Pumphouse Point

Pumphouse Point

1 Lake St Clair Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140 Australia
Traveller (894)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (36)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
In the middle of Tasmania, on the deepest lake in the Southern Hemisphere and surrounded by some of the most dramatic natural landscape on the planet awaits Pumphouse Point, an industrial relic reborn as a wilderness retreat. Explore the myrtle forests, drift across the lake or just sink into your couch and watch the world float by. The scene is set for your new favourite memory.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Hiking
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Seating area
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,084 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Pumphouse Point is a hotel celebrated for its sublime setting in the Tasmanian wilderness, offering serene lake views and wildlife encounters that captivate guests. The staff's service is often lauded, although some guests have noted inconsistencies. While the clean rooms and unique amenities such as over-water rooms add to the charm, some visitors express that the value is diminished by the high costs, particularly for the food and drinks. Moreover, guests appreciate the tranquil atmosphere and comfortable lounges, despite some desires for improved dining privacy and occasional room ventilation issues.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,084Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 795
  • 199
  • 57
  • 20
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
happysoyboy wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the heritage status, we were surprised to learn this hotel has only been opened for 5 years and everything in the property is very well-maintained. The staff (Carla and Hester) at check-in were very clear in explaining the features of the hotel and expert in reversing the buggy when we were taken to our room in the Pumphouse.

For dinner, the optional communal 3-course menu was good value for money and also great fun as we heard great travel stories from other hotel guests. The honesty bar in the lounge area was a highlight and we did a tasting of the local Tasmanian gin.

We felt pampered after our stay. Do take one of the nicely shot postcards of the Pumphouse Point available in the lobby as a souvenir (we didn't manage to as we left in a rush after breakfast)!

As we left, we also found out about the flat tyre of our rental car. Robert from the property was amazing in immediately helping us to replace the tyre, wrap the old punctured sandy tyre with a big towel and fasten it to the rear passenger seat. Big thank you for getting your hands dirty and making our drive back to Hobart a safe one!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PumphousePoint, Sales & Marketing Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Hi 729bf, Thank you for your review. Your lovely comments about our friendly team are greatly appreciated and have been passed on, feedback like this is one of the reasons why we love the work that we do. It is great to see that you thought our communal dinner was great value and I completely understand the Tassie Gin being a highlight - it is some of the best in the world! We'd be more than happy to send a postcard out to you, if you'd like one please send us an email at info@pumphousepoint.com.au so that we can arrange it. I'm very glad to hear that you arrived back in Hobart safely. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nicole F
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richelle G wrote a review Mar 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I travelled to Tasmania in March 2019 - We were reminiscing last night when I realised I forgot to write a review about our Pumphouse Point stay. It was hands down the highlight of our trip.

I have never been greeted/offered a glass of champagne on arrival anywhere else; I was instantly relaxed and so excited for what the next two days would offer. Another 3 couples arrived at the same time as us so we were given a group check in which I thought was quite sweet. Another couple had arrived via the Highland Track? At the time I thought they were crazy for hiking but having since started hiking, we will 100% be hiking to Pumphouse Point next time we are in Tassie.

We stayed in the Shorehouse in a room with no view of the lake which was fine with us - the room was beautifully designed and the heated floor in the bathroom is such a nice touch. We kicked off our shoes and lounged in the room before going for a walk around the property & out to the Pumphouse.

Dinner was absolutely magnificent. We were really nervous going into the dining room/picking a table full of strangers, but the host for the evening was very welcoming and helped us feel comfortable and we the strangers very quickly turned into friends. The food was delicious; we absolutely love the farm to table concept that most of Tasmania offers, as well as locally sourced wine, produce, etc.

The breakfast was wonderful. So filling and not too much you feel overwhelmed. I dislike the idea of any wastage and love the idea of boiling your own eggs! After breakfast we played scrabble in the lounge room. Not a single person entered the lounge room for the whole hour or two that we sat there. The whole place felt exclusive and remote.

In the afternoon we took one of the row boats out. The manager was so kind to offer my partner his personal fishing rod and tackle to take out with us. We packed a picnic and the rods and spent all afternoon on the lake. I was lucky enough to catch a small trout!

We indulged in wine, cheese, scrabble, books, food etc and it will be an experience we will never forget, and will continue to tell our friends & family how amazing it was.

I apologise for such a late review, but as a manager of an alpine property myself, I believe feedback is crucial. It was also very nice to be on the receiving end of the hotel experience.

Thank you so much - We will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicole Kennedy, Marketing at Pumphouse Point
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Hi richelleg1994, Thanks for the effort you've taken in writing this review - its always great to hear from happy guests! I'm so glad to read of your adventures and that you enjoyed our communal shared plate dinner, we're very proud that we've been able to parter with a fantastic Tasmanian brand like Coal River Farm to bring local fare to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you next time (post-hike by the sounds of it!) Kindest, Nicole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
DaveIn703 wrote a review Jan 2020
Arlington, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights at Pumphouse Point in December and loved it. We stayed in the Pumphouse in the middle of Lake St. Clair, which I recommend. The views out of the window, especially at dawn and dusk, are really special. Our room layout was a little "different," but remember, you're in a converted hydroelectric station in the middle of a lake. It's going to be unique. Having said that, the bed was great, there was a good-sized sitting area and really well stocked little kitchen/pantry space. There was also a really nice honor bar down in the lounge if you didn't have all the liquor and add-ins you needed in your room. Also, the staff would deliver fresh-baked bread in the morning if you asked. Oh, and speaking of food, I will vouch for the communal dinners. I'm usually not the biggest fan of communal tables, but on this trip we met a bunch of great people and got all kinds of terrific advice on where to go and what to see in Australia during the different communal meals. I still can't get over how friendly the Australians are. Also, if you do the communal dinner you will see evening "show" when all the local wombats and wallabies come out the graze. There is quite a herd. They will have absolutely no interest in you and just graze happily on the lawn.

There are some pretty good hiking trails right from the lodge (meaning Pumphouse Point), but there are longer, and I think better, ones if you do the five minute drive over to the park headquarters and go from there. There's a trail from the lodge to the headquarters, but there are better trails and that one can be muddy. It's probably better just to start your hike at park headquarters if you can. Bevvery aware of wildlife whenever you drive anywhere around the lodge or the park area. There are critters everywhere and they don't look before crossing the road. When you go for a hike, either make a lunch from the stuff in the pantry in your room or eat at the Hungry Wombat just at the end of the drive from the lodge rather than at park headquarters. The food at the park headquarters isn't that great and Pumphouse Point doesn't serve lunch.

The staff at Pumphouse Point can be very helpful if you want advice about what trails to hike or things to do in the area. The rangers at park headquarters are also very helpful. Anyway, I highly recommend Pumphouse Point for a unique experience in a beautiful location with easy access to some good day hikes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PumphousePoint, Sales & Marketing Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Hi DaveIn703, Thanks so much for this great review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your experience at Pumphouse Point, Some of our rooms are little quirky in layout, being inside an old heritage listed pumping station - our architects had to use a few clever tricks to maximise on those views and of course comfort - I think they really add to the unique experience. It is wonderful to see you're vouching for our communal dinner, that means a lot from someone who doesn't normally like that kind of thing. I think Lake St Clair works some of her magic to make them so enjoyable - or perhaps its that everyone is feeling so relaxed?! We have our wonderful facilities management team to thank for the evening wildlife show - with a lot of research and care they've managed to grow the most delicious lawn possible at the front of the Shorehouse. This also provides our furry neighbours with a safe place to much away from cars. You have some great tips on lunch options - we have picnic backpacks in everyone room to help turn your in-room larder into the perfect lunch for taking on hikes. We do have some short walks at Pumphouse Point and you can pick up a map from reception to help you find your way. The visitors centre is definitely worth checking out. Thanks again for your recommendations - I've loved reading about your stay and I'm sure you'll help future travellers too. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Nicole F
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HappyGio69 wrote a review Jan 2020
London
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although this historic building is in a great location and could be magnificent, it’s let down by poor maintenance, small rooms, a lack of rustic decor and some unfriendly members of staff.
Although the French lady we met upon check in and some other likewise temporary members of staff were lovely, some, especially the assistant manager, Pria, seem unhappy in their position. She was very rude to us upon checking out after we made a constructive suggestion that, although we understood the natural ethos of the place, in this day and age an internet toggle would be a good idea for those guests who actually need to get on the internet or Whatsup for work or personal reasons, as there’s no internet on the premises whatsoever and very little mobile phone reception with most networks (we had much better reception during our woodland trail walk!).
She obviously did not care for our opinion and called us moaners.
Of course we were quite taken aback and upset by her behaviour, which clearly marred our experience.

Furthermore she overcharged our group by AU$180, which had to be refunded to our card after we’d departed.

Note as well that the reception is shut from 6pm and none of the e-bikes or rowing boats can be used after 5pm, even in high season.
Poor management.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PumphousePoint, Simon Currant - Managing Director at Pumphouse Point
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Hi Giovanni, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback here and on other platforms. I’m very sorry to read that you weren’t happy with your experience at Pumphouse Point. We strive to deliver a world class experience and I apologise that you don’t feel as though we hit the mark on this occasion. I am glad that you enjoyed Lake St Clair, but disappointed to read that you felt that your experience was let down by poor maintenance. As I have explained in response to your review on another platform, we do acknowledge that their a spider webs at our wilderness retreat. All exterior windows of the Pumphouse are cleaned by contractors at regular intervals and guest rooms and public areas are thoroughly cleaned daily. However, at this time of year, insect activity is high and spiders (and their webs) are an important part of the delicate ecosystem of Lake St Clair National Park. Whilst spiders aren’t our most loved neighbours and their webs can be unsightly, we welcome their assistance in keeping other creepy crawlies to a minimum and the beautiful birds they attract – you see, without this natural balance Pumphouse Point just wouldn’t be the same. I’m sorry to hear you would have preferred a more rustic aesthetic during you stay. As our Pumphouse Point was in its past life a functioning Hydroelectric Pumping Station we consulted a team of architects and interior designers feel that our industrial décor celebrates the buildings roots and that departing from this would be inauthentic. We sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding around our wi-fi hotspot in reception, whilst we do not provide wi-fi in guest rooms (nor do we advertise that we do) we offer a high-speed hot spot device in reception for guests who do need this assistance. Unfortunately, this device had been experiencing issues at the time of your stay, and as we were having this rectified by our IT team, we do not intend to replace this service with personal dongles. We have noted your feedback around particular staff members and it both surprises and saddens us to the hear this. We will be discussing this further with our team and taking appropriate steps forward. I sincerely apologise that we made an error on your account and I am glad to know that we picked up on this error and refunded the amount promptly. The limitations we set around row boats and e-bikes are due to the importance of guest safety, being in a wilderness location we have deemed it unsafe for guests to set out on these activities at night. Acknowledging that our guests want to make the most of their stay at Pumphouse Point and enjoy all of the activities we have on offer, we open our reception at 7am each morning. Our close-knit team are passionate about providing guests with a unique experience and it saddens both our General Manager, Hester and I to know that you feel as though we didn’t provide this. We plan to reach out to you in the coming days to discuss this with you further and hope we can go some way to repair this situation and learn for the future. Kind regards, Simon Currant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen & Sue wrote a review Mar 2021
Canberra, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pumphouse Point is a wonderful place to just chill out for a few days amid amazing scenery.
The rooms are superb – great beds and the best bathrooms, though, again, like most places these days, hardly any room to hang clothes.
The best perk here is the “larder” they stock in your room as part of the room rate – wonderful cheese, crackers, chocolates etc. Everything you need for lunch or a picnic and they restock if you run low.
The fresh sourdough, which was their signature move – just ring up and it appears within the hour. And it was very good.
If you do want to take a break from just gazing at the lake and wilderness there are some nice short walks right out the door, free bikes and electric bikes that will easily get you to the visitor centres, and row boats for those rare days of good weather.
Staff here were superb, and go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need.
The honesty bar system was great – there was a good selection of wines and some spirits, soft drinks and beers. Just take what you need and add it to your tab. And prices were surprisingly good – there was no attempt to gouge on a good range of wines from the modest to near the top end.
Breakfast was also good, with a nice range of cereals and superb muesli, very good bread, spreads and a few hot items like bacon, eggs and baked beans.
There was a good range of teas, with teapots, but for coffee you had to make do with a machine, which was adequate, but a barista would have been nice.
The one disappointment was dinner. The food was not bad – but not much above what you’d expect from a decent conference dinner. Chicken, beef brisket, that sort of thing. Given the setting, prices and clientele, something that aimed a bit higher would make this a place you’d not only want to visit, but to keep coming back to.
They had no trouble catering for vegetarians, vegans and celiacs with notice, but dinner here is not a choice – it’s a set meal every night.
That said, many of the people we met were repeat visitors who loved the location, the service and the serenity.
We also enjoyed the communal setting – basically talk to a few people and then sit yourself down in groups of 4 or 6, choose your wine, and await the food.
Our big tip would be to stay on the mainland, and look out at the lake and the pumphouse. The bar, restaurant and all the services are here, and if the weather is bad, you don’t really want to be walking those hundreds of metres back and forth.
There are small lounges out on the pier, but the lounge on the mainland was much better.
There’s no WiFi, and phone reception was non-existent for some carriers, and marginal for the rest – 2-3 bars of 3G for Telstra if you held the phone up in the right corner of your room, so don’t come here expecting to work!
Given what you get here – the location, all the food, the bikes, the service, the rooms, the sourdough - this was a very good deal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay in the shore house for better location and services.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Hi there Stephen & Sue, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a detailed review of your experience at Pumphouse Point. It sounds like you really made the most of your time in the wilderness, we’re so glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the picnics, e-bikes, bushwalks and our communal dining experience each night. We’re sorry to hear that the coffee and meals were disappointing. We’ve taken this feedback onboard and hope that you won’t be disappointed again if you choose to visit us in the future. Thank you again for visiting us in the middle of world heritage wilderness – and safe onward travels! Warm regards, The Pumphouse Point Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael J wrote a review Dec 2020
Hobart, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
With a fairly steep price point, we utilised some engagement vouchers to help get the most out of our stay. We were certainly glad we did, and would make sure to save our pennies to come here again. The rooms and bath were truly relaxing, and the area an epitome of luxury in the wilderness. The evening meals were great given the location, and would certainly recommend the Derwent Bridge Hotel for a lunch while you're here. Would recommend coming here for couples isolation, or to take in the scenery with friends. Be sure to make the most of the freshly cooked bread!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The floor to ceiling windows on the second floor would be our choice next time, you can only...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GirlAboutTassie wrote a review Dec 2021
Hobart, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had a very long overdue romantic 3 night stay. We booked at the last minute and the only room option for us left was a standard room, no view at a cheaper rate ($630 per night) to other rooms there. Even at the cheaper rate I could not recommended that anyone books this room. The room isn't exactly 'no view'. I could have handled no view. Thinking we were going to be looking into the bush, as opposed to a water view. The view is actually into the shipping containers that form the service area of the kitchen downstairs. It also overlooks the bike shed. Due to this, I never felt I could have the curtains open and all day and evening we could hear really loudly, kitchen noises and staff. And our room smelt very strongly of dinner smells each afternoon/evening. I found it too unpleasant to spend any time in my room relaxing. So instead we used the guest lounge and went on a lot of ebike rides and hikes. Which are both amazing activities. But we've had a crazy busy year and we were hoping to have a few afternoon naps. And for the price I'm disappointed our room wasnt positioned to make that a comfortable option.
All that being said. I feel like if we had any other room our stay would have been perfect.
Service staff were absolutely amazing, kind, friendly. Breakfast, lunch larder and dinner options were great. Although, fresh cut fruit would have been a lovely healthy option at breakfast. As would bread at the dinner table in the evening. The wine by the bottle was well priced with not a gigantic mark-up.
We loved the rustic industrial feel of the old Hydro building but it would be nice if they cleaned the windows a little more often. They were very dirty. I also noticed lots of dead flies in the lounge area on the floors by the windows too. Other than that the place seemed very clean.
Our check-in and welcome were fantastic and gave us all the information we needed to set us up to take advantage of all the activities in the region.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
コアラ wrote a review Mar 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights at the retreat. The rate is 6 star plus.
However, we feel we were ripped off.

The worst part is meal.
2 meals included daily but we had to be at the dining room at 18:30 sharp and share with other 4 gusts. 40 guests were packed in the small area. No wine is available by glass, guests have to purchase bottles. (we did not have to purchase since the rate included drinks, but other guests have to)
Dining area is very casual, very noisy, and no menu options are given.
Meal quality is very standard nothing special. We felt as if we dined at a dormitory canteen.
We expected more upmarket ambience and flexibility for the rate which we were charged.

We requested to dine in the room for the last night, but was rejected without any consideration. The lady said they would not provide any flexibility to guests.
This arrangement is purely for cost cutting and not for the sake of guests.
We dined at Lake St Clair Lodge nearby which is a 3 star hotel. instead of the hotel. The restaurant is far better than the pumphouse.

The reception did not answer our calls and never called us back.
The reception hours are limited.

If you would like to be ripped off, go for it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumphouse Team, Marketing at Pumphouse Point
Responded 28 Mar 2021
Dear コアラ, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Pumphouse Point. I and our entire team were very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with your stay here – it’s certainly always our intention to provide exceptional value for our guests, so we’re very sorry you left feeling this way. Our team are reviewing your comments to understand how you felt ‘packed in’ to the dining room, as the space was designed to cater for all in-house guests and includes an adjacent lounge area. The dining room is generous in space and exceeds all COVID distancing requirements, which as you would understand is a major departure from normal separation. As the dining room is not open for casual dining it never exceeds our maximum 38 guests at a time, the space is sufficient and legally able to be utilised by double this number. We will investigate further. We do consider all requests carefully, however our current menu isn’t suitable for room service and we are not willing to compromise on the quality, temperature and presentation of our meals. To deliver to The Retreat – being secluded away from the main building – would compromise this. We’re sorry you didn’t consider the alternative options we offered you multiple times. We do have a continuous improvement ethos and our team has met to discuss ways we may improve this part of the experience, and it’s our intention to do so. Our set-menu communal dining (we have never claimed to have a restaurant) is an important part of the experience at Pumphouse Point – it is, and always has been, a part of what so many find special and engaging about our wilderness retreat. We’re sorry it didn’t live up to your expectations. We offer all three melas a day, and the larder lunch is designed for you to be able to take into the wilderness at your leisure. We’re sorry that the stash of Tasmanian cheeses, charcuterie, chocolate, seafood, snacks and warm fresh bread in your room daily didn’t satisfy you as a meal for lunch. As for our honest bar system, having wines by the bottle is in the interest of covid-safety. We do offer single-serve bottles of some wines, and allow guests to take their unfinished bottles back to their room or even back home with them. At bottleshop prices, having wine by the bottle is not something that’s been an issue with our guests before. Our reception is open daily between 8am and 6pm. As mentioned, there are team members in the shorehouse that would have been happy to assist you up until 10pm, and we have an after-hours number available for emergency situations. I am perplexed and sorry that you were not aware of our style and offerings as a Wilderness Retreat as we strive to communicate this to all of our guests in prior to and at arrival including on our website, reservations pages, booking confirmation emails, pre-arrival form, at check-in and via social media. We apologise, and given your expectations were not fulfilled we are working to determine how we could even better communicate this before arriving. We are situated in Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness area, a national park, and have a commitment and philosophy of enabling guests to immerse in this. We provide a range of activity opportunities and I am pleased the team reported you did participate in some of those and enjoyed the experience especially our Retreat e-bikes. We don’t claim to offer any of the things we weren’t able to provide to you, and are careful not to present as a ‘luxury’ property. We’re sorry again you didn’t find the value that we strive to offer as a boutique wilderness retreat which is connection with nature and sharing this with other travellers. We are mortified you felt ‘ripped off’, something we have never been accused of by over 100,000 previous guests. We constantly benchmark and review against similar establishments around Australia in pricing, experience, activities, and food and beverage offerings. Given your remarks we have taken onboard your feedback seriously for further review. Regards, Simon Currant Owner/Managing Director Pumphouse Point
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dazzawot wrote a review May 2021
Canberra, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second stop on our Tasmania trip and probably the most researched in advance. Was slightly concerned re some reviews so will try to be specific to some of those points.

Firstly this is a retreat in a national park so if you are looking for 5 star CBD hotel service this may not be for you. There is no wifi (available if urgently required) and spotty mobile coverage but for the most part ok.

You arrive and are greeted by staff in the Carpark to explain where to park and to take your bags even if there is light rain. You are led to the main house where a introduction of the property is given over a glass of complimentary bubbles. There are 2 times for arrival and you will be texted to see which would suit.

Once completed your are free to go to your room where your bag awaits you.
You can have a room in the main house or my suggestion would be to book a room in the pump house which is located down a causeway and is situated over the lake.
We had room 10 which is on the top floor and also had a deep bath tub. Views were amazing over the lake.

Whether you are in the main house or the pump house , each has break out areas to sit and enjoy the view, fire places and honesty bar.

Rooms I thought were quite large for this type of property, and had a large wet room style bathroom with some of the most amazing shower pressure I have had the pleasure of. Good attention to detail on decor and amenities in the room.

This is a all inclusive booking which includes breakfast, lunch (picnic style, local cheeses and meats) and dinner.
Dinner is served at 6.30 with pre dinner drinks at 6. Drinks is not compulsory but you miss out on a complimentary cocktail.
Dinner is served communal style and you have the chance to meet some of the other guests. Now I generally like my privacy however the feel of the resort, the fire places and generally warm attitude of the staff made me open to mixing.

Drinks are self service and on a honesty system (I know right!!!) and are very modestly priced. No BYO allowed and wine by the bottle only but you can take it back to your room.

When you see the layout of the property you will understand why they don’t offer in room dining and why meals are served at 1 sitting.

The food is not fine dining however good quality Country cooking in a 3 course set menu. Should you not eat a certain food group or have allergies or vegetarian, you can inform them via the pre check in form emailed to you a few days before you arrive.

Some cool little points, ebike hire and row boat hire are complimentary, you can ask for fresh baked bread to be delivered to your room to support your in room picnic.

The feel of this property and the genuine nature of the staff help you relax and enjoy being disconnected from the rush of everyday life.

A truly amazing stay and experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point
Responded 7 May 2021
Hi dazzawot, Thanks so much for the time taken to leave such a detailed review for other travellers. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the unique experience of Pumphouse Point and that you found it a warm and inviting place. We really hope to see you again one day, and safe onward travels! Warm regards, The Pumphouse Point Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taffy T wrote a review Mar 2020
Port Elliot, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed at the Pumphouse for one night before returning to the mainland but pleased we could fit it in. We stayed in a Shorehouse Waterview room that was well fitted out. There were various drinks available and a fridge with what looked to be a more than adequate 'larder'. The room was large enough although a little dark and had the most stunning view out to the lake and Pumphouse itself. The staff were all very obliging and professional. The communal dinner worked well with good bunch of interesting and entertaining guests. The only negative for the whole stay was the food served at dinner. We felt that whoever prepared the dinner was trying too hard and if the food was kept more simple it would have been nicer. One example was a pork belly that just needed to be served slow cooked with good crackling. Unfortunately it came to the table with a sauce baked dry onto it and the rind chewy and for the most part inedible. The pork itself had lost its juiciness. Simple roasts, cooked well I'm sure would go down well. That said, we enjoyed our stay very much - and my wife loved and took photos of the wonderful window covered in cobwebs in the morning light opposite the staircase in the Shorehouse.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicole Kennedy, Marketing at Pumphouse Point
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Hello Taffy, Thanks for the effort you've taken in writing this review - its always great to hear from happy guests! Glad to hear you were able to squeeze one night in and explore the beautiful nooks and crannies around The Shorehouse. I’m very sorry to hear that you didn’t love your dinner with us, and I can assure you this feedback will be passed onto our team for review. We look forward to welcoming you next time. Kindest, Nicole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Hi, All of our suites have a small refrigerator with a freezer at the top, approx 10L sizing. We hope this assists with your planning and that you have a spectacular day!
Answer from closeest
Melbourne, Australia29 contributions1 helpful vote
The attraction of the Pumphouse is the location and local walks, Cradle Mountain is much too far away for a day trip.
Answer from Phil L
Sydney, Australia34 contributions16 helpful votes
You will have to pay for drinks.
Kip71 asked a question Sept 2020
Launceston, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
Do the rooms have an iron in them?
Answer from Michael B
Hobart, Australia12 contributions9 helpful votes
Not in the room but in the common lounge areas. You could take it up to your room. That’s in the actual Pumphouse haven’t stayed on the shore.
FrugalFlashpacker asked a question May 2019
Sydney, Australia743 contributions80 helpful votes
Is it possible to get to pump house without a car from Launceston ?
Answer from Don White
Greater Sydney, Australia292 contributions211 helpful votes
no
Peter T wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Poor acoustics in the dining room. The hard of hearing need their hearing aids. Double check what is complimentary and what is extra. "
Read full review
teenbell wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hobart, Australia48 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"An EV charger is on site. If you have a seniors card you can buy a discounted parks pass from the nearby visitors centre."
Read full review
Peter wrote a tip Mar 2024
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy your surroundings "
Read full review
Steve M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Greater Newcastle, Australia22 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You’re in the wilderness. Good roads but fuel-up before you travel. Limited mobile coverage, so enjoy a few days being off-grid."
Read full review
MrRoutemaster wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cirencester, Gloucestershire70 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you find and visit The Wall sculpture in nearby Derwent Bridge"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
S$476 - S$499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaCradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUMPHOUSE POINT: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 907 Photos (Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pumphouse Point
Which popular attractions are close to Pumphouse Point?
Nearby attractions include The Wall in the Wilderness (4.2 km), Lake St. Clair (2.8 km), and Franklin-Gordon Wild Rivers National Park (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pumphouse Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pumphouse Point?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Pumphouse Point?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pumphouse Point?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pumphouse Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Wombat Cafe, The Wall in the Wilderness Cafe, and Derwent Bridge Wilderness Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pumphouse Point?
Yes, guests have access to a yoga room during their stay.
Does Pumphouse Point have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Pumphouse Point accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park HotelsCradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Pumphouse Point
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire