We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ivy on Glenelg

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ivy on Glenelg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ivy on Glenelg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful must stay location. We stayed in the Doctor's Wing for 2 nights - self contained, spacious, historic and so well equipped. We're greeted by a roaring fire, berry compotes, and all the facilities you could wish for topped off with generous warm hospitality from David and Irene. Access to the farm and pet animals was a added treat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keighley W
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Keighley W for your review. It was our absolute pleasure to meet you all especially your lovely daughter and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had an uneventful journey back home and it was smooth sailing.

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The Ivy on Glenelg is a historic building in a town already steeped in history. We stayed in the Doctor's Wing which was a fully self-contained, incredibly comfortable and cosy place to stay. The room arrangement is a little odd in that the entrance room leads into the first bedroom (with a single and a double bed) which you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Gordon D for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried hard to maintain the historic feel but add discreet mod-cons. The girls (hens) work hard to produce what we think are absolutely the most beautiful eggs. Thank you for finding us.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Ivy on Glenelg for 1 night on our way to Cradle Mountain. David was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable from the get go; he even made a reservation for us at a local eatery. The self-contained unit is beautifully set up and very well equipped down to the fine details. The brekky that Irene prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bozana R
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Bozana and Brett for your lovely review and for staying with us. We hope Cradle Mountain was as enjoyable as your stay here and that your holiday in Tassie exceeded your expectations. It was lovely to meet you both and maybe if you visit Tassie again we may see you.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Beautiful and comfortable old world charm. A welcoming beacon for a very wet miserable day. Everything, plus more was provided. A definite home away from home. Warm, cosy, comfortable with the fire already lit by our host David. Enough supplies for breakfast to satisfy the most voracious appetite. Warm soft fluffy robes and slippers complimented the cosines of The Doctors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Mary D for your review. In out opinion there is nothing more welcoming on a cold wet day than a fire burning brightly. Fortunately when we were restoring the Doctors Wing we were able to restore the fireplace so it could be used, unfortunately it was the only one that could be saved. Thanks for finding us and...

Pearl Beach, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Wow. A great experience. All renovated keeping its heritage intact. Charming hosts. Abundant breakfast. Its roughly midway between Hobart and Launceston - a great place to centre your exploration of the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GordonPell
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Gordon for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast provisions and that we have tried to renovate keeping in mind the home was built in 1838. We did not want to make our apartments ultra modern but at the same time we wanted to install modern appliances, so keeping the heritage intact was very difficult, so...

Lisarow, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

The Ivy is a delightfully charming B&B. David greeted us most warmly, & truly we wanted for nothing. Due to flight arrivals, we knew we would be late into Campbell Town. Irene arranged dinner for us at Zeps restaurant, & David stayed up late to meet us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabb997
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Gabb997 for your review. We are very pleased we were able to accommodate your later arrival and dinner at Zeps. We trust you had a lovely meal and thank you for staying with us. Hopefully one day we may see you back in Campbell Town.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

What an amazing place! We've never stayed at a B&B before but after our night at the Ivy, we may just have to re-evaluate our thinking! Stepping through the door of the fully self contained Doctor's Wing was like stepping back in time. The unit, it could hardly be called a room, was absolutely beautiful! The main bedroom had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenikaph
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Jenikaph for your thorough and nice review. We have tried to maintain the feel of a home built in 1838 but have placed all the modern cons that is required these days, it is nice to know you appreciated them. We look forward to seeing you again should you make another trip to Tassie in that wonderful purple...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Was greeted absolutely wonderfully. Accommodation and everything related to it was the best I have ever experienced. Many many thanks to Irene and David. Excellent in every way. I can't wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim h
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Kim for your review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again should you be passing though Campbell Town and in need of an overnight or longer stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and very pleased you arrived home safe and well.

Reviewed 12 April 2016

This is really a good experience to live at Ivy on Glenelg located at Campbell Town. Actually this nice living place is introduced by my friend as this is really a good stop point from Launceston to Hobart. We have a very warm welcome by our host Irene and David, especially Irene, who is a really an elegant sweet lady!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you Zoe for your lovely review and photos. we are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Campbell Town and that you enjoyed your apartment. We look forward to seeing you both again if you come back to Tasmania. Thank you.

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed in the Turner Suite and it had everything you could possibly need. Wonderful hosts who went above and beyond in a medical emergency for us during our stay. Would definitely go back without hesitation. All the comforts of home and tasty breakfast selections. Lovely homemade snacks in the bread bin. Port and Sherry laid on for after dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouMcH
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review

Thank you LouMcH for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay although even though we had a visit from the Tasmanian Ambulance Service. We hope all is well health wise and if travelling again would love to see you all.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell Town
11.9 km away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
74 reviews
11.9 km away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
63 reviews
26.8 km away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
0.0 km away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
34.6 km away
Currawong Lakes
Currawong Lakes
#154 of 470 in Tasmania
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Doctors Wing, sleeping up to six people with two bedrooms, (2 Queen Beds, 2 Singles), full kitchen, sitting/TV room with 94cm flat screen LCD TV, (2nd bedroom has its own TV), wood and electric heating, and private bathroom with heated towel rails. The second (Dry Cottage), comprising of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed), full kitchen, electric heating and en-suite bathroom with heated towel rails with disabled facilities. The third (The Turnbull Suite), consisting of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed),electric heating and private bathroom with heated towel rails, all areas having access to large, sun drenched courtyards. The in-house room (Tuscan Room) features Queen Bed, flat screen TV, DVD, CD player, wonderful breakfast room with Wood Heater and private bathroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ivy on Glenelg

Address: 9 Glenelg St, Campbell Town, Tasmania 7210, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Campbell Town
Price Range: $152 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy on Glenelg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivy on Glenelg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ivy on Glenelg staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ivy on Glenelg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cooking facilities are great!”
 of 5 bubbles amywu2017, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The dry suite faces west so you get a sunset through the rose arbor courtyard. There is even a washing machine with a clothes line”
  • The fully equipped kitchenette
 of 5 bubbles brockwellcheryl7, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had the Turnbull Suite (not named after the PM) and would recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles eightiesgirl66, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is not a hotel, it is a small B & B with three available rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoff333_13, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No need to. All rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles robbo52310, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5