We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Rectory on the Lake

    Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Brackenhurst House
    70 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Fairbourne
     
    Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
    263 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Pennal
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Overview
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good2%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “hot tub” (101 reviews)
    “ricky's cooking” (39 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair Access
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Brackenhurst House
    70 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Fairbourne
     
    Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
    263 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Pennal
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (944)
    There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    421 - 425 of 930 reviews

    Reviewed 21 May 2014

    On arrival we were welcomed warmly by John, shown to our room and then were offered a cup of tea in the lounge.This materialised as a pot of tea for two and a platter with three types of homemade small cakes each (Welsh cake, chocolate...More

    2  Thank LMO14
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 23 May 2014

    It was good to meet you when you stayed in our downstairs room when visiting the Talyllyn Railway recently. It seems Ricky's home made afternoon tea delights continue to be just the ticket with our guests and I have also passed on your kind comment...More

    Reviewed 21 May 2014

    After years of coming to Tal Y Llyn finally got to stay in the Old Rectory and was not disappointed. John and Ricky went out of their way to welcome us, from coffee and cakes on arrival to a superb evening meal. Location is stunning...More

    1  Thank KingSalmon2013
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 22 May 2014

    Thanks Paul and Janice for staying this side of the lake and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us - looking at your other postings you seem very well travelled so to get such a kind review and recommendation is greatly appreciated....More

    Reviewed 20 May 2014

    For my 60th birthday it was decided to go to Talyllyn for the first day of the new operating season. Unfortunately 'Talyllyn' threw a coupling rod and broke down on the return journey! This did not happen at the Rectory where the greeting was worthy...More

    Thank volklf1
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 22 May 2014

    Many thanks for coming to stay with us to celebrate your 60th birthday and we were relieved to read that there was no breakdown in service at this end of the Talyllyn valley! Thanks for taking the time to leave this review - I have...More

    Reviewed 19 May 2014

    Yesterday I went to the old rectory for lunch with a friend. On arrival we were warmly greeted by John who introduced himself and invited us to sit on the terrace in the glorious sunshine. We were given the menu and ordered a glass of...More

    1  Thank poppy2028
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 21 May 2014

    This reads like a review from a newspaper dining out column and I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch here! You may know we used to offer evening meals to non residents but had to stop as we really did not have the...More

    Reviewed 19 May 2014

    Returned again for our first visit of the year. Stayed in our favourite room Craig Goch. Everything was just as we like it,room was spotless ,atmosphere relaxed and friendly and the food was fantastic. Ricky catered for my wife's dietary requirements with imagination and great...More

    Thank JohnnyJazz_9
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 20 May 2014

    John and Ricky have asked if I can respond to this review as you kindly mention me. We were all pleased to welcome you to The Old Rectory on the lake for a third stay and are happy to read that everything was again up...More

    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Penrhyndeudraeth
     
    Brackenhurst House
    70 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Fairbourne
     
    Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
    263 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Pennal
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Machynlleth
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$142 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • North Wales >
    • Snowdonia National Park >
    • Talyllyn
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    Dining (83)
    Hotel & Grounds (875)
    Bathroom (24)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Hotel Portmeirion
    1,487 reviews
    29.91 km away
     
    Wynnstay Hotel
    69 reviews
    9.60 km away
     
    Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
    263 reviews
    10.10 km away
     
    Brackenhurst House
    70 reviews
    9.69 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ty Te Cadair Tea Room
    35 reviews
    2.63 km away
    Caffi'r Ceunant
    104 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Andy & Adam's Cafe and Shop
    41 reviews
    4.75 km away
    Ty'n y Cornel Hotel Restaurant
    47 reviews
    .39 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cader Idris
    337 reviews
    3.33 km away
    Corris Mine Explorers
    180 reviews
    4.22 km away
    Castell y Bere
    56 reviews
    4.49 km away
    King Arthur's Labyrinth
    491 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    chri2jellett
    16 June 2016|
    Answer
    Response from PompeyJonathan | Reviewed this property |
    Hi Chris - I think you need to contact the Old Rectory directly - regards Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    gixernick
    25 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from VandRcardiff | Reviewed this property |
    Look on the Machloop website for flying activity in the area round machynlleth. John at the old rectory may be able to advuse as well. Have fun!
    0
    Votes
    Anthony J
    2 December 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller | Property representative |
    Hello
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Both Craig Goch and Mynydd Rugog have wonderful views of the lake and the mountains"
    Read review
    "All are simply amazing"
    Read review
    "Exquisite views and sublime peace! We stayed in a room with a view of the Lake which was amazing!"
    Read review
    "Best views from the first floor rooms"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing