We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,862: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to bring the kids to experience nature at its best! We had booked the traditional cabin and it was great! Complete with its own fire place and jacuzzi bath! Having the cloak room also helped for having a place to store our walking gear - boots and coats, etc. Breakfast offered a good selection and was delicious! Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexYew
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AlexYew, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of this magnificent part of the world, your cabin and our very popular breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back, next time you choose to stay with us. Sincere best wishes, Oliver...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

There should be a rule that any establishment that provides a dusty CD player and a single cd as the only form of room entertainment, is automatically disqualified from anything above a 3 star rating. Add tired furniture, a kitchenette that was built in the 80s and an ugly timber lined entranceway and I call this 2 stars. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NLB101
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NLB101, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent 'stay'. As an older property, some of our furniture and fixtures are a few years old, however, clean and in working order, therefore I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her staff. We...

Sydney
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 2 night stay was very enjoyable- staff friendly and helpful. Location of course first class. We hope to return to do some more amazing walks in this stunning area of Australia. The area is overall very well managed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebianSydney
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our 2nd time here. Great place to stay. Cabins were very good, better than they look from the outside! The wood fire has now been upgraded to a gas "wood fire". So much easier and no smoke smell. The room is extremely comfortable. Saw paddy melons and a wombat wondering by from our room window. The walk to the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT346
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ChrisT346, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and found your cabin extremely comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back, when next you choose to stay. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was a great trip. Such a beautiful place to stay. Staff were amazing. The food was excellent and the cabin clean and warm and nice. A trip to the spa for a couples massage was amazing, the views were spectacular

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniewP3245MS
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear melaniewP3245MS, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to warmly welcoming you back, when next you choose to stay with us. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

Sydney
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It has been a long held dream that we could stay and experience this beautiful area in Tasmania once our children had grown up because it is too expensive for most families. I understand that. Our accomodation is very comfortable but for 2 couples it is difficult with one toilet in a bathroom. Beds and room service are perfect. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank silvertailvixen
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear silvertailvixen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that the beds and room service are perfect in your family cabin. However, please accept my apologies regarding your comprehensive dissatisfaction with your Tavern dining experience. I have shared this feedback with our Head Chef for his immediate attention and...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Peppers Cradle Mountain last week for 2 nights in a Pencil Pine cabin. The room was clean and spacious. The bed comfortable and the balcony a nice spot for an afternoon sundowner. We ate breakfast in the lodge both mornings - it was an average spread but I was very disappointed that the scrambled eggs were powdered....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristine H
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kristine H, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that we were able to assist you with a memorable holiday on the whole. It disappoints me to hear you believe that our free-range North West Tasmanian eggs we use for scramble are 'powdered'. There are some condensation issues...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely staff and a real wilderness feel make this a great place to stay. It's 'luxury' without feeling stuck up and is extremely comfortable. Different dining options make it affordable for all and the complimentery port made a perfect ending to a long day!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helena B
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helena B, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are so happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Peaceful, well catered for, comfortable and warm.the cabin was great tucked into the bush with paddy melons wallaby s and wombats wondering by The main lodge catered very well for food and beverage The walks were magical

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K4284KGrossm
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear K4284KGrossm, Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect review of your recent stay with us. We are glad we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge soon. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only thing that was good about this experience was the nature walks and wildlife. Rooms are over priced and considering the price underwhelming in creature comforts. Example is at $650 p/n I would like to option of leaving a TV switched off rather than nothing. Meals were ordinary and again over priced, disappointing considering all the Peppers facilities we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris F
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Chris F, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Head Chef will certainly address your feedback with his Team Members. I am also disappointed to hear that you were not happy that there are no TVs in...

985 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (960)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (388)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
871 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
82 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
641 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
375 reviews
64.9 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $286 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a Spa Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Tropicalshowers, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were very happy with our cabin room which was close to the main building for dinner and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Fletcherdillo, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the other cabins but we loved the spa cabins. Bed was super comfortable. Set out was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Littleauzzee, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a unit close to the lodge in case of inclement weather”
 of 5 bubbles hughie731, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We only dined at the Bistro, so can not say”
 of 5 bubbles 548juliek, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay