We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Bairnsdale
Reviewed 9 October 2016

For our time visiting the Freycinet National Park, we booked at the Big 4 being members. We had booked a "Superior" cabin, which was for 6 guests, and not much about the accommodation was "superior". The word gives the impression of something special or out of the ordinary, it was not. The cabin was reasonably modern, and well appointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your cabin. We tried to differentiate the park cabins with the terms standard and superior as the superior ones have a queen compared to the double in standard and the superior are newer units, obviously we may need to change our wording.

Melb VIC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We travelled in our camper van from Hobart to Freycinet and were very happy with what we found. The check in was very helpful and we were issued a very spacious site for our 4 berth van ( approx 6m) we were in Eel Walk which was a stones throw to amenities block and BBQ area and playground. The amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happybananas
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Modern, extremely comfortable & well appointed, equipped cabins. Outstanding views over Oyster Bay, appropriately named due to the delicious oysters available just up the road - if you love your oysters, the oyster farm is a MUST visit ( crayfish is also available at the right time of the year !) Then head on down to Wine Glass Bay Cruises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Wow, sounds like you had a fabulous holiday on the Freycinet peninsula,taking advantage and enjoying all this beautiful area has to offer. Hope to see you return another day. Kind Regards, The Manager

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to camp or van. We camped. Toilets very clean and awesome shower facilities. Right next to the bakery which is also handy. Has a BBQ area if needed. Sites are grassed and even with easy access to power and water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotty W
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Scotty, We are very happy you had an enjoyable stay, & found everything to be conveniently located, in our small picturesque village of Coles Bay. Appreciate you submitting feedback. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Staying here on a school tour we found the cabins to have ample room. A family of four to six will be confirtable in the large cabins. With a good size kitchen and clean ammenities one can easily stay here for a tour of the wonderful surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed in a reasonably new cabin which was nicer than expected, was comfortable with adequate heating, however the elecric blanket did not work and the quilt on the queen bed wasn't warm enough so we borrowed a spare of one of the bunks. Park could do with some updating, the kids felt the playground was a bit daggy. O.k...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Q6647YGlisab
J0hn_Shar0n, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. It is always helpful to us to get customer feedback and if guests don't report such faults as electric blanket not working we wouldn't be aware. We are also looking to update our playground with some new equipment prior to summer, sorry it wasn't there for your children.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Centrally located, clean, warm and the price really suited our purpose! Close to the tavern, bakery, supermarket this Big 4 ticks all the boxes. Friendly / helpful check in staff made the experience positive.Beds all have electric blankets to ensure a cosy night!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you very much for your feedback we really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and all round experience at Iluka, & welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Front Office Manager

Melbourne
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Lovely area and clean cabins. However only comfy seating was a single padded kitchen bench seat to view T.V. Poor T.V. connection and heating in cabin early September was inadequate. Imagine would be fine in summer time. Would return in warm weather only. Only free internet was in office. There was only 2 of us so could get extra blanket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for submitting a review. Yes, our TV connection is sometimes poor due to our remote location. If you found the heating to be inadequate we would have gladly given you another heater. Glad you liked the area & hope to see you return another day. Kind Regards, Manager

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Nice place where to stay, we had a share cottage with a small kitchen and tv. The place is cool, close to the beach and to Freycinet park. We were there in the end of August, there was a small heater inside the cottage but it wasn't big enough to warm up the place.. So during the night was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leighton M
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to submit feedback for your stay. What a shame you did not request an extra heater or blankets if you were cold, we don't like our guests to be cold! There have been some particularly cold nights this winter in Tassie. Happy Travelling Front Office Manager

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the lady at reception who offered a few tips on things to do whilst we were here which was nice. Top location, close to the couple of shops and pub. Only a short drive to the National Park and waterfront restaurant. Accommodation was cosy and peaceful. Would definitely go back here in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KBrown008
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Greetings from Big4 Iluka, Many thanks for taking the time to submit feedback, it is very much appreciated. Happy to hear you enjoyed your Coles Bay experience in every way, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Kind Regards, General Manager

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
27.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
18.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
392 reviews
2.5 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
342 reviews
2.2 km away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
480 reviews
7.5 km away
Freycinet Eco Retreat
Freycinet Eco Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: $125 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Having a self-contained Cabin was worth paying extra”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of options for accommodation here ranging from camping to hostel to luxury holiday apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles wildpoppy_8, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 2 Bedroom Holiday unit if you are a family, the other cabins are too small.”
 of 5 bubbles markkarenr, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DrAbhijitDas, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin with view to the bay, or in a quieter area.”
 of 5 bubbles Waratah10, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay