CBeebies Land Hotel

CBeebies Land Hotel

Traveller (1297)
Room & Suite (156)
Dining (52)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 4 hotels in Alton
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Step inside the rainbow and straight into the colourful world of the UK's only CBeebies Land Hotel, all uniquely designed for young families. A place bursting with music, stories and adventures for little ones to enjoy. Home to unrivalled and exclusive family entertainment featuring meet and greets with some of your favourite CBeebies characters, live shows, story time and CBeebies games to play,
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming

Location

Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Birmingham Intl Airport
59.7 km
See all flights
Manchester Intl Airport
49.5 km
See all flights
1,053Review128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 563
  • 262
  • 136
  • 57
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CarlWithAC wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 1 night on Friday 28th February. This was our second stay so we knew it would be good as our first visit was great (the year before).

We arrived a little early and our room was ready, luckily we could go straight up which was perfect. Before heading up our little boy was given some chocolate coins which he was super excited about! We thought it was fab that they asked us first if he could have some and also checked for allergies.

Entertainment every half hour from 3pm great as always, all the team working there are great with the kids. Some good photo opportunities too!

What really impressed me though was the Windmill restaurant, we ate there for our evening meal and for breakfast. I usually struggle eating out as I have wheat/gluten intolerances. They had an allergens folder that I was allowed to peruse at my leisure and a separate fryer so that I could enjoy gluten free chips with my chicken dish. Breakfast was wonderful - gluten free bread which was toasted for me, gluten free sausages and bacon that they also did separately for me to avoid cross contamination. As if that wasn't enough I was also given gluten free cornflakes and a muffin!

We went swimming at the splash landings hotel the day after which was also brilliant.

Would highly recommend and look forward to returning again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Services, Other at CBeebies Land Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear CobraCarl Thank you for the fantastical 5 star review! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your short break in the CBeebies Land Hotel. Our Hotel teams will be thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, especially with our teams in the Windmill restaurant catering toward your dietary requirements. We always like to ensure that we accommodate toward all of our guest's needs to ensure that they have an excellent time with us. Furthermore, we are pleased that you had a splashtastic time in the Waterpark and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Resort! Best wishes Emma Product Excellence Alton Towers Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zara wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went as a family of four for a weekend. I had a 2yr old and a 4month old. The hotel rooms are brilliantly equipped for both ages inc toddler toilet seats, step stool baby bath and bottle warmer.
A definate recommend and great entertainment for the children all evening.
Breakfast in the morning was also very good. All smiles during the stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Services, Other at CBeebies Land Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear ZaraMurtazaGulfraz Thank you for the fantabulous 5 star review! We are thrilled that you found your room in the CBeebies Land Hotel to be fully accommodating for all of your family. We really hope that you and your children enjoyed the evening entertainment. We hope to welcome you back to our Resort soon for many more magical memories! Best wishes Emma Product Excellence Alton Towers Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReginaPhilangi wrote a review Sept 2020
Norfolk, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family (Myself, husband, 3 year old and 8 month old) stayed for two nights this week ana to put it simply, had an amazing, making-memories, wonderful time.

We stayed in the standard Bugbie room. The bunk bed area for toddler was super fun. He was thrilled to bit with the Bugbie window light and having his own TV. He’d never come across a bunk bed before and now wants one in his room. The main area was bright and colourful, very clean, with a lovely view over the fountain of the Alton Towers Hotel. The theming was superb, with details such as the lights and music in the lift (consequently resulting in a family dance each time we went up or down) and the gloriously hideous colours in the corridor (which we all loved) m. The sound proofing on the rooms must be excellent as I never heard a sound once we were in.

I’ve seen other review saying it’s not luxury and for the price they expected more. The price is inflated because of the position. Because you can get into the park without queuing up the road for an hour, because you get the whole experience from morning to night and morning again. Of course, if you want a luxury hotel room for the same money, there’ll be plenty about nearby. But I know where we’d be staying again next time... Right back in this hotel!

The windmill restaurant was really fun too, huge choices at breakfast, and evening meal was fairly priced for what it was, and pretty good. It’s not gourmet, but satisfying and plentiful.

The service throughout was phenomenal. Everyone was so happy and cheerful. A waiter accidentally dropped slightly the bowl of onion rings which didn’t make a mess at all but clanked on the table and slightly disturbed our sleeping baby (although didn’t wake her), and without any utterance of complaint from us, they brought an extra bowl of onion rings.

The entertainment was limited but then you have to go into a weekend away at the moment expecting things to be a little different to what’s expected. We had no problem at all with that, and it didn’t have any impact on how much we enjoyed ourselves. Hand sanitiser everywhere and most wore masks when wondering about.

We just absolutely loved every second of it. My boy will remember this weekend and so will we. Just magical. I’ve been to Disney Paris, and this was really up there as almost equal to it. We really loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited on opening weekend (July 2020) and we checked into the Cbeebies Hotel. It was supposed to be a special treat to our youngest two children who absolutely love Mr Tumble, so we booked the "Something Special" Suite at £390 a night. When we arrived, check in was easy enough and we went straight up to the room. The room was absolutely filthy, the mattress on the pull out bed had urine stains all over it, there was a live cockroach or beetle in the room, the carpet was filthy, there were hairs from the 'Intimate areas' in the bathroom from the previous guest(s), there was food items and a pack of baby wipes pushed under the bed, the sofa cushions were stained with who knows what and much more.

When I complained about the first room, we were offered £100 off the stay and were told to move rooms, this was supposed to be an accessible room with the same theme (something special) - this turned out to be a postman pat themed suite. The room was much cleaner but it still had lots of stains on the carpet, a huge cobweb and the sofas and stools were stained too. We gave up at this point and just went to lunch and had to explain to the children that the "Something Special" room was unavailable, but this upset them as it was supposed to be their special weekend.

We also booked the Cbeebies Hotel for the "Excellent Entertainment" and were told there is nothing, just 3 movies in the conference centre.

The Cbeebies Fastrack and early ride time was also not available.

I've had better quality rooms and better service in the 1* budget hotel chain and I'd not expect anything at all from a £400 a night hotel room! My review doesn't do it justice, you need to look through the pictures!

And remember, this is when they claim "Enhanced Cleaning Procedures"... I'd hate to see what the procedures were pre-covid!

We went for lunch at the Windmill restaurant, it was great but the arrival was disgraceful, they insisted I go back to my room and bring my check in card to prove I was in the hotel, even though I had the lanyard and they have access to all the room allocations.

I did ask if I could send the photos by email because they were too large to email, but after I was told there isn't a way to do this without emailing... I've posted it here since the "Product Excellence" team see these reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Book elsewhere! Unless you don't mind awful hygiene procedures!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jsharif wrote a review Aug 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll start by saying your children will love this, and if you want to go somewhere that brings your children pure joy this is a great hotel. We stayed in the swash buckler room and it was a real delight for children - travelled with a 4 and 5 year old. Check in was easy as was parking.

However, I think given the price (a two night stay comes in a similar price to a 5 star resort) I do think the hotel need to look to make some improvements.

Firstly, the restaurant, it was not really cleaned up properly, chairs were sticky and the floor was dirty. Staff should really clean quickly after a family have finished dining. Looking at sticky messy floors is not appropriate at this price. The quality of the food was also poor given the price. Meals for kids were good but the adult food was subpar.

Secondly, I think more interactive entertainment and a play area within the hotel would also be something the resort should think about to justify the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise Evans wrote a review Feb 2020
Oswestry, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we visited in Feb which was out of season so the Alton towers theme park was closed but we didn't mind as our little boy is only 2, because it was out of season it was a bargain! he loved the entertainment. the windmill restaurant was great they had the choice of 2 types of high chairs or a booster seat, really friendly staff, nice food which was served quickly, they had colouring for the kids, balloons, the staff were great with kids! if you have a birthday let them know as they will bring out cake and sing. Theres a free salad bar too. The breakfast was also really good its a buffet style with hot food including spaghetti hoops which my little one loves! fruit, pastries, cereal, juices etc. we visited the splash landings water park which was included in the cost of our stay which was amazing, we were lucky it wasn't busy, it was great for little ones they have flotation vests free to use. we stayed in a standard bugbies room it has bunkbeds with a play wall and tv, the whole room is themed and geared up for kids with baby baths, travel cot, toilet seats, steps etc. a great get away if you have young children.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Services, Other at CBeebies Land Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Hi L7oopys, Thank you for your amazing 5* review of your recent stay at the CBeebies Land Hotel! We are so pleased to hear that we were able to help celebrate your son's birthday and make sure that it was a special and magical occasion - we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay with us soon! Many Thanks and Kind Regards, Kristie Customer Services Alton Towers Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
p0lak wrote a review May 2021
Winchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall acceptable and positives / negatives as follows

1. Room very nice and a lot better than premier inn style. Separate sleeping area for kiddies was great.

2. Food windmill service was very slow unfortunately and all the adult and kids food was brown - bread, pasta, chips. For CBeebies plugging the value of fruit n veg all the time, they could do better on both the adult and kids menus. Pizzas, spaghetti, burger and steaks. Not even salads or other healthy food.

3. Covid measures inadequate. Unfortunately the hotel does it’s best but the guests just don’t care. Masks not on, no social distancing. Breakfast - people getting up to visit the buffet albeit without masks, and evening shows exactly the same. Stayed in a few cheaper hotels last year when we could and they were militant with covid measures but at CBeebies land hotel there was no such enforcement. Except mandatory scanning of QR code before meals. The staff should push harder to the offenders. I could upload pics but I’ll save the embarrassment.

4. Clientele - unfortunately again this seemed a bit at times like a butlins destination for the NW. Tracksuits, council, rough kids running around etc. Parents always on phones not bothering. Eg evening shows with kids playing past the barriers on the stage. Frequent asks to the parents to sort out their kids but the parents keep drinking / messing around on their phones. Moving chairs to get close to the stage thereby ignoring any concept of social distancing and because they’re sat, removing masks saying they’re drinking.

It just doesn’t surprise me that the NW has always had the highest covid R number to be honest and behaviours at this hotel just demonstrated this. The staff were powerless to sort.

In any other setting this would have all been acceptable (and my kids none the wiser) but now this just isn’t good enough. Place sanitisers and signs whenever you like, but without enforcement you’re asking for trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go when covid is over
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophia P wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night 13th-14th July in standard room. Upon arrival to the resort we were pleased with the level of checks and the friendly and helpful nature of the staff, and did a pre-check in prior to visiting the park. Upon arrival the hotel is bright and welcoming despite the additional COVID precautions, the hotel staff were brilliant and gave us express parking for each day we were there. We were mainly there for the little one but also to get out and do the first normal thing for a while. There are lots of sanitiser stations dotted about and found the loos extremely clean too. Most of the rides were running apart from Hex, 13, and a few indoor ones. Queues in CBeebies Land weren’t too bad, no more than a few minutes and the main park seemed to be similar to pre-COVID queueing times.

Drinks and snacks are as expensive as expected so no great shock, but was impressed with the Quality of the wraps from a kiosk near mutiny bay.

Evening meal was at the rollercoaster restaurant which was brilliant. Quick, tasty and lots of fun.

The hotel room itself was extremely clean and the little one loved the carpets and the interactive play wall in the children’s sleeping area. The rooms are brilliant for young children. Breakfast was delicious in the windmill restaurant, music was loud but it does mask noisy kiddies! Found the food tasty and lots of options. Overall very pleased with the whole experience. Did miss out on playing golf, but we were exhausted! We will definitely be back in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carole C wrote a review Feb 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just returned from a fabulous one night stay and all I can say is that we were blown away by the hotel staff and the hotel itself.

Arrives for check in at 3pm and there was no waiting around and we were given our lanyards to hold our room keys. The reception staff (and all staff) were so friendly and helpful and it seemed that you could ask anything.

The rooms were so clean and bright our 2 year old loved sleeping there - I was amazed how well everything was catered for toddlers - we did not need for anything more.

The entertainment was great and again the staff were fab with all the children - our little boy was so tired after all the action around the hotel.

Excellent choice of food in the restaurant and again attentive staff who really looked after all the guests.

A must for anyone with a toddler.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Services, Other at CBeebies Land Hotel
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear Formby70, Thank you for taking the time to review your fantastical stay at our amazing CBeebies Land Hotel! It's so lovely to hear that you received great customer service from our staff in the CBeebies Land Hotel and it's also lovely to hear how much your 2 year old boy enjoyed his stay with us! It's great to hear that you found our selection of food in the hotel to be excellent! We do hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes Will Customer Services Alton Towers Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer G wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to stay just after Covid reopening. Everything felt very clean and safe - lots of hand sanitiser and people wearing masks. Cbeebies hotel was amazing - love that there are nappy bins in the rooms and you can ask for baby bottles to be filled with milk at the bar. We also visited the Secret Garden restaurant in the next door hotel, and our server Dom was fantastic - he really went out of his way t make sure our toddler had a good meal time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from ELNCW
Liverpool, United Kingdom125 contributions79 helpful votes
No, if you stay at Alton Towers / Splash Landings / Tree Houses / Enchanted Village you cannot access the CBeebies Hotel. The CBeebies Hotel is an exclusive hotel providing its facilities to those who are paying to stay there. Your family are allowed to access the other hotels though.
Answer from ELNCW
Liverpool, United Kingdom125 contributions79 helpful votes
Yes we used the travel cot in December 2022 and October 2023. The thin mattress is provided but not a proper mattress. Both times we used a single duvet and pillow for our toddler to lie on to make it more comfortable for her. Not ideal but she slept like a log
beccy113456 asked a question Aug 2023
Poynton, United Kingdom80 contributions65 helpful votes
Hi. What time is the hotel entertainment and character meets?
Answer from Natasha
Basingstoke, United Kingdom238 contributions26 helpful votes
Hi if you can find the review I have posted I have taken a picture of the entertainment schedule :) Unfortunately I can’t add a photo to this answer!
steffyvw91 wrote a tip 19 Jun
Swansea, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book your breakfast and food reservations in advance. Party packages are available upon arrival at the hotel. "
Read full review
Hannah B wrote a tip 10 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book any restaurants in advance to guarantee a table"
Read full review
burgese2016 wrote a tip 6 Jun
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do it - the little ones (& you!) will love it!"
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip 4 Jun
North West England, United Kingdom45 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast and dinner!"
Read full review
Fuz74 wrote a tip 1 Jun
Mundesley, United Kingdom25 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bar area is busy especially for bing."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alton area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireAlton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CBEEBIES LAND HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews and 1,297 Photos (Alton, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about CBeebies Land Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to CBeebies Land Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alton Towers Resort (1.1 km), Dimmingsdale (2.8 km), and Cbeebies Land (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at CBeebies Land Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at CBeebies Land Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at CBeebies Land Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to CBeebies Land Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Queens at Freehay, The Star at Cotton, and Ramblers Retreat.
Are there any historical sites close to CBeebies Land Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Manor (4.0 km).
Is CBeebies Land Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Alton HotelsAlton Hotel DealsHotels near CBeebies Land Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire