- first room we were given on arrival, was filthy, even the bed clothes and towels appeared to be unclean. After we spoke to reception we were changed to a different room, which was somewhat better but still carpet was unclean and surfaces covered with dust. Stairs above main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
BlueBoar2011, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sara H, We appreciate the feedback and take our reviews very seriously. We are extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy the time you had with us. We will be investigating everything you have said as we have a very high standard of cleanliness as well as the maintenance. We would love for you to come back for another visit...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Location on main street which is bustling was perfect and close to the venue. It felt like a boutique kind of hotel rooms were very nice and good food excellent breakfast. It has an inner courtyard where you could sit and have your meals weather permitting very pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
BlueBoar2011, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Judy, Thank you so much for leaving us such a kind review. We take our reviews very seriously and we are so pleased to see you had a lovely time with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We chanced upon the Blue Boar on the way back from a trip to Bicester Village. Ate as family of 4 but as we came rather late in the afternoon so unfortunately the pork belly had gone and also the sausages. Prawn and squid starters delicious followed by lemon thyme chicken, lamb steak, another chicken dish from the grill and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are so glad you found us and enjoyed your visit. Our aim is always to ensure all of our guests have the best experience, enjoying great quality food and drink. We look forward to seeing you after your next shopping trip to Bicester Village.

Glasgow
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This palace needs to think if it wants to be a Hotel, or a pub with rooms. Our room looked out on to the courtyard. The staff had no interest in watching what was going on, with from what I could hear someone climbing out of the men's toilets, walking across the flat roof and looking in on the women's,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ploes
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

As parents of two young children we don't get to go out much nowadays but we booked ourselves a table here as a wedding anniversary treat and was thoroughly impressed! The service on arrival was very welcoming and although we did arrive a little early we were encouraged to have a drink at the bar which was very lively and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santapod99
BlueBoar2011, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi santapod99, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review - we are glad you chose to spend such a special occasion celebrating with us and that you had such a wonderful evening. We also offer a Children's Menu if you wanted to bring your two children with you for a family visit next time, which...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Very nice clean rooms, especially the ones in the annex as they are quieter at weekends. The staff are extremely helpful and the breakfasts are amazing. Excellent value for money. Would certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennyDenny_52
BlueBoar2011, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and our delicious food. We take great pride in our establishment and it's lovely to have our guests appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards The Management Team

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
0.2 km away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
358 reviews
1.2 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
769 reviews
4.1 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,150 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
0.8 km away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Hotel

Address: 28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Price Range: $129 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Blue Boar Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Blue Boar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles treva55, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk to someone at the hotel before you visit if the access is an issue for you”
 of 5 bubbles fredith7, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your room has plenty of hangers and storage space.”
 of 5 bubbles VioletG660, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor hot”
 of 5 bubbles U8907TFdavec, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“My room overlooked the main street which is bustling and quite sunny”
 of 5 bubbles judyc953, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5