We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Platypus Park Country Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Platypus Park Country Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Platypus Park Country Retreat
 Click to rate
Bundaberg Aust
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A friend and I stayed here recently enroute to Barnbougle for golf. The Retreat is managed by Tony and his wife. Very nice welcome. We stayed in a 2 bed one double downstairs and a double in the loft. Airconditioned very pleasant surrounds. Full laundry facilities outside pour unit so ideal for a stopover if washing required. No taxi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david O
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quiet peaceful, there was a few children here at the same time but the games room is far away enough so as not to disturb other guests outside the township but not to far away to walk into town centre I highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
Anglesea
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place offers great country accommodation in the country. It is not meant to be five star or anything. It is what it is. And we love it. Great for a family or group. Th cottages may be old and have older furniture, - but it is all well maintained and perfectly functional. There is a common room. we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angleseateam
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. Really the best breakfast you had in Tasmania...wow we are so thrilled to hear that. Hope to see you again sometime. Walk to town...well yes takes me about 20minutes to stroll to the Bunker Bar Cafe, but then I can drive in just 2 minutes too.

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We had a pleasant three night stay, at platypus retreat, position is excellent, and accomodation cottage was clean and had everything we required. Lovely evening stroll down by the river with the excellent and knowledgeable tour guide 🐕. Our only complaint would be hard to adjust temperature in the shower and the mattress was not the most comfortable. We relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie w
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feed back. The bed was new in June, I guess we cannot get it right for everyone, we do appologise. Glad you were able to relax, and Sofie loved taking you for a walk to the river :) we look forward to meeting you again should you venture back to Tasmania.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

As per previous review the place is terribly disappointing - they haven't bothered updating the furniture and bedding since 1980. The mattress was old and incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows were worse. It was a competition on what stopped us sleeping - the horrible bed and pillows or the constant traffic and trucks all through the early hours of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Reviews should actually be factual and honest, in our opinion. You Phoned on the day to ask for a place to stay and could you bring your two dogs. Being a quiet Sunday night, I allowed you to bring your dogs on the condition they stayed outside of the accommodation. you said...

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Not anything like its advertised..the room Was very dated, dark, smelly. The room and facilities in general in great need of an overhaul and a good clean. Overpriced for what it was. Was glad to pay the extra to stay elsewhere in bridport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tastytastravels
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You did checkin, but you did not stay in our Wattle Spa Studio room. You left having stated a family emergency. The Wattle Spa studio room is presented exactly how it is described on boking.com where you made your booking. The two bedroom studio is thoroughly cleaned by professional cleaners after each guest, and had...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Platypus Park was a wonderful country setting (yet so close to lovely Bridport and unbelievably beautiful ocean views). The hosts are admirably engaging and knowledgable about this fantastic part of the world, and Sophie the dog will help escort you to your room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendyk9
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and appreciating the rural environment. Sofie loved having you around for walks.

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Lauderdale, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed a night in the two bed unit. The room had everything we could want, the host was welcoming and we would certainly come back again. Just out Bridport town centre ( 20 min walk; 5 min drive) and quiet and relaxing. The bed was comfy, there were lovely pieces of old furniture and the kitchen was well supplied.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josie C
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Josie for coming to stay and appreciating our "eco" accommodation complex. We hope you will be able to drop by another time.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Just stayed for one night. Check-in was easy & friendly. Our accommodation was like a motel room with a loft on top. Ours did not have the kitchen facilities but still had a toaster, kettle and a small fridge. The rooms are fairly dated but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank meatybite

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.3 km away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#5 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
1.8 km away
Bridport Bay Inn
Bridport Bay Inn
#8 of 8 in Bridport
45 reviews
1.1 km away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
75 reviews
1.1 km away
Bridport Resort
Bridport Resort
#1 of 1 in Bridport
41 reviews
19.2 km away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#1 of 5 in Scottsdale
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly self-contained accommodation, situated on a small rural property on the edge of the seaside town, Bridport, north east Tasmania. Offering peace and quiet, personal service, free touring information to guests. Families are welcome, ideal too for romantic short breaks, or group bookings. Games room and trout fishing dams are a bonus when staying with families. Generous breakfast hampers are available, produce from the organic garden is available for purchase, including free range eggs. Stay a while and enjoy the rural tranquility, play by the seaside, have a round of golf at Barnbougle Dunes or visit vineyards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Platypus Park Country Retreat

Address: Platypus Park 20 Ada St, Bridport, Tasmania 7262, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Price Range: $144 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Platypus Park Country Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platypus Park Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Platypus Park Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good”
Angleseateam, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked our room, was very spacious”
EJ838, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were beautiful, with their own unique character.”
tomwootton, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great! Some a little more private than others, however they were all well situated.”
Muzzpete, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Request the newer property”
hullstravel, 9 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5