We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
#8 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 199: English reviews
Start your review of The Carlton Hotel
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Carlton is clean and simple. There is not a great selection of hotels in Rugby but the Carlton was satisfactory. There is nothing memorable about the hotel but equally nothing wrong with it. We were perfectly comfortable for the night and you get exactly what you pay for so no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie K
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay whilst here and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although room was quite small, it was exceptionally clean. The staff were most helpful. Plenty of room for car parking. Didnt have breakfast so cannot comment, but restaurant looked really pretty. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room, and was topped up daily.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 313Jane26
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a positive review. If you find your room too small if you choose to stay here again, just let us know and we will try and arrange another room for you to stay in. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the services that were provided for you and we hope that you choose to...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

A very comfy room with everything you would need ! A spot of trouble with the tv but was sorted out immediately. The bed was extremely comfy ! The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful! There was traffic noise but our room was facing the main road.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny C
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review. If there is any trouble with noise when you stay with us in the future, just let us know and we will try and arrange a room that is not facing the road. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the services provided.

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The room was good for the money in a small town , 10 minutes from the town centre, plenty of tea and coffee in the room , breakfast was very good , the staff were friendly and helpful , car park was easy to access, will use the hotel again if staying in rugby

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jarvisent
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Second stay at the Carlton, first room a single room was rather poky, second stay in a double room, carpets had not been hovered as the previous Guests hair still on the floor and waste in the shower room bin. The carpets seemed dirty, stains on the bed lining, disused water and shower caps Under the side board.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advisorinspector2016
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the carpets not being thoroughly cleaned. We are in the process of changing the carpets in some of the rooms, so the next time you stay, this should be sorted. Regarding the stains on the bed lining, if you had have mentioned to a member of staff about this, we would...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I had the misfortune of staying here and trying to get a good nights sleep. The room I had (room 1) was facing the main road and it felt like the road actually went through the bedroom. I managed about an hour of disturbed sleep. It may have just been my room, not sure if the others are the same,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G A
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your experience at our hotel could have been a better one if you only let us know at the time of your stay. We endeavour an excellent experience for all our customers and would definitely move you to a different room at the other part of the hotel. I am sure you have noticed the...

london
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Me and my wife stayed there for one night as this was the nearest to the venue we were going too.The car park is very small but I understand there is additional parking across the road.The rooms are in need of some TLC but was comfy we booked a twin upgrade. The TV was not working properly but as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillwLondon
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have checked the TV in the room after you have left and the TV is now working as it should. Next time you decide to stay with us please let us know if you have any special request when you book your stay. Great to have your positive comments about our service. Looking forward...

Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The Calton Hotel Room I had was basic single bed and Bathroom was fine but shower extremely small and being a large person mobility in shower was not comfortable trying to wash. Breakfast which was included in price was actually very tasty. Television in the single room very small and when I arrived the television didn't work and they replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan17041961
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and as valued customer we welcome your reviews in order to make any improvement necessary to our service. Due to the room being a small single the shower room is small. Next time when you book your stay you may want to book a superior single where shower rooms are more spacious.

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night,on business trip so arrived just after 8 pm. Several customers in the small bar and was offered a table for dinner in the clean modern restaurant. Limited menue and no steaks available but a very nice chicken curry was served promptly The single room was adequate for 1 night and simple breakfast. Would use again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanG G
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This was an lovely hotel and represented excellent value for money. The room was a good size with a real effort to make guests comfortable. Hairdryer in room. Large bottle of water which many small hotels don't provide. It was clean, hot water and comfortable bed. I had dinner in the restaurant and the food was high quality, good size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoonerFred
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the meal that you had whilst you were here.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
2.0 km away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
0.7 km away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
146 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Rugby Central
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Price Range: $104 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Carlton Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the top rooms. Quite small and no bath, just a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 313Jane26, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a twin superior room butthere are iron stairs to the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles BillwLondon, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 is the best. The other on the 1st floor are also good and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles x_Parag_x, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quiet in courtyard but if wheelchair user who is unable to get out of chair look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles X5604CTpaulb, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask what the difference between a standard and superior room , might save yourself some money”
 of 5 bubbles 677vincentw, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5