We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,487: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Took my father for his 91st Birthday. I ordered cream tea which I knew to be £35. What I had not budgeted for was £14.50 for a Mojito!! full of ice! My daughter and myself has the club sandwich which arrived after a considerable wait, burnt. The venue cannot be faulted, it is a stunning building in a wonderful scenic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emmajane r
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent cream tea experience, I am so sorry we did not get this right for you and this spoilt your fathers 91st Birthday. I would be keen to discuss your feedback personally, would you mind getting in touch with me at dan.wait@exclusive.co.uk. With Best Wishes Dan Wait Hotel Operations Manager

Poynton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Recently attended at family wedding at South Lodge. The venue is beautiful and the food outstanding. Staff are always on hand and very helpful. I would highly recommend this establishment to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthew869
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Thank you for the wonderful feedback, I'll be sure pass the feedback onto the teams. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Best Wishes Dan Wait Hotel Operations Manager

cazand
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Had afternoon tea here on May bank holiday weekend. It was for my husband and mother in laws birthday. We were a party of 7. I had requested specific sandwiches on the phone due to dietary requirements, which they had confirmed. The car park was really busy when we arrived, had to park at the very end. All the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cazand
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience, it's disappointing to hear that we did not deliver for your husband and mother in laws afternoon tea treat. I'd like to have the opportunity to discuss the feedback with you, would you mind getting in contact with me on dan.wait@exclusive.co.uk. I look forward to talking with you. With Best Wishes...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Fabulous hotel and wonderful restaurants! Food is amazing and would highly recommend the Pass restaurant. Wonderful location and a real treat. Butterfly floor and junior suites amazing - the shower and bathroom were fabulous! Really enjoyed our stay and will be back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silvers9
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next break away, With Best Wishes Dan

West Hampnett
Reviewed 11 May 2016

hotel is so beautiful had a lovely stay here I would say only thing missing is a pool but the area is stunning and walks great, service from all staff top quality. we had a suite very large and lovely soft towels.In the bathroom there was a bath and very large shower yes would defiantly go back and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenUbsdell
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Many Thanks for your lovely review, keep your eyes peeled to our website for news on our spa plans as they develop! With Best Wishes Dan

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I booked afternoon tea for my sister and I online for my birthday requesting a nice table but when we arrived they didn't have my booking but said they could accommodate us, I was a little disappointed with the welcome, beautiful setting and surroundings, the selection of teas was extensive and the sandwiches and cakes were very nice, we also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Rebecca, Thank you for your review following your afternoon tea, I'm pleased you had an enjoyable time with us. I'm sorry we did not have your booking in our system when you arrived I'm looking into this, I'd be grateful if you could forward me your confirmation or detail of which online site you booked so I check...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Visited here for a lunch to celebrate a family occasion. The service is spot-on, faultless. They really do serve you and do not expect you to have to do anything. The food was first-class and every course beautifully presented and delicious. Visited many years ago but will be certainly going again soon. Thoroughly recommend South Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Sussex_UK
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent lunch, I'll be sure to share this feedback with the team. We look forward to seeing you again shortly. With Best Wishes Dan

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We took my Nan for a birthday treat. It was a beautiful day, and although we sat inside we still had a lovely view of the surrounding lawn and garden. All the staff were really welcoming and attentive from the moment we arrived. Afternoon Tea was delicious - we couldn't quite finish all the yummy pastries (must have been the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aitch_89
Crawley
Reviewed 5 May 2016

I have stayed at South Lodge Hotel 3 times now over the last few years and have never gotten round to actually write a review. I'll split this review into the 3 occasions we've stayed. 1. Staying in the 'King George' room (October 2013) The 5 Star quality of this hotel really does hit you as soon as you arrive....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank x_Rachael_x
Daniel W, Hotel Operations Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr/s Egarr, Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'll ensure the team read your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Very Best Wishes Dan

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Brought this as a 50th birthday treat, champagne afternoon tea, it was a real treat, nothing was too much trouble, watched a wedding whilst having a cocktail which was great. Would recommend for a special occasion. Grounds are lovely to walk round..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M

971 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Cosy Room (47)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (With A View) (51)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
17.2 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.7 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.4 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
964 reviews
1.8 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
327 reviews
36.3 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Price Range: $294 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Godman suite has a jacuzzi outside on terrace”
 of 5 bubbles jamiebsimpson, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No view from any room in the stable block; south facing is best”
 of 5 bubbles jimmW7624GP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sadly didn't stay in hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Gloriahove12, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on 1st floor. Very quiet and easy distance to bar and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles amkundert1969, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can, visit beforehand and ask to see some different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Exmoorgirl, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5