We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alton Towers Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Alton Towers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,360: English reviews
Shropshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Works Christmas masquerade ball and sleepover. Interesting hotel, good service and tasty, hot food. Well organised service for such a crowd of guests. Stayed in a family room, which had a double bed and bunk beds, so for just a couple, this provided a big space. Lovely big towels and free toiletries, powerful hot shower. Great for a short break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cunnington
Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great time for the Santa sleepover. The hotel was clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was good and it was self serve so you could eat as much as you wanted. The service was brilliant (starter, drinks). The pantomime was excellent and the kids loved it. And if you wrote to Santa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately, like the rest of Alton Towers, Santa has lost his sparkle... Everything feels like an after thought, a bit like oh that will do... The staff are uninterested, the food was poor and the bar had run out of most things... Even the magician seemed as though she didn't like kids.. This is the 4th year we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank POTTERINGABOUT
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear POTTERINGABOUT, Thank you for taking the time to review Santa's Sleepover at Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor. Our festive events are something which we're immensely proud of, and as such we see guests returning year after year. Indeed, for many this has been their best yet, and to this end we were very surprised by your comments relating...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed last year for the Santa's Sleepover and it was brilliant. This year was the exact opposite. The santa "experience" lasted about 5 minutes. Rushed in, rushed out, was a case of, have a pic (costs £15 to buy), pick a present, on your way kids. Santa didnt even ask my kids what they were hoping for. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joewebber
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joewebber, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. We're very disappointed to note that your Santa's Sleepover experience this year did not meet your expectations, and are keen to learn more about the specifics of your visit - to ensure that this event can continue to improve. If you have not already,...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from Santa's sleepover at Alton towers hotel with my 20 month old son. We had an amazing time from start to finish. Santas grotto was well organised, enough rides were open to entertain my son in CBeebies land. All staff were really friendly. Evening meal was good plenty of choice for us all. Splashlandings was busy but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CEL1608
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CEL1608, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. We're glad you had such a brilliant time with us at Santa's Sleepover, and were able to enjoy the Theme Park, Waterpark, and host of activities available across the Resort. We hope we'll be celebrating another festive season with you very very soon. Best...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited for santas sleepover, the kids loved it , but not as good as the last 2 years , paid £40 extra , and got less , less rides open, only a couple of elfs at Santa visit, the evening meal terrible, they had ran out of stock due to other events , (poor planning ) and today all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire C, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. Santa's Sleepovers are an event which we aim to improve year-on-year, reflected in the number of guests who choose to come back time after time. It's a real shame to note that you don't feel that your individual experience this year lived up...

Wales
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We know some friends of ours did the santa sleepover annually for a few years when their children were little, so now our little boy is 2 1/2 we decided it was a good time for us to try it out. We arrived lunch time, parked at the hotel car park and nipped on the quick transfer bus up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetoholiday
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetoholiday, Thank you for taking the time to review Santa's Sleepover at Alton Towers Hotel. We immensely enjoyed reading what a fantastic time you had, celebrating the festive season at our Resort. It was a pleasure to make some amazing Christmas memories with you. We look forward to welcoming you back for the opening of CBeebies Land Hotel! Best...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Currently it's 2am in the morning and we are in our room and some selfish jumped up little pricks in the rooms above us are singing and banging keeping us up. We have obviously complained to reception..who have done nothing to help!!! Never in 6 years of visiting various hotels at Xmas have we encountered these problems...the lack of customer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on offering a family-friendly and fun environment to guests of all ages, and expect our guests to behave in a manner which encourages this. While we're sure you can appreciate that there is very little we can do to predict...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've reviewed here before having stayed in a standard room for the annual Stan Bowley Trust Ball. Same again this year only this year we were in a themed room - Maiden Voyage. Our biggest regret was not having the kids with us as they would have loved it - plenty of switches on the walls to play with (in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McHunger
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear McHunger, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. We're delighted you had such a marvellous time staying over in one of Sir Algenon's finest Moon Voyager Rooms - we're really excited to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, James Alton Towers Resort

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over with my daughter for Scarefest. The hotel doesn't seem to have had any update from the last time I stayed there almost 19 years ago. It us an average hotel with an expensive cost. I go to Alton Towers theme park frequently, I don't think I will use their hotel again as there are better hotels within a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
James G, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allen B, Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. Since our Hotel originally opened in 1996, we have invested heavily over the years to ensure that we're offering a fresh and exciting experience to every single guest who visits us. To this end, we were concerned to note that you didn't feel...

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (746)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
2:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (369)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.0 km away
Splash Landings Hotel
9.4 km away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
22.0 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
24.0 km away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
1.6 km away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Price Range: $358 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alton Towers Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Alton Towers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“To get the best experience you really need to spend big”
  • Family room
 of 5 bubbles Ruth666, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors are queietest.”
 of 5 bubbles 948yasminea, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms were quite spacious for one night.”
 of 5 bubbles KLW2000, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend the Dreamy Den.”
 of 5 bubbles 630LauraS, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chocolate room”
 of 5 bubbles Genab702, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay