We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Rectory on the Lake

    Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    Please select your travel dates.
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,602 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Llanberis
     
    Waterloo Hotel
    750 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
    388 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Royal Oak Hotel
    756 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Overview
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good2%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair Access
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,602 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Llanberis
     
    Waterloo Hotel
    750 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
    388 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Royal Oak Hotel
    756 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (937)
    There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    361 - 365 of 923 reviews

    Reviewed 24 August 2014

    We stayed at The Old Rectory on the Lake for two nights during our 2+ vacation of England and Wales, and wish we could have stayed longer! A beautiful surrounding for a cozy, lazy time nestled on the lake. The meals prepared by Ricky, along...More

    3  Thank Dave-in-BOS
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 27 August 2014

    Hi to you in Needham, Massachusetts, and we are glad you got home safely. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we too wished you had stayed longer so we coud have shared with you even more of what this delightful part of...More

    Reviewed 24 August 2014

    We have just returned from a truly exceptional Sunday lunch. From the moment we were welcomed until a fond farewell, our experience was exceptional. Some establishments in the area take advantage of their surroundings. The Old Rectory on the Lake does this but also delivers...More

    2  Thank Deana J
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 26 August 2014

    Thanks so much for posting this and it was great to meet you all while you were at your weekend holiday home above Dolgellau. We are so pleased that your enjoyed your Sunday lunch here as you obviously are such discerning diners. Thanks also for...More

    Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

    We spent a night here last weekend and enjoyed the tranquility of the beautiful lakeside setting. The host was attentive and informative. The dinner was excellent and there was a wide choice for breakfast. Our room was comfortable, clean and had a view of the...More

    2  Thank Karen R
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 26 August 2014

    Karen, many thanks for posting this kind review which is really appreciated and I am so pleased you found us to be a 'really pleasant find'. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to our home in the future. Kind regards, Ricky - chef...More

    Reviewed 22 August 2014

    We were lucky enough to be able to pop over from Yorkshire again to the Rectory on the lake recently driven by my wife's over whelming urge to try Ricky's wonderful food again. It didn't disappoint ...nor did the Rectory retreat where we stayed this...More

    2  Thank acefaceWestYorks
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 22 August 2014

    Thanks for returning a year later to see us again and for leaving another review here on TripAdvisor - both are truly appreciated. Thanks also for describing my food as 'wonderful'! Best wishes from chef Ricky!

    Reviewed 20 August 2014

    My boyfriend and I stayed at the Old Rectory on the Lake from 1-3 August and we loved it. The first thing that struck us upon arriving is just how much John and Rick care about their charming house on the lake, and from the...More

    1  Thank Talarsb
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 22 August 2014

    What an incredible account of your stay with us and thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about what we try and offer here at The Old Rectory on the lake. Indeed we are bowled over by what you have written! However the only small...More

    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,602 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Llanberis
     
    Waterloo Hotel
    750 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
    388 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Royal Oak Hotel
    756 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$141 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • North Wales >
    • Snowdonia National Park >
    • Talyllyn
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    Dining (83)
    Hotel & Grounds (875)
    Bathroom (24)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Waterloo Hotel
    750 reviews
    47.02 km away
     
    Royal Oak Hotel
    756 reviews
    47.58 km away
     
    Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
    388 reviews
    46.67 km away
     
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,602 reviews
    51.59 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ty'n y Cornel Hotel Restaurant
    44 reviews
    .39 km away
    Caffi'r Ceunant
    101 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Andy & Adam's Cafe and Shop
    41 reviews
    4.75 km away
    Ty Te Cadair Tea Room
    33 reviews
    2.63 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cader Idris
    333 reviews
    3.33 km away
    Corris Mine Explorers
    177 reviews
    4.22 km away
    Castell y Bere
    56 reviews
    4.49 km away
    King Arthur's Labyrinth
    488 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    chri2jellett
    16 June 2016|
    Answer
    Response from PompeyJonathan | Reviewed this property |
    Hi Chris - I think you need to contact the Old Rectory directly - regards Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    gixernick
    25 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from VandRcardiff | Reviewed this property |
    Look on the Machloop website for flying activity in the area round machynlleth. John at the old rectory may be able to advuse as well. Have fun!
    0
    Votes
    Anthony J
    2 December 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller | Property representative |
    Hello
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Both Craig Goch and Mynydd Rugog have wonderful views of the lake and the mountains"
    Read review
    "All are simply amazing"
    Read review
    "Exquisite views and sublime peace! We stayed in a room with a view of the Lake which was amazing!"
    Read review
    "Best views from the first floor rooms"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing