We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talyllyn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
The Old Rectory on the Lake
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 844: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I booked this due to the good reviews on tripadvisor, however I had to cut my 2 night stay short due to the high temperature in our bedroom, resulting in me and my partner being unable to sleep due to the heat. This was such a shame as it was the best room and had lovely views but as I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmandaJ51
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

You came to see us over nine weeks ago and sadly you stayed on what has been the hottest night of the year and I am naturally concerned that you suffered so much. I am sorry you got bitten by insects but that was because they came in through the open window of your bedroom attracted by the lights you...

Brecon
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Another excellent stay in this glorious retreat and the views seem event better.A great, quiet location and yet near some lovely small towns. Unfortunately we missed the evening meal again but the breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming helping to make this great place to stay. Walks around the lake are recommend, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lizbeth M
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for coming back to see us and posting this review. I am sorry that you could not dine with us but yet again your one night stay was the one evening that chef, Ricky, goes running with his local club. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay - albeit brief - and that you walked round the lake....

Flintshire
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Have just returned from our second visit. Stayed for 3 nights in the Craig Goch room. We were pleased to be back and our visit didn't disappoint. Our hosts were most obliging and catered for my wife's dietary requirements with no fuss. Breakfast was excellent and Ricky's evening meals were superb. The weather really set off the already stunning views....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyJazz_9
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello from Tal-y-llyn and it was pleasure to meet you both again and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your three night stay in our upstairs Craig Goch room which looks out over the lake. We really appreciate your kind comments posted on here and it is our pleasure to share this amazing area with you, which we know...

wales
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have just stayed again and this place never disappoints. Ricky's food is amazing, the rooms are great and John is the ultimate host. I am writing this as I overlook the most amazing of views over the lake and I just love this incredible hospitality experience - and there is free wifi too! I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

It is so good when guests keep returning to see us and then write something again so positive about what we are trying to offer here at Tal-y-llyn. Having been lucky enough to get so many reviews - mostly excellent thank goodness - we also realise that you simply cannot please all the people all the time so to read...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the Craig Goch room on the Bank Holiday weekend . Had great expectations due to the fantastic reviews. Must admit when we first got there we were shocked....had to go and re-read the reviews to make sure we were at the right place. On arrival the first thing that caught our eye was a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you in London and I am sincerely sorry that we did not live up to your expectations based on previous TripAdvisor reviews during your two night stay. However as I have replied elsewhere I just wished you had said something as soon as you had arrived that morning about what you felt was the condition of your bedroom....

Manchester
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed one night at this B&B.We stayed in Craig Goch room and had spectacular views over the mountain and lake. The room was spacious and had a completely seperate bathroom which was luxurious.I would recommend the accommmodation as excellent value. We stayed for evening dinner which we were not originally planning but were concerned about where we could eat nearby....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna M
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We appreciate you leaving this review - together with a great picture of our home - and as it comes from such a seasoned and obviously discerning traveller we have taken on board your comments about your dining experience here. The only thing I gently take issue with you is that you say we offer a four course set meal...

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for one night, with quite high expectations because of all the great reviews. The lake is beautiful ofcourse and you can have a nice walk in the area. We were staying in the smallest room. The bathroom was not clean, there were hairs in the shower and it was dusty on the floor. As we were having drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LisaKap2
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time and effort to leave this review and as you can imagine we are devastated to read it and are greatly saddened that you felt we were overpriced and over rated. You are of course entitled to your opinion but we are just so disappointed that you said nothing to us during your stay therefore giving...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2013

extremely beautiful establishment in a totally unique, breathtaking setting. The hosts are extremely obliging. And the decor is without peer. Our one night stay here makes us want to return to Wales and Snowdonia.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scaifes
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

G'day to you from over nine thousand miles away in Tal-y-llyn! It was good to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I will pass on your kind comments about our decor to Camilla who organised a complete makeover while we were away at the start of the year - I know...

Telford
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Three years ago we got engaged at The Old Rectory On the Lake and because of the great experience including warm welcome, great food and a homely feel we decided to return for our honeymoon. And it had only got better! It is quiet remote place with lots of romance and warmth about the place with such beautiful scenery overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sezmobile36
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

As you may imagine we get a real thrill when folk keep returning to stay with us and it was even more pleasing this time when you came back for your honeymoon having got engaged here three years ago. There must be something in the Tal-y-llyn air as we have had three proposals this year in as many months! I...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Found the Rectory by mistake as was reading the review,s of the Tynycornel hotel on the other side of the lake,which were not favourable..tripadvisor suggested the Rectory,which lived upto its glowing reviews and was booked very close to the bank holiday weekend. Accomodation was brilliant and the evening meal of £30 each was amazing and made a big part of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean N
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Sorry seemed to have missed this kind review Dean and Elly but sincere thanks nevertheless. We are so pleased that TripAdvisor encouraged you to venture this side of the lake and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you again here. Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners.

1,128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (976)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
2:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (566)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Rear Facing Double Room (43)
Viewed
Superior Lake Facing Double Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
8.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
0.0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
140 reviews
40.2 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
180 reviews
0.3 km away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
56 reviews
6.0 km away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#8 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Price Range: $174 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Craig Goch Room”
  • View of the Old Rectory from across the lake
  • Craig Goch Room
  • Craig Goch Room
 of 5 bubbles 747jodies, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Craig Goch room has the best views across the lake with a huge bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles lbu4AR, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Simply speak to the staff before you travel and outline your requirements...John and Ricky are most helpful”
 of 5 bubbles stevensgnicholson, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the double room has fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles timandjane2016, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the best views of the lake but all rooms are decorated to a very high standard”
 of 5 bubbles 50295029, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5