We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

I simply hate providing negative feedback on Tripadvisor. I have so many great experiences. This was most definitely not one of them. The simple point is the lady managing the bookings was rude and defiant when I attempted to cancel my booking. She glossed over the wording used on a prominent page on their website and quoted the fine print...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimLoane
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The owner at reception was exceptionally rude, authoritative and bossy from the start. The rooms were SO clean and organised, we were afraid to use anything for fear we would be charged for the privelige; re-inforced by numerous signs throughout the unit. My advice; travel 20 minutes up the road to Bronte Park and get the same unit for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barkb
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed in Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios for a 3 night stay. Prior to this stay we'd stayed previously some years back and enjoyed that stay also. The units are well appointed, modern, very clean and have very comfortable beds. The apartments are well centred to enjoy all the interests that the Derwent Bridge area has to offer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewrostron
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, good facilities, comfortable, warm and clean, however the lady at the reception had very poor customer service, was rude and had a poor attitude. A simple smile would have gone a long long way. Unfortunately this killed our otherwise pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

while the accommodation was definitely adequate it was the attitude of the woman on reception was hard to take. This was the first time we had been limited to how to use wifi. Only one item could be connected and the receptionist had to enter the password [which was wrong] unlike nearly every where else we visited

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
Perentie, Public Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Most accommodation has access to cheap broadband and NBN internet. Those of us located in the more remote areas must rely on expensive mobile internet. We offer internet to our guests for checking emails, bookings etc but are unable to support general browsing. We are only able to offer a limited amount so that all guests can have access and...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Ida. Very clean, lovely fresh linen and very comfortable. Even though this is on the highway it was very quiet, we didn't hear a single vehicle. We walked the 700m to the Hotel for an excellent dinner and chose the in house continental breakfast supplies which was fine. Great base for walking as it has a washer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve F
Perentie, Public Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

We are pleased that you were comfortable and peaceful during your stay to maximize your enjoyment of our beautiful Central Highlands.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Our studio was spotless and perfectly appointed. The bed was heavenly, the cabin readily heated and cosy, the shower excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to give 5 stars, but the receptionist/manager Louise was rude, abrasive and hostile. We did as directed and dropped the keys off in the box, rather than encounter her again.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank greenway255060
Blue Mountains
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean very well maintained place, but reception lady Louise very rude from the time of making the booking to the time we checked out. Rather spoilt our stay. We would rather find another place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank bloomingfield
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Loved it here. we had lot of snow viewed from ample windows. it was so warm and cosy with excellent heating. The cabins are nestled in the bush, very private each with little verandah. Very handy to the Lodge and the Hungry Wombat Cafe is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curlew01
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and experienced highland snow also! Thank you for choosing our business and we hope to have you visit again.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The Staff were extremely welcoming & had us in our chalet in no time. Plenty of advice on what to see locally & where to dine. The chalet was very comfortable as were the beds. It was unseasonably cold whilst we were there but were toasty warm with the in room heating. Plenty of parking available with good access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Perentie, Public Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

We are pleased you were comfortable during your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.8 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
324 reviews
1.5 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
341 reviews
21.5 km away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
25.5 km away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $183 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go up the road to Bronte Park Chalets!”
 of 5 bubbles Barkb, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are good however we had one at the back it maybe quieter”
 of 5 bubbles andrewrostron, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets are varying layout but close to each other.”
 of 5 bubbles I4862AMbrianb, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You cannot pick a good room; they don't have any.”
 of 5 bubbles sybilsch, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“A range of cabins accommodating couples to families is available. Best check their home page to decide what suits your needs”
 of 5 bubbles 234leslies, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay