We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Man Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Green Man Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of The Green Man Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Great little ex pub turned Motel centrally located in Leek. Nice specious clean and warm room with everything you need, ample free parking, all topped off with a great breakfast served by friendly hosts. Definitely stay again. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice one night stay here. Great value for money, nice breakfast and chat with friendly hosts Paul and Jill. Would highly recommend if you're in the area. Much more soul than a Travelodge! And Leek's a very vibrant community.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully see you in the future .

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you want to visit Leek, quiet and cosy. Paul and Jill made us very welcome and produced lovely breakfast. I stayed primarily for it close proximity to Churnet Valley Railway where I attended a steam locomotive driving experience. Paul and Jill accommodated our special requirement for an early breakfast that day as we needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Churnet valley, glad to help out with the early breakfast. Hopefully see you again if you come back to Leek .

North Lanarkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My 10 year old son, his friend and I stayed at the Green Man on Friday and Saturday for Alton towers, after a 4 hour drive from Glasgow the cosy and immaculate triple room was exactly what we needed. Paul and Jill were friendly and welcoming without being too much in the mornings pre coffee lol xx lovely wee touches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natt1982
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for you lovely comments, look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Alton towers.

North Kilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ideal, family run and comfortable B&B convenient to the Town with great breakfasts.Our hosts were friendly and parking was a doddle. This is also a great place for walking parties visiting the White Peak and Staffordshire moorlands with great showers and drying facilities when the weather sets the agenda.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterjones74
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

They say you only get what you pay for, but in this case you get a very comfortable room, good clean bed and spacious bathroom, plus a substantial breakfast, all for a very reasonable price. I have stayed at hotels far inferior to this and paid twice as much. In this "rip off" age the Greenman in Leek is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimB4747
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely comments,much appreciated.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Stayed one night at the Green Man and service and facilities were excellent. I'd booked a single room but on arrival was upgraded to a twin in adjacent annexe. Room was spacious with comfortable bed and clean fresh bedding. Tea & coffee facilities tv etc Toiletries were available and en-suite shower room also spotless. I'm sure I'll be staying here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milmol_7
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in this guesthouse earlier this week as we were attending a family wedding. Firstly we were welcomed by a lovely couple who were very accommodating, secondly we had two rooms both of which were clean and nicely presented. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order with an array of choices hot and cold. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and hopefully you'll stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped over to meet some local friends for a meal and night out in Leek and this fitted the bill perfectly. Very comfortable accommodation, easy parking, short walk into town, a hearty breakfast and topped off by lovely, friendly hosts Paul and Jill who made us feel very welcome. Can't beat that personal touch. Would certainly stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to Leek. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation, one of the nicest places I have stayed in. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Leek area. The owners where really friendly and the breakfast was top notch. The room I had was well presented, clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heath64
Jill B, Owner at The Green Man Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, hopefully see you back in Leek soon.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
3.8 km away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
233 reviews
4.4 km away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
13.8 km away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
0.4 km away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#2 of 17 in Leek
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer 7 en-suite rooms with free wi-fi and secure parking. All our rooms have TV/DVDs, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. We are situated close to the town centre and a 15 minute drive to Alton Towers. Ideally situated for exploring the Peak Distict National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Man Guesthouse

Address: 38 Compton, Leek ST13 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Price Range: $123 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Green Man Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Man Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Green Man Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not a scenic location but great for the antique and real ale centre of Leek”
peterjones74, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent the room we were in was quieter as it was set back from the road.”
Sueparry64, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fine”
AlanC581, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 8. Very nice.”
janeydee123, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are spacious although greater danger of not getting a room than being disappointed with the room.”
davidvZ4442KZ, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5