We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Sussex Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Sussex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of The New Sussex Hotel
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a table for my girlfriends birthday as I had heard good reports about the food in the restaurant. I booked it for 7 but to be fair was running late so ended up arriving at 7.30pm . I've been in this pub a few times and always found the bar staff very friendly. There was four of us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I am surprised at this review as I have spoken to our team and they all remember you and say how nice and understanding you were when they explained the situation, and of course we recognised you as a return customers. It happened to be St Patrick's day and we were absolutely slammed at lunch, we apologised we didn't...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Living in the town of lancing for many years and this pub has always been a favorite of mine.. Over the past few years the pub was refurbished and the hotel was born well done Pat !! The hotel and pub has recently sold and the new owners have kept on with improving the pub... Great food and good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigelandjuliagray
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel and Julie, thank you for your lovely review :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a booking for saturday 25th Feb for one night, we were a family of 3 and travelling with an elderly aunt too (she had a separate room). We arrived around 6pm and on previous experience was looking forward to our stay. However when we got taken to our room at the top of the pub, we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s79asss
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, we do welcome honest comments and feedback from all our guests. I was not there on the night in question but I have reviewed thoroughly with our team the course of events and you left saying we would be hearing from you. So in this case, I do feel that I need to respond as your review is unfair...

Bolton
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is a hotel attached to a pub. The pub was nice, friendly staff and clientele and a good choice of food and beer. The hotel room was lovely, large, spacious, nice decoration, huge comfy bed and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was deliciouse. Location is on the sea front, about 10 minutes walk from the train station, ten minute train...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon_Fields
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Thanks for the review so nice and informative too : )

Reviewed 6 February 2017

We recently popped into the New Sussex with the intention of a quick drink after a blustery walk along the seafront. But as soon as we saw the log burner and cosy chairs...how could we resist staying for a couple of hours!! The staff are all really friendly and the food was tasty and great value. Love the pool table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loveday13
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loveday, Thanks for the review. We are pleased the log burner is so popular, those seats are extremely sought after on cold wintery days !

Reviewed 5 February 2017

Always busy, and well deserved, Fiona and Andy do a great job. Small hotel busy bar and very good food representing excellent value. Also try hard to give great service, although they are sometimes stretched! Definitely one to return to. Reasonable street parking nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin O
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thanks for the nice review, always looking to recruit keen bar / wait staff : )

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great NYE party...Great people, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Very Good food with many choices Generally hospitality was fantastic, large rooms in very comfy setting. Definitely a place to go check out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete M
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Pete ! Glad you loved it too, was a great night. Roll on 2018 !

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Really lovely pub/restaurant and great staff. had fish and chips with drinks. not to busy in there as the place across the road on the beach was heaving with people, kids, dogs and what ever else. Glad we went here and would go back for the food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 8,888,888,888,888,888
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 888, Thanks for the lovely review ! Sorry we only just spotted it.

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed that I had to pay £20 extra for less then an hour over stay. On booking, I requested I will checking out at 1:30 pm. But I left at 11:55 am. Mr. Andy was very nice to me. He opened the door for me at 4:00am while i was checking in. I really appreciated. But I had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zia H
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haque, We had missed that you were a 3- 4am arrival, but as you say Andy let you in no problem. Regardless what time you arrive we still have to hold the room the whole previous day for you. I personally explained why check out later than 11am the next day is chargeable because I have to keep...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a fab night with friends at DJ Rocky Soul Night. Lots of dancing and fun at the bar at the New Sussex Hotel in Lancing. Finally falling into the most comfortable bed ever - and a room with sea view -followed by a fab breakfast. Wow what more could you ask for ❤️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Oh thank you Heather what a lovely review ... hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Fiona

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancing
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
3.2 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
616 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
335 reviews
10.7 km away
Premier Inn Littlehampton Hotel
11.0 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The New Sussex Hotel

Address: 182 South Street, Lancing BN15 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Lancing
Price Range: $129 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The New Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a lift so you need to be ok with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Simon_Fields, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I only eat here - on a busy roundabout overlooking the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 142martino, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 2 with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles flavia1243, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles cjn0rm, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Manager_Rentals, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5