We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ship Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Highlands Ranch
Reviewed 17 October 2015

This is the reaI deaI of a quaint Iodge in WaIes The reaI deaI rooms, and the pub perfect We had a great time, we must have, as I can onIy bIur on the fun seekers we met at dinner and drinking time It was an experience I wiII not forget

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lekd
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

After a scary but beautiful drive over the tops of Exmoor, it was good to see our hotel located at the bottom of the hill! Nice and cozy bedroom and dog friendly too! The evening meal was very nice and if you do try the local cider....be careful...ony 1 cider and i was far away with the fairies hehehe...but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank illustratedmum33
Tidworth Wiltshire
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We have stayed here on many occasions and returned for a further 4 days at the end of September. The service we have received, the friendliness and helpfulness of the Proprietors and their staff, the menu choices and quality of food, the absolute "uniqueness" of the Top Ship and the fact that they are dog friendly as we have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Forrester24
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I booked over the phone but was not told they have 2 pubs, so off we went for our weekend break only to be told on arrival that we were staying at the other pub on the high street! We were told it happens all the time! Well why don't they ask people on the phone which pub they want!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s w
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. When answering our phone we answer "Top Ship, Porlock" to ensure that the customer on the other end has telephoned the correct pub. The website and the telephone number for the Top Ship is completely different from the Bottom Ship. We can therefore not be responsible for a customer's booking error. I will however from...

Bideford
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Strange place this. Ironically, we had booked to stay for one night at The 'bottom' Ship, the sister pub at Porlock Weir but when we arrived found that we had been booked into The 'top' Ship which was not a good start as we had travelled to meet friends who were staying at Millers and had booked a table for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob_1956s
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will take full responsibility for the cobwebs in the rooms and also the two showers, one hadgone down and we had to put a replacement up quickly. We have made arrangements for room 4 to have a brand new bathroom in the Winter. Being a Family run free house, we have to earn the...

Waterrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

My husband and I went for a Sunday roast and were very impressed. The staff were welcoming and helpful and very busy.We ordered and waited for our food to arrive and accepted that due to being freshly cooked and the pub busy we would have a fairly long wait. When the food arrived we were not disappointed and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horseyblonde
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind review. Regards Caroline

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We have been staying in Porlock for the week and decided to try The Ship for our evening meal last night. I can safely safe we were not disappointed! On arrival it was very busy and we thought we would be lucky to get a table, however we were greeted warmly and a table was found for us. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie A
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words - your little girl was so well behaved so she deserved a little treat. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope you visit again. Kind regards Caroline Ship Inn Porlock

Bath
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

I visited here with my parents who had been once before but sat in the garden. The weather on this visit wasn't right for Al frisco dining so we asked for a table inside. We were given a large number to put on our table an it was covered with dried tomato sauce! The menu is quite limited, the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisasaxo
Royston C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I have sent a private mail to obtain further information but to no avail. I can only hope that perhaps in time, you may revisit and put this visit down as an isolated incident. Regards Caroline Owner

Ripley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Visited The Ship Inn for a meal whilst staying in Porlock. Would just like to say how friendly and welcoming the staff were.Also, although basic, the meals were cooked to perfection and offer excellent value for money, everything was cooked fresh and tasted divine!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Tidworth Wiltshire
Reviewed 3 July 2015

As a retired couple we stayed with our dog for 3 nights at the Ship, where we have stayed on many occasions in the past with our cocker spaniel, Shadow. We were delighted with the special offer which is on at present with 2 nights B&B for £85 with no charge for the dog. The room was very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Forrester24

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
149 reviews
10.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
648 reviews
8.4 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
67 reviews
2.5 km away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
513 reviews
0.1 km away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Price Range: $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ship Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Portishead, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 5 rooms,No 3 being the smallest - have previously stayed in No 5,perfect I believe the others,are a similar size to 5”
blueday2000, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excellent value B&B -check out their rates”
Kittyb980, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are near the road, but we have never found it a problem.”
iand294, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quiet place, warm room. brilliant location for walks”
stevecV4606XY, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“pick a room at the front.”
illustratedmum33, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5