We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Expedia.comUS$90
PricelineUS$88
TravelocityUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
Orbitz.comUS$90
Agoda.comUS$89
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (191)
360
Panoramas (54)
Room & Suite (253)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our jaw-dropping pub is beating away to the sound of its own drum in the very heart of our idyllic market town. Hunker down for a sensational slumber or raise your glass to an evening of jubilations. Come and make yourself at home with our wonderful family who are on hand to make your stay a shindig to remember. With scrumptious fare, ravishing refreshments and our undeniable notoriety for providing a rip-roaring time to all our residents - The George Townhouse is the life and soul of Shipston-on-Stour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
442Reviews2Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 281
  • 98
  • 32
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MartinMarlow wrote a review Sep 2022
Marlow, United Kingdom3 contributions
We booked three rooms for a wedding & really enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. We needed to be at the wedding before our check in time so we were given access to one of the rooms to get changed. The had a backup plan in case this was not possible. Really nice atmosphere & a top class breakfast. Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 6 days ago
Martinmarlow, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! Its reviews like this that keep us all motivated to do what we do. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you soon. Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IMH1960 wrote a review Sep 2022
Wiltshire, United Kingdom119 contributions44 helpful votes
Advanced booking made through booking.com for Saturday night stay whilst we attended a wedding nearby. Room was small but comfortable and clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast (additional cost) was nice. Decent location in small local town with interesting shops and buildings. Carpark at rear was initially full but we found a space later in evening. Other parking option down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask whats available. "Cosy room " is just that.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Imh1960, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The George Townhouse Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. Thank you again for the great review! Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katharine M wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions
+1
We have stayed at this hotel before, but not for some years. We returned because we had enjoyed it so much the last time. We stayed for three nights in a deluxe double room, it was lovely, really spacious and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was great with a roll top bath, very large shower + great temple spa products. There is a nesspresso machine in the room which we made good use of. All of the staff who looked after us during our stay were superb, they are a young team, but you can tell they have all had good training and were polite,friendly and helpful at all times. We ate in the restaurant on all three evenings as the food is so good and there is plenty of choice, all of our meals were superb, especially the lamb and the steak. The breakfasts are excellent, as well as the usual continental buffet there is a great choice of cooked dishes. I really recommend you try the poached eggs which were amazing. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel if you are in the cotswolds, it is fantastic value for money and the staff really make it an enjoyable experience
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Katharine M, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! SImon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Goodtotravel wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
It was our first time visiting here and the food was amazing. Seabream with nut crust and cauliflower was cooked to perfection. The apple crumble was also scrumptious. Thank you for such a lovely meal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Ruth H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The George Townhouse Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you soon! Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kempie6 wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We dined at The George on 06/08. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and found the staff particularly helpful & attentive. The staff were extremely knowledgeable of all dishes & drinks on the menu and went the extra mile to support me with my dietary requirements. We’d definitely visit again when we are back in the area. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kempie6, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. So happy the team where able to help you with the dietary requirements, we can't wait to see you return. Thank you, and have a fantastic day! Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Adams wrote a review Sep 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom501 contributions136 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding. The hotel is really well located, the rooms were lovely and cozy and the breakfast was plentiful. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us as we were a large party and couldn’t have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate here one night and the food was really good. Would highly recommend The George if you find yourself in the area and we took the bus into Stratford Upon Avon, which was not far away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is a car park at the rear which gets busy but there is free parking close by.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Chrisletrek, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! Thank you again for the great review! Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monkeyglobal wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom15 contributions20 helpful votes
We visited the George for Sunday lunch. The portions were very small and the food was dry. It took an age to place a drinks order let alone our lunch. No staff members checked to see if our meals were okay, so we couldn't ask for more gravy or extra drinks. It made for a very uncomfortable meal for myself and family. We sat and sat and no staff member cleared our plates or asked us if we wanted desert or coffee. We had to go to the bar to settle our bill, where we were charged for desserts we did not order. A total shambles. We went elsewhere for coffee and cake. We normally love to visit The George Townhouse when we visit our relatives but will not bother in future. I would not recommend The George for a meal, go elsewhere as there is no customer sevice at all at this restaurant and the food is very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Hi Monkeyglobe, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01608 661453 when you have a chance. I'm not happy you had such a poor day with us can you please contact myself as I would love to bring you back to show you how we should be looking after you. if you do not want to call please reach out on email. Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petethegreyhound wrote a review Aug 2022
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom33 contributions57 helpful votes
A small reunion so we chose Shipston as a central location and a treat for folks visiting from the States. This place is beautifully presented and has a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Good range of drinks and varied menu. Servings were plentiful, well prepared and very tasty. Thanks to Poppy, the lad with the wrist brace and the lad with the bun (sorry, didn't catch their names) for keeping everyone happy. I didn't stay overnight, but I'm told by those that did that the rooms were clean, contemporary and comfy. Shipston itself is a lovely little town well worth a visit. We'll come back one day. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Hi Petethegreyhound, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The George Townhouse Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you for the high star rating! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chimpa wrote a review Aug 2022
Tamworth, United Kingdom18 contributions32 helpful votes
I asked to move our hotel booking as I’m poorly & can’t get there. I had booked a non refundable room, payment in full before attending I admit, however I didn’t know I was going to be ill. The rude woman on the phone just said, well you should of picked a different rate!! I only wanted to change the date, not have a refund but she wasn’t interested. Told me hotel policy blah blah & I should contact booking.com. I told her I already had but she was totally vile & didn’t care. Don’t bother booking with this place! They took our money & then basically thought well f*** you we’ve got your money & don’t care if you can’t come.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Hi Chimpa, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. If you'd be willing to provide more feedback, please reach out to myself on my email gm@thegeorgeshipston.co.uk so I can assist you further. I hope to hear from you soon. Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MiniPip wrote a review Aug 2022
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
We live close to Shipston on Stour so if we’re in town this is our go to place for either a drink, meal or both. We called in this evening for something to eat and drink before heading home …… big mistake ! Apart from the young lady who smiled at us on her way to taking drinks to a table we were totally ignored by the men who were goggle eyed staring at screens and oblivious to a waiting customer. After mentioning it would be nice to be acknowledged and asking for a menu we ordered two white wine spritzers. When my husband went to the bar to order food (it was fairly obvious nobody was going to come to the table) they said we would have to wait 45 minutes at least. Disappointed and frustrated we decided to pay for our drinks and leave, the last straw was paying £20.00 plus for two white wine spritzers… OUCH !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Minipip, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. With your honest feedback, I can address the issues you have raised with the team so they understand the importance of ensuring all our guests have the best experience when visiting us at the George Townhouse. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel shipston on stour
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsShipston on Stour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The George Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include Thirst Edition (0.2 km), The Black Horse Inn (0.3 km), and Church of St Edmund (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Townhouse?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cafe at Sheldon's Wine Cellars, The Black Horse Inn, and The Bower House.
Is The George Townhouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Shipston on Stour.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Attic Theatre (15.2 km), Tudor World (15.2 km), and Kiftsgate Court Gardens (9.1 km).
Is The George Townhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.