We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mitre Hotel

Hampton Court Road, East Molesey KT8 9BN England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#2 of 2 hotels in East Molesey
Travellers' Choice

Welcome to The Mitre Hotel, your East Molesey “home away from home.” The Mitre Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and The Mitre Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the small hotel, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. In addition, guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travellers looking to enjoy some falafel can head to Mezzet Lebanese Restaurant. Otherwise, you may want to check out an Indian restaurant such as Ruby's, Phewa Nepalese Dining, or Nivedyam Restaurant.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Hampton Court Palace (0.2 mi), The Magic Garden (0.2 mi), and Cigarette Island Park (0.1 mi), which are some popular East Molesey attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the small hotel.

The Mitre Hotel puts the best of East Molesey at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 3 more
132Reviews4Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 16
  • 16
  • 11
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deg366 wrote a review 15 Jan
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We went into the Mitre Restaurant at 10 am for an impromptu breakfast with 2 teens and 2 dogs . No one at front desk so went downstairs to enquire if open to non residents, and open for a family plus dogs . Made the enquiry of a non plussed waitress who didn’t know who then had to enquire of a non welcoming Maitre d’. Eventually gauged that Coppernose was open upstairs and could accommodate dogs and us. In two minds to leave but decided to stay . For 3 persons we had a full English for 2 , a bacon sandwich which was missing a slice of bread so an open sandwich , 2 coffees a hot Choc and a small plate of pastries . Food was lukewarm . The service was good and friendlier than downstairs . Price was approx £55.00. I don’t think we will be returning. We appreciate that there is a premium to be paid in a hotel but at least make your guests feel welcome !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We have had better lunch experiences at the Mitre .
See more room tips
Response from The Mitre Team, Other at The Mitre Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Deg366, Very saddened to read to your review but glad you found some positivity in the team. I assure you we are warm and welcoming place to visit, though clearly got things wrong on this occasion. As regards to the team available on shift and the experience you had. Evidently it was below par and nowhere near where we want to be as an experience. Rest assured we have looked into your occasion and as a team have taken on your feedback, with the hope you do return and that we can show what we really do believe is a positive place to be delivering to all guests expectations. All thanks and best wishes, The Mitre Team.
Read more
karenredshard wrote a review 9 Jan
Lower Langford, United Kingdom9 contributions8 helpful votes
Really lovely hotel, refurbished completely a couple of years ago & the tasteful decor and fabulous service now compliments the lovely location right opposite Hampton Court & on the Thames. There were some lovely personal touches to make the stay feel more like a 5* hotel, not the very reasonable room rate paid. Greeted with a complimentary glass of red wine, friendly efficient staff from reception to the bar & restaurants, quality furnishings, lavazza coffee machine in the room etc. our party of 8 had dinner in the Orangery which was exceptional quality. Next time we’re racing in Kempton we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from The Mitre Team, Other at The Mitre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Karen, Nothing makes us happier than getting feedbacks like this! We are so delighted to read that your experience with us was a complete success from start to finish and that The Mitre Team have worked their magic in exceeding guest expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, and if need be we can definitely help you pick some winners for Kempton. Yours Sincerely, The Mitre Team
Read more
DH wrote a review 6 Jan
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked a table of 6 for one of their shared Christmas party nights which fell apart from the off. The whole pre experience of the fragmented and slow booking process, lack of information, slow and incomplete requests for further information were truly woeful. The night itself was consistent with the booking process, why on earth I persisted I don't know. The inability to find my booking on arrival, and the discovery that it wasn’t a shared party night with festive treats and a DJ/, was really the toxic icing on the already epic cake fail. The manager or owner did suggest I email him with some feedback, but he failed to pass on his email to me. I also offered for them to contact me to review my experience/complaint, and still nothing - not really a surprise I guess? Any follow up from this will be just further lipstick on the gorilla!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from The Mitre Team, Other at The Mitre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Theexploreroflife, Please accept our most sincere apologies for not delivering on this occasion as we did not reach the standards we pride ourselves in. We can guarantee that we will work continuously to amend the issues you had. By sharing your views with our team, the areas of improvement have been discussed and will be rectified; as none of us want to be part of a poor experience. We assure you that we do care and will look into every bit of feedback as constructive to make sure our ideals are kept on top of. Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies and know that this is an isolated incident. All we can try do in these turbulent time is put our best foot forward and as your name says explore life together; and the things that it may throw at us. We will continue to work tirelessly to resolve issues, plus hope through good will and fortitude you will not stop you from saying hello to the team visiting The Mitre in the future. Yours sincerely, The Mitre Team
Read more
Divakar P wrote a review 2 Jan
Leyton, United Kingdom1 contribution
We very much enjoyed our afternoon tea at The Coppernose bar. Our table by the window had a great view of the river. The location was perfect having just visited Hampton Court Palace. There was a very interesting range of cocktails and the service was brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best to request a table by the window overlooking the river
See more room tips
Response from The Mitre Team, Other at The Mitre Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 358divakarp, Happy New Year We are so delighted to read that your experience with us was a complete success and we very much look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Yours sincerely The Mitre Team
Read more
Kathleen E wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
l paid for champagne & a voucher as a surprise for my sons birthday celebration meal, on 23/12/21. I did this over the phone & was sent a receipt by email. I confirmed by email with the attached receipts & voucher & details of their dinner booking. I also phoned prior to their booking to confirm that all was in order - I couldn't get through but left my name & number & said it was regarding their booking. I didn't receive any call back but assumed the arrangements would be carried out as agreed. I was very embarrassed to have to ask on their return if they had been given their champagne & found not only were they not given the champagne but they also were not given the voucher at the end of the meal as requested. It was a real disappointment as my son worked through his birthday & Christmas last year for the NHS and managed to get the day off & it was important to give him a lovely evening with a treat. I tried to call twice that evening since I found out but cannot even leave a message now. I have sent 2 emails over 5 days with no reply. I know it’s a busy time but they are open & promoting purchasing vouchers for New Year gifts - sounds like they’re happy to take the money but not fulfil their obligations! The £89 value of the gift I purchased has not been honoured & I am very surprised at such poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from The Mitre Team, Other at The Mitre Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathleene850, Please accept our most sincere apologies for not delivering on this occasion. Our General Manager is actively investigating the issue and will make sure that your purchase will be honoured with compensation. We have indeed been extremely busy over the past few weeks but no excuse can be given for not replying to your emails or your phone calls. Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope that this isolated incident, once resolved, will not stop you from visiting The Mitre in the future. Yours sincerely, The Mitre Team
Read more
US$109 - US$300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
carlton mitre surrey
United KingdomEnglandSurreyMoleseyEast Molesey
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mitre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Mitre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hampton Court Palace (0.3 km), The Magic Garden (0.3 km), and The Magic Garden (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mitre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Mitre Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Mitre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mitre Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mitre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mezzet, Mezzet Dar, and Le Petit Nantais.
Is The Mitre Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of East Molesey.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mitre Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Mitre Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Mitre Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mitre Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hampton Court Palace (0.3 km), York House Gardens (5.0 km), and Ham House (4.8 km).