The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham

The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham

Traveller (441)
Kids burger and fries
Dining (44)
Room & Suite (32)

View prices for your travel dates

S$114
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#5 of 5 hotels in Farnham
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set high on the Hogs Back Ridge this hotel is very much a landmark on top of a landmark. Easy access to the M25 and M3 motorway networks. Just 29 miles from Heathrow Airport. 96 Bedrooms with doubles, twins, family and accessible bedrooms available. Executive Bedrooms available. Room At The Top - a split level suite with separate bedroom and lounge. Surrey Suite featuring a modern four poster bed. All bedrooms are non-smoking. Health Club featuring pool, sauna, steam room and gym. Beauty Salon on site. Restaurant and Bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout of the hotel. Outside Terrace for al fresco drinking and dining. 24 Hour Room Service. Free Guest Parking. 4 Air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 180 delegates with free Wi-Fi. Civil Wedding License for 100 people. Landscaped gardens with a panoramic view of the Surrey Downs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Nepali, Portuguese, Romanian

Location

Farnham GU10 1EX England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Heathrow Airport
32.9 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
38.3 km
See all flights
1,450Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 403
  • 369
  • 297
  • 165
  • 216
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Captainkimbles wrote a review Aug 2020
Netherfield, United Kingdom102 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is well located to Farnham. Tried calling ahead to say I’d be checking in late but nobody answered the four times I called. Arrived at 10:30pm with reception closed so had to check myself in which was fine, but also meant trying to find my room alone. Was on the lower ground floor which meant a lot of people were walking past my room in the morning; I would have probably asked for a higher room if anyone was around when I checked in. I hadn’t booked breakfast but decided to have one in the morning, waited around fifteen minutes for anyone to come and even give me a seat on day one. Breakfast was actually delicious both day, tables very clean and service better on the second day when they were less busy - however £15 for a breakfast felt a bit steep. Presented beautifully. Hotel was very Covid safe, everyone wearing masks in all areas, tons of sanitiser stations around as well. Generally fine for a few nights, room was clean and good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark James, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. I will ensure that your comments are passed back to the team here at the hotel. Please accept our apologies if the bedroom was noisy due to guest traffic . We hope that the small problems will not stop you staying with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee M wrote a review Sept 2021
Bordon, United Kingdom22 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from what was supposed to be a relaxation spa day and overnight stay for the wife's birthday , well when we arrived we couldn't book any treatments for our spa day as they were fully booked ( whats the point in calling it a spa break) . We however could use the spa itself , this was clean and tidy and otherwise quite sterile ,no calming music or any music , no reading material to just lay and read , infant bombing the pool and screaming because his father wanted to use the steam room .

We did notice that there were suited gents walking with pint glasses to the local petrol station on arrival so there was a wedding taking place , !! I'll come back to this .

The reception booked us in and we went to the room which was lovely very clean and modern no problems here .

We then went down for an evening meal which was a little on the pricy side but very tasty, the dinning room decor looked somewhat dated especially the carpet .

After dinner we went to the bar for a drink but again no atmosphere no music ,just a couple of plasma screens showing the news channel .

Thought we'd go watch some television then catch an early night ! However from 8pm until 0230am wedding party guests were screaming ,fighting,smoking and drinking beneath our 3rd floor room directly outside the entrance to the hotel . At approximately 0130 I contacted reception as I'd had enough , they immediately offered 50% off my room Cost and said they would address the rowdy guest which had no change ..

So in all this hotel needs to shut the bar earlier and also leave spaces available to hotel guests on spa breaks to ha e treatments rather than letting them Go to the general public .

Also put air-conditioning in rooms that face the main A31 so that you can block out the noise of the guests and the traffic and shut the windows as the rooms were really hot .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Hall, General Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Dear leem9974QJ Thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Hogs Back Hotel. I was of course concerned to note your comments since it is never our intention to have guests leave the hotel feeling anything other than completely satisfied with the food, service and hospitality they have received and I am very sorry if on this occasion we failed to meet entirely with your expectations. With regard to the lack of availability of spa treatments I am afraid you are mistaken in thinking that this was because we let treatments 'go to the general public'. The majority of our appointment times, especially at weekends are taken up by hotel residents on inclusive spa packages or guests staying at the hotel who have booked treatments well in advance of their stay to avoid disappointment which is what I would recommend doing as our spa is very popular and in high demand. The leisure club pool itself is not part of the spa as such and is therefore available to all hotel guests including families with children and leisure club members. I was please to note that you found the standard of your accommodation to be clean and modern and that you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. I would agree with you that the dining area and bar are starting to look a little dated and once we have completed our currently bedroom refurbishment programme at the end of this year these areas are to be refurbished next. Please accept my apologies for the apparently inconsiderate behaviour of some other hotel users when leaving the hotel late in the evening. We do shut the main bar in the hotel at 12 midnight however, on occasions the event bar is booked until 1.00 a.m. but no later so any noise beyond that would have been caused by guests outside the hotel who had been asked to leave. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you may have been caused as a result of this and thank fully this kind of issue is very rare. We do make every attempt to remind visitors to the hotel to be respectful of others when leaving but ultimately we cannot be held directly responsible for their behaviour if they choose to ignore us. Please be assured that we do take all forms of constructive feedback very seriously indeed and I thank you for brining these matter to my attention. Kind regards Tim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie A wrote a review Oct 2020
Folkestone, United Kingdom19 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just came back from a 2 night stay.

The room was dated but clean and had everything you needed.

Food was great, especially the breakfasts. We did have an issue with the chips on Friday, but the fish was great and saved me some calories on not eating them at least :)

Lots of staff on duty during mealtimes, especially at breakfast, doing their best running back and forth to get everything people wanted.

Majority of people had their masks on and there were plenty of sanitising points.

We only had an issue with a couple of guys smoking and talking loudly Saturday night outside our windows but eventually I shouted out politely to them and they apologised and went in. Difficult with the 10pm curfew I guess.

On the whole I think the staff did a great job and the food was great, given certain restrictions at present.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Hall, General Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Dear Julie A Thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delight that overall you had an enjoyable time but please accept my apologies if the chips on Friday failed to live up to expectations. The chef has been advised!! Thank you also for your very positive comments regarding the level of service you received from the staff throughout your stay which are much appreciated and gratefully received. We look forward to hopefully being of service to you again in the not too distant future when you have my personal assurance that will continue to do our best to ensure you are well looked after. Kind regards Tim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
megxsh wrote a review Dec 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom60 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here earlier in the year for his birthday, and had multiple issues with the unsanitary leisure facilities, noisy rooms and long waits on food at the restaurant. The manager was very understanding and offered us a free stay to compensate for our bad experience, which we were very grateful for. We came back for my birthday, expecting that our bad stay before was just a fluke but upon entering the delightful manager Mark barked at us "Where are your masks? This is a pandemic, so they are required in all public areas." I fully appreciate the situation, and have no issue in wearing a mask at all so we of course put them on. But to not even be addressed or welcomed to the hotel before requesting we wear masks was absolutely bizarre. I couldn't believe his rudeness, but it became apparent that he was consistent. While waiting to check in, we heard 3 other couples complaining about various issues they had experienced in the hotel, all to be met with the same abrupt manner by the other staff, so clearly Mark has a great influence. Our room was fine, though hadn't been cleaned thoroughly as we found many hairs in the bathroom, on the carpet and even pillows as well as a hair tie on the floor. Normally, this kind of thing wouldn't bother me but as Mark had reminded us, there's a pandemic so I think thorough cleaning should have been a priority. We used the pool facilities, but were shocked to find the hot tub full of foam and smelled like bleach. My partner installs and performs maintenance on hot tubs for a living, so made them aware during both stays that the chemicals in the water need checking as this is not normal, but the employee just shrugged it off and said it wasn't necessary. Also, the pool was gritty with dirty tiles, and the "cleaning" that was supposed to happen between uses was just the handles, chairs and loungers being wiped with the same cloth. We had an enjoyable meal at the hotel, and the serving staff were friendly and efficient. When we came down for breakfast, we noticed Mark was serving so expected the same abrupt service we had received before. He acted like everyone in the restaurant was an inconvenience to him, and I was shocked by the way he addressed an elderly guest. She simply asked him for a pot of tea, but he felt compelled to remind her "madam, this is a pandemic so things aren't instant - you need to get used to it". Honestly, I've never heard someone speak to a customer with such rudeness in any hotel, shop, restaurant or similar.

Overall, I can say with confidence I will never return here or recommend this hotel to anyone due to our bad experience. I am not one to write scathing reviews, but felt this was necessary as I feel anyone staying here will be wasting their money and there are much better places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Hall, General Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 8 Dec 2020
Dear Megan H Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at The Hogs Back Hotel in August this year. I was of course most concerned to note your comments since it is never our intention to have anyone leave the hotel feeling anything other than completely satisfied with the food, service and hospitality they have received. I am therefore very sorry for our apparent failure to meet entirely with your expectation on this occasion however, since it is now a little over three months since you stayed with us, it is very difficult for me to provide you with a comprehensive response to the concerns you have expressed. I am very sorry if you were offended by being asked to wear masks when entering and moving around the hotels public areas however, as you have stated you 'fully appreciate' the current government guidelines and should therefore have been aware of the need to wear a mask in public spaces without this having to be requested. With regard to the hotel's current operation we still have the same level of Covid secure restrictions in place and I can assure you that our rooms are being cleaned and serviced thoroughly and rotated between stays wherever possible to ensure that we provide a clean and safe environment for our guests. As your partner will appreciate, the odour of bleach coming from the hot tub would have been chlorine and its presence would indicate that it was doing its job of keeping the water in the hot tub clean, especially if it was in constant use at the time. The presence of 'foam' on the surface would have been the aerated water and since the level of chemicals in our pool is auto-dosed and the quality of the pool water is tested regularly by the leisure club team throughout the day there would have been no cause for concern. The 15 minute cleaning of the poolside on the hour every hour allows us time to wipe down all guest contact surfaces with sanitiser solution and since we have had no known incidences of Covid19 traced back to the hotel throughout the entire pandemic to date, I am satisfied that the measures we are taking are sufficient and appropriate Unfortunately throughout the hospitality industry we have all had to make significant changes to the way service is provided in order to allow us to continue to operate and in many cases this has meant that our normal standards of service have become slower due to the additional cleaning and sanitisation that has to take place and the fact that we have had to move from our usual buffet style breakfast service to a plated. fully served breakfast. The impact of this has meant that service times are much longer and we very much appreciate the general level of patience and understanding shown to us by our guests during very busy service times. Please be assured that we do take all forms of constructive feedback very seriously indeed and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and have taken the decision not to return to the hotel again in the future when I assure you we would have done our utmost to ensure you were well looked after Kind regards Tim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen R wrote a review Sept 2020
Herne Bay, United Kingdom105 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We honestly couldn’t find fault with our 2 day stay. Yes things are different to normal to keep everyone as safe as possible. Your room becomes your ‘bubble’ and isn’t serviced during your stay, but anything that needs replacing can be provided via reception. Table service at bar, dinner and breakfast, where you request by ticking what you want on a list ( probably saves a lot of waste) Air con is obviously disabled but what’s wrong with opening a window.
The pool is restricted to certain number of people and sessions last 45mins to allow for cleaning. Sauna, and steam room are obviously shut.
Remember to bring smartphone when attending pool or spa treatments in order to check in on the NHS app. You will also need £1 deposit for locker.
Staff were attentive, polite and friendly (smiling behind their masks).
My recommendations are the afternoon tea and relaxing Indian head massage.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Hall, General Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Dear Karen R Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable 2 night stay and that the current Covid Secure safety measures we have had to put in place did not detract too much from the overall experience. Your positive comments in respect of the service and hospitality you received from all of the team are much appreciated and gratefully received. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again at some point in the not too distant future when perhaps things may have changed for the better and you have my personal assurance that we will continue to do our best to ensure you are well looked after. kind regards Tim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chantelle wrote a review Jul 2021
38 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a two night break at this hotel.

We purchased from wowcher for £50 per night which included breakfast and use of the spa. It was absolutely fantastic for the money we had a lovely room the bed was very comfortable and had everything we needed in it as for the breakfast it was delicious . It was very well organised they gave you a menu you ticked the boxes of what items you wanted and within 5 to 10 minutes your breakfast arrived at your table.

Yes you could see that they were understaffed all the staff working were doing their best and doubling up on shifts to help and the young people serving in the restaurants and the bars were excellent and their customer service was 2nd to none

I must mention the two male receptionist who were very friendly and helpful when I was drying my hair The hairdryer blew up this can happen anywhere so I took it to reception and immediately I was giving a new hairdryer but before he could do that he had to put down the bedding because he was obviously doubling up making beds for new guests but he was so happy to just stop what he was doing and get me a new hairdryer I believe his name is Thomas but I can’t be sure

We eat in the restaurant both nights yes the menu is basic but the food like breakfast was delicious because we enjoyed the first night so much we decided to eat there the second we didn’t have to wait long for our food and we never felt rushed

We enjoyed all all aspects of our trip and we stayed there in the hotel using all the facilities for two days spa itself was excellent the pool and the Jacuzzi were very clean and smelt wonderful just like a spa a mention goes to Emma the therapist who gave me two fantastic treatments and they were very well priced also.

There was a particular guest that spent the whole two days complaining about the hotel when she was leaving she asked to see the manager and she tried to get me to join in her complaints but like I explain to the lady at the time you pay for what you get and we’d had a wonderful time for the price you pay also we were still on restrictions in case she forgot.

We will be looking again for a for another offer to come back to Hogsback if only to enjoy the food and the spa.

As a Key worker who has not stopped working since the pandemic started last March and losing my mother during it I must add not to Covid it was a well earned break and I was just grateful that the hotel was there for me to come and relax in

Thank you everyone
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Hall, General Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Dear Chantelle135 Thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you has such an enjoyable stay and that we were able to provide you with the time to relax and unwind after have had such a challenging time over the past 12 months. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and gratefully received and we look forward to hopefully being of service to you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Tim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike B wrote a review Aug 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom25 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Will try and give it the benefit of the doubt as every business is adjusting to these uncertain times.
The view from the back is lovely as all photos suggest, the front of the hotel is literally on the doorstep of an A road, when we arrived we were welcomed by a very happy man who asked for my name but that was the end of the conversation he just then pointed at the self check in and said 'there'. No directions or a quick 'the restaurant can be found here' etc.
Room was on the top floor in the corner and only had the smallest windows which were about 6ft high.
We were told when booking we needed to book the spa in advance as COVID procedures only allow a small amount at one time. We booked 3pm but when we arrived at 3.05pm we were told 'ah yeah not doing the booking system now and it's full but you can come back at 4pm.
Pool itself was small but just what we needed and with a limited number was very relaxing.
Dinner - I had ribs which were basically the frozen ones you would get at tesco where you have a sauce pouch, my wife wasnt impressed with her steak either, house wine was ok though. Starter was a poached egg with avacado but the poached egg was bone dry.
Breakfast - a new system in place because of covid so you filled in a check list of what you wanted and it was brought to you instead of the usual buffet. I felt sorry for the staff as there was no system in place and it was just a case of getting a waitresses attention when they werent clearing a table or bringing out others food. Again we were orgainlly told to book a time for breakfast to avoid this but were told plans changed. They were however adament we had to book and stick to our dinner time. Odd.
Breakfast was actually very nice when it arrived but had to wait sometime and had a few things wrong.
I don't want to blame the staff as they are likely being told different things by the day but not a great stay. I would use it as somewhere to stay before catching a flight or a business meeting but not for a weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark James, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. We always review the feedback received and use it to help our future guests receive a better experience at the hotel. I will be passing your comments back to the relevant departments that you have highlighted and request they address the concerns you have raised Coming out of lockdown has been a challenging time for hotels with how to operate to ensure guest satisfaction with all the restrictions that are in place. Certain things we have got right and others still need to be improved and I apologise if we have failed on this occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corrineelyse89 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip away since the covid restrictions had been lifted and it was for my partner and I's anniversary so we wanted to enjoy a relaxing weekend together.
Suffice to say, the Hogs Back did not disappoint.
You can expect a few adaptations to how things usually run due to covid-19 such as mandatory face masks in communal areas, timed 45 minute sessions in the pool during busy periods, no breakfast served in room and less staff available than usual but these are fairly minor inconveniences compared to the hotel experience in general and understandable given the current climate. The staff are doing a fantastic job considering this, particularly Aime who maintained a friendly and approachable demeanour despite dividing her time between reception and the restaurant during peak times on the Saturday.
The room and hotel are modest but very comfortable, the hotel grounds and spa are by far the superior aspect of the hotel and we enjoyed an array of meals in the restaurant including an evening meal on our first night, afternoon tea and breakfast on both mornings.
I honestly don't know what people have to complain about judging by the other reviews but if you're going to a 3 star expecting 5 star then you're probably going to be disappointed. We had a brilliant weekend at amazing value. Special thanks to Aime and the restaurant staff for really looking after us during our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark James, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. I will ensure that your comments are passed back to the team at the hotel. Re-opening after the lockdown has been a challenging time for hotels and it is satisfying to read your comments We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaz2407 wrote a review Feb 2020
Canterbury, United Kingdom58 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just arrived home after a 1 night stay via Wowcher £89.00 for room, access to spa, 3 course dinner, bottle of wine and breakfast. It is great value for money and I can not fault the deal.
The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. check in and check out went fine without a hitch, our room was 209 this was immaculately clean, white fluffy towels, nice bathroom and room had everything we needed. Only annoyance was that we were near some sort of air filter machines outside they were mildly noisy but the bed was super comfy, the pillows lovely and we slept well
Spa - we did not book treatments and I have to say whilst it was good value for money it is quite underwhelming. The pool is cold and quite small, hot tub was large you could fit 12 in but the water was not particularly warm, the wetroom was shut and the sauna was lovely but could only fit about 6 people in. Seating area around the pool was nice, quite a few loungers and chairs but the towels were tiny and felt quite scratchy and old. The changing rooms were modern and immaculate and the seating area leading into the spa is lovely really modern and bright and relaxing.
Restuarant and Bar areas are nice, they are well presented and the waiting/bar staff couldnt be more accomodating.
Dinner was great there was a number of choices (without having to pay a supplement) starters we had ham hock and also squid both plentiful, well presented and tasty. Mains were delicious I had the ribs, my partner had the Hogs Back Burger again super yummy and the pudding was lovely we had chocolate and cherry brownie and creme brule, bottle of wine as rose and it was great.
Breakfast is a little bit underwhelming, the buffet choice for continental is quite small, not much choice of cereal, or fruit and the pastries were not particularly outstanding. Cooked breakfast was nice, the sausages delicious and it was hot and fresh.
What would have been nice is more fruit juice choices and more continental offerings.
All in all we had a lovely time, would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarkJ4345, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. We always review the feedback received and use it to help our future guests receive a better experience at the hotel. I have passed the comments back to the entire team via our internal web page and thank you pn their behalf. I have also requested that the head chef review the breakfast offering and plan for any changes he may consider We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs Neil wrote a review Aug 2020
Essex UK27 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just recently stayed for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast and also booked an afternoon tea.
It was a fabulous break away.
The rooms are spotless and spacious and with Covid the maids cannot come in during your stay but fresh towels ect was readily available in reception.

The food and service was lovely including the afternoon tea.
We will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we felt it was way better than a 3 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark James, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. I will ensure that your comments are passed back to the team at the hotel. Re-opening after the lockdown has been a challenging time for hotels and it is satisfying to read your comments We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tim Hall
Haversham, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
Hello Yes there are plug sockets in the leisure club ladies changing rooms beneath the mirrors which are over the vanity unit so you will be able to use your hair straighteners. There are also hairdryers provided
Answer from CoyoteS22
Coningsby, United Kingdom76 contributions44 helpful votes
Separate changing rooms but facilities are shared in the pool area.
Answer from L4INEY
Somerset, United Kingdom575 contributions51 helpful votes
We arrived at 2.30pm no problem Parking is very good We just gave registration number on arrival Yes there is a hairdryer in room And breakfast is serving from 7-10.30 on a Saturday and Sunday
Answer from Anand R
Farnborough, United Kingdom31 contributions4 helpful votes
Apparently I don’t get notifications so sorry for the delay. There are a lot of country lanes and off road areas close by
Answer from Tim Hall
Haversham, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
Hello Yes non-residents are welcome in our bar however please ensure you enter your car registration in our parking permit system at Hotel Reception on arrival
Amanda S wrote a tip 5 May
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take your own towel if using spa as they ran out. Stipulate you want well ventilated room as ours was unbelievably hot."
Read full review
bossyteacher wrote a tip Apr 2024
Walton on Thames178 contributions109 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is good. Easy to find."
Read full review
thanetdj wrote a tip Mar 2024
Birchington, United Kingdom42 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to book your car in for parking to avoid any disappointment. Well situated for visiting local attractions."
Read full review
Diana H wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steer clear - there are loads of much nicer places to have lunch Guildford and Farnham"
Read full review
grahamgaunlett wrote a tip Mar 2024
57 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware High Prices for Poor Service "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Farnham area.
PRICE RANGE
S$90 - S$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada farnham hotel seale, ramada hotel farnham, farnham ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Farnham Hog's Back Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyFarnham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOG'S BACK HOTEL & SPA FARNHAM: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 456 Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Which popular attractions are close to The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Nearby attractions include Alpine Snowsports Aldershot (3.8 km), Farnborough Air Sciences Trust Museum (6.6 km), and Watts Chapel (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie, Sky Bar, and One Eleven.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Romanian, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Waverley Abbey (3.5 km), FAST Centrifuge (6.0 km), and Henley Fort (3.9 km).
Is The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Farnham HotelsFarnham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FarnhamHotels near The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire