We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mackellar Motel

121 reviews
Save
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good38%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (121)Write a Review
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
60
45
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
45
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfast isin townacross the roadspa bathfour starhuge bathroomreception staffunder coverwater pressurestaff are extremely friendlyyogurtmobile phonemain streetrooms are spaciouswould definitely stay here againa lovely staylocal club
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The most pleasant greeting by reception staff on arrival.Room was large and clean . Fresh milk was supplied for tea. The bathroom was huge and clean and the water pressure in the shower was gorgeous. Continental breakfast was supplied in the $150 tariff but you...More

Thank Zena S
Response from James F, Owner at Mackellar MotelResponded 1 week ago

Thanks very much for your generous score and great review Zena. I'm sorry to say we will not be putting in a pool soon, partly because of cost, but mainly because of the onerous compliance provisions now put on all public pools in NSW, Please...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff greeted us with fresh milk and fast checkin. Our room was extremely clean and quiet. Air conditioning coped well on a 40 plus summer day. Location is great, right across the road from the local club where we enjoyed great service and a...More

Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
Response from James F, Owner at Mackellar MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review 3littlepigs. We"re happy when the little things are appreciated. Please keep in mind if you book direct for your next visit, you will get cheaper rates than thru other booking agencies, a complimentary drink on arrival and you won't have...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

This is a great value motel that has large, clean and neat rooms. Everything you could want! Fantastic location one edge of town centre so you can walk everywhere. Very friendly and efficient receptionist. Wiĺ be motel of choice next time we stay there!More

Thank Jenny H
Response from James F, Owner at Mackellar MotelResponded 11 December 2017

Many thanks for your kind comments and review Jenny. Please keep in mind if you book direct for your next visit, you will get cheaper rates than thru other booking agencies, a complimentary drink on arrival and you won't have to pay cancellation fees. See...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle, Australia
154
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. My husband stays here whenever he is working near gunnedah. The bed and pillows were comfortable, and the sheets were nice and soft. The wifi is included and have multiple ones to connect to which is a great idea!...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from James F, Owner at Mackellar MotelResponded 7 December 2017

Many thanks for your generous review. We're happy when our guests notice those little extras. Please keep in mind if you book direct for your next visit, you will get cheaper rates than thru other booking agencies, a complimentary drink on arrival and you won't...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017

Stayed in Gunnedah for one night and we were glad we booked here. Room was modern and clean, with one of the best showers ever! The pressure is great. Contintental brekky in the morning was great, coffee really nice for a motel. The restaurant inside...More

Thank 964matty678
Response from James F, Owner at Mackellar MotelResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your review 964matty678. Sean and Mandy always go that extra mile and our guests really appreciate it. I'm glad you did too. Sorry about the pillows. All are new but obviously we can't pick the perfect pillow for all guests. Don't forget...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345624
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Microwave
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mackellar Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Do yourself a favour"
Read review
"do not use if travelling with pets. They advertise pet friendly but buyer we ware"
Read review
"Even though it's on the main street the rooms are set well back and there is very little traffic noice."
Read review
"Rooms in the middle would be quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing