We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed at a travelodge on the A 38 s which fitted the bill perfectly. We simply wanted very cheap overnight accommodation on a longer trip. The bed was comfortable, the TV adequate and the bathroom clean and in good working order. There were 3 slight problems. Because the travelodges north and south have the same postcode we were directed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed here at the weekend, the room was clean and neat, as was the bathroom, no frills but at £49 you and complain, the bed was comfy and the staff helpful. The only drawback is the location. There is nothing nearby and if you want food it's only the vending machine or go for a drive. No proper breakfast gives... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

As always the travelodge was excellent value again. Yes the post code for the sat nav is wrong but the web site covers this and gives excellent instructions. Although bear in mind there is not a lot near this place. You will have to travel for food and drink etc.

Helpful?
Thank Andre B
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

To be honest, I had given up on staying in Travelodges a while back (got fed up with the awful state of them), but due to a last minute arrangement I needed to find accommodation quickly. Booked through LateRooms, I paid £37 for one night. The place is easy to find although you could miss it as they're doing road-works... More 

Helpful?
Thank KAJCornwall
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The website details say this is a short walk from food and drink outlets but there is absolutely nothing within a 10 minute drive! and the roadworks on the motorway at the moment make it quite unpleasant. We hardly saw any reception staff at any point and the one poor lady we did say was a cleaner who couldn't really... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 709mareef
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you have received during your stay, where you felt the hotel did not deliver consistent customer care due to staffing levels. We would be more than happy to receive further feedback from you via the contact... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights arrived on Bank Holiday Monday (31st August) cost me £106 for a family room. Arrived early evening, after taking a de tour as the postcode on the web site is wrong and take you to the road behind the hotel. Easy fixed, just take the motorway up to to next junction and come backs to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessicaphillips2501
West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

In this 21st century world of sat navs, it amazes that people complain about not getting to the correct Travelodge. The clue is very clearly in the name - Southbound. If you are heading north on the A38 you will almost certainly be checking in at the wrong hotel. DE13 8EH gets you happily to the Southbound Travelodge. Travelodge also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Webster3664
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Overall very good. Look for the gardening services postcode and skip the turn to gardening services and go for the next left turn. My navigator took me to the northbound Travelodge where an employee gave me proper directions. Clean hotel and got august discount.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Abey T
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Wow what a gem reception staff friendly a great nights sleep in the most comfy bed. Some local pubs nearby for food. Room spacious shower nice and hot and a TV with 17 channels. All in all a perfect pit stop and cheap to. Wi fi is available at a cost of £3.00 for 24 hours for 2 devices. Although... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and in those 3 nights I had the total of about 9 hours sleep!!! We were on the ground floor and I don't know who was above us, but it sounded like a herd of elephants!! First night, all we heard was bass music until 2am! Second night was a tv and people just constantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank bec0106
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected due to internal noise as we aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests. We will make the most of customer feedback such as yours to help improve the service we offer. Please note that you... More 

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.9 km away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
41 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
425 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
6.7 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Address: A38 Southbound Lichfield Road | Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $49 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burton a38 Southbound Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Travelodge
Burton Upon Trent Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Burton Upon Trent
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room away from very busy road”
 of 5 bubbles 964annb, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms offer best value.”
 of 5 bubbles andymO8211WH, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 10 is very good”
 of 5 bubbles KAJCornwall, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If my room is anything to go by then there is no good rooms for a comfy stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 319kyled, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles maryc472, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay