We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The New Sussex Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The New Sussex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very disappointed that I had to pay £20 extra for less then an hour over stay. On booking, I requested I will checking out at 1:30 pm. But I left at 11:55 am. Mr. Andy was very nice to me. He opened the door for me at 4:00am while i was checking in. I really appreciated. But I had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zia H
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haque, We had missed that you were a 3- 4am arrival, but as you say Andy let you in no problem. Regardless what time you arrive we still have to hold the room the whole previous day for you. I personally explained why check out later than 11am the next day is chargeable because I have to keep...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed a fab night with friends at DJ Rocky Soul Night. Lots of dancing and fun at the bar at the New Sussex Hotel in Lancing. Finally falling into the most comfortable bed ever - and a room with sea view -followed by a fab breakfast. Wow what more could you ask for ❤️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Oh thank you Heather what a lovely review ... hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Fiona

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice room right at the top of the shop, on a Saturday night. Very clean, great friendly staff, excellent bed. Unfortunately even on the third floor the music from a function down in the bar was very audible. Not a real gripe - it was a Saturday night, and these things happen, but I knocked it from 5 stars to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David thanks so much for the review, Friday night is normally our live music night sorry if they were loud on your particular Saturday ... unusual for it to run much after 12 so I hope we see you again soon : ) !

St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in and had a few drinks with friends, good location, reasonable prices and friendly staff. The menu looked ok, basic pub grub. There is a separate room for dining which wasn't very busy on Friday night but the bar was buzzing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flipside30
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flipside thanks for the review, we are working hard on the food and upping our game continuously. I hope next time you are in there is something on the daily special to tempt your fancy, our home-made pies are getting rave reviews at the mo. If you are ever having a larger party we can put your own menu...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

my partner and I and our dog Dave stayed here this past Saturday after finding this little gem at last minute for an unexpected weekend away . Thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple of minor niggles but nothing to complain about at all. The accommodation is spot on , Good sized beds, lovely and quiet although we were at the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Came here for the first time with some new friends and would come again. Lovely cosie feel to the place with nice decor. Helpful friendly staff who was glad to let me know what they had to offer in their wine selection. Will be thinking of going there when planning another night out.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leatherdale
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, hope you can pop back soon : ) Fiona x

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The room and bathroom were fine and we were on the second floor and not directly above the bar so no noise issues. The double bed was two singles pushed together so lots of room but it made the duvet fractionally too small if you have a tendency to sleep at the edge. The bar seemed nice enough, we didn’t...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_C13
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I visited in early October for a birthday lunch for my daughter. We all opted for the Sunday roast, and were not disappointed. The staff were very pleasant and attentive, and the decor and table settings were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H4094IMjanetb
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Oh that's really nice thank you for the review, we do try to be very family friendly. Come back soon. Fiona

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Invited to a 50th birthday party at the Sussex, my Brother in law how is a regular arranged for my wife and I to stay. This was not the first time we stayed there two years ago. We were made to feel very welcome by Fiona, Alan and thier team. The party was great and the spread they laid out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonka5566
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Ohh thanks for very nice review : ), hope we see you sooner than another 2 years : ) x

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I was visiting friends who live in Lancing on Saturday evening and booked to stay here overnight as it's quite nearby. There was a small mix up regarding my room when I first arrived, but this was sorted out very quickly by the manager who was very apologetic and also offered me a complimentary drink from the bar. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCC2015999
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review ...lovely to hear we are getting it right x

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancing
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
6.9 km away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
6.9 km away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
10.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
3.6 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The New Sussex Hotel

Address: 182 South Street, Lancing BN15 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Lancing
Price Range: $139 - $874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 2 with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles flavia1243, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles cjn0rm, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Manager_Rentals, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are immaculate most have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles stevenr317, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles janehI7830NT, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay