We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Vicarage

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Vicarage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Vicarage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work purposes last week. Having read some previous reviews I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little apprehensive about my stay but after a long journey I was greeted by friendly, helpful staff and a great room! Obviously very recently refurbished to a high standard and tasteful. Bed was very comfortable and despite being a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Owen T
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews and looked at the pictures people had posted to say we were a bit concerned is an understatement however the negativity was proved entirely wrong. Our room which has been renovated very recently and the rooms our friends have were everything you could ask for, they're clean, tidy and comfortable with nice big bathrooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan A
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Words can't describe this hotel, it's vile, dirty and the guy on reception is un helpful and very rude, don't waste your money here the Tudor hotel down the road is a better hotel to stay in, dirty bathroom, broken toilet seat, ripped net curtains, wallpaper hanging off the walls

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank purpleors
Management response:

Hello thank you for your review it has been most helpful-I am sorry that you weren't pleased with your experience here and may I take this opportunity to apologise for any rudeness encountered-following on from your comments the hotel is now under management with a positive customer focused attitude-the room in question that you mention has subsequently been redecorated with...

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This is without doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, The superior room was superior rubbish, most of the hotel was dark and dingy, The garden was overgrown not like it showed in the pictures advertised. The manager of the hotel needs to go to management school because he hasn't got a clue. Whoever owns this hotel is to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steve H
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Really unfriendly staff on reception. Bedroom had no heavy curtains on one of the windows only a dirty and very torn net curtain. When this was mentioned to the man on reception he refused to come to the room and said that he had not been aware of it. No apology was given. I was told people kept stealing things...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank deniseann4
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I was met....sorry I went to find reception and disturbed the gentlemen from reading his very thick book. I was given the keys and explained the wifi code was on the back, and wher the room was.that was it! and this was clearly done reluctantly. The room horrible And the carpet was a mess and needed a good shampoo and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ian M
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We received this as a gift so I phoned up to book as advised, only to be told 2 weeks notice was needed, so I gave 2 weeks notice and my partner and I turned up on time and were looking forward to a treat,When we finally found our way in the man on reception told us that he had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank _stevecuv
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

booked hotel with booking.com using their reviews and pictures for my husband who was in the area on business.when i phoned for late check in on first night no one available for late check in, so had to book a nearby hotel at the last minute. Then when he checked in he found room musty and a damp bed.he got...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smccreery63
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Don't believe the photos. The hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment. Dated, damaged, very musty smelling and poorly finished. We've given the 2 stars for the fact the bed was quite comfortable and breakfast was ok. The lady serving breakfast was very friendly and accommodating. There are probably better options in Bridgwater for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The photos are very misleading. The garden now looks like a building site. The room clearly hadn't been cleaned. I found someone else's pubic hair in my bed! Also someone else's rubbish on the floor, cracks in the wall, shower door broken. Hardly slept due to the noise of people leaving the near by pub until about 5am Lady at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nala1990

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
7.8 km away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
106 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
4.1 km away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
235 reviews
2.3 km away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#2 of 31 in Bridgwater
332 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#9 of 12 in Bridgwater
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Price Range: $86 - $1,727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Vicarage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Island of Malta, Malta

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check when booking if you struggle with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Budgie27, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Farrier Suite - room 19 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 187angiec, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My son stayed in the four poster bedroom - absolutely beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles berniem816, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ianmU9731JL, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“do not book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles smccreery63, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates