We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sweeney Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sweeney Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sweeney Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent 2 nights at the Sweeney Hall Hotel. It has lovely gardens & is situated in a very pleasant location looking over the countryside. Inside,all the communal areas are well maintained & very clean. Couldn't fault the staff as they were all lovely, efficient & friendly, We had an evening meal in the restaurant on the first...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManchesterBarbiedoll
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such lovekly feedback, it is appreciated by all. We will get the tv sorted for your next visit. Best wishes

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with friends for early bird menu and it didn't disappoint. Lovely setting, friendly staff and good menu. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and served quickly. I will definitely be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loobyloocaz
Sean E, Manager at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review is much appreciated.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room number 9. Lovely bathroom with walk in shower. Not the best view of the lovely countryside but very nice and clean. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Very friendly and attentive staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank guestr517
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback,we are really please you enjoyed the newly refurbished bathroom.We hope you will stay with us again.

Oswestry
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times in the past. We were greeted pleasantly on arrival and were pleased to be told that our room had been upgraded. We were very satisfied with all the facilities in our room, and with the splendid view of countryside from our window. We dined in the hotel three times and were very pleased on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 333brucer
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback.Your opinion is much appreciated.

Oswestry
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly,welcoming and homely. My husband,kids and myself really enjoyed our stay at Sweeney Hall.The east wing was a great family space for us.Food was fantastic.would definitely recommend to friends and would visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heatherj971
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we hope to see you and your family when you are next in the area.

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice accommodation. Excellent 3 course dinner and breakfast. Good service by a friendly team. Lovely countryside and nice gardens to walk around. The Hall has a long history and is not short of character.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ge0ff99
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is much appreciated, thank you. wE hope you will stay with us again very soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our parents to the Sweeney Hall on Tuesday for an evening meal, but what a disappointment. A three-course meal for £18.50. The size of the portions left a lot to be desired. Three of us chose the Steak which according to the Menu was served Medium Rare, but it hardly saw the bottom of the pan, as it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnjoan1
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. I too am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meals on this occasion.The steak you ordered was 100 % British, the cut is a rump cap called a pichana in Brazil where this steak is very popular. We cook the 10 oz very flavoursome steak to medium rare as pointed...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not impressed. I was expecting the meal to be special but it just wasn't. I started with the risotto which was fine but the mushroom tartlet was dry and tasteless and covered in more red onion than mushrooms. It was also very difficult to cut as it was hard. I don't understand why vegetarian food has to be smothered in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank westgate123
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. I am very sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. I will pass you feedback on to our kitchen team and we do hope you will give us another chance. Had you mentioned while you were with us that you were not happy with your choice of main...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to book into this hotel as the Premier Inn was full and was pleasantly surprised by the price for bed and breakfast. The place is full of character and set in very scenic grounds. The room 11 had a rural view and whilst small was cosy, possibly a little too small for 2 people. I had the 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart C
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.Your detailed account of your visit is much appreciated and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.We hope to see you soon and maybe you can try a few gins.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight business stay and this stood out from the usual chain options as something a little more atmospheric. Sometimes I find these sort of places tired and service a bit hit and miss but not here. Very friendly welcome - the staff are excellent and engaging, the building is beautiful, the food was superb - steak pie was delicious. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian T
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

What a pleasure to read.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
6.4 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
2.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
390 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
120 reviews
22.1 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
9.1 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Parkers Restaurant
Parkers Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Price Range: $143 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sweeney Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sweeney Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“New room created at the back, recommended”
 of 5 bubbles hezekiah2015, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles AJCBridgend, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go unless you get a promise about windows and plumbing (saee my comments above)”
 of 5 bubbles NickNR1, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Running water noise from within the bathroom of room 6?”
 of 5 bubbles gwp12c, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My grandson who got married here stayed the night in the bridal suite, I cannot tell you about any other bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LawrenceJ125, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5