We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bears Went Over The Mountain

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bears Went Over The Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 37: English reviews
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015

This B & B has three rooms. The two that were allocated to us were quite small but both had en suites, which once again were rather small. Upon arrival our rooms were warm as was the welcome from our host. Included in the $120 per room tariff was a continental breakfast which was adequate, without being anything special (limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip8789
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We were sorry to see room size did not meet your expectations, the rooms each have a private ensuite and are similar if not larger than the average hotel room. We think they are quite comfortable and were sorry to read of your disappointment. WiFi is available in all areas of...

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Booked a romantic weekend (Easter Sunday) for wife and I. I became very ill and was required to proceed straight to hospital. Called in to inform owner knowing full well no refund would be forthcoming, only to inform them of my situation and they may then be able to re rent room. gave them our paid up paperwork at that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael F
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Made to feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Bit of a different set up which meant the women in the party could shop whilst the men had a glass of wine! Rooms were comfortable, showers hot and good continental breakfast. Ross was very knowledgeable about the area and gave good advice on where to visit. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CozzersinOz
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for the feedback, it is most appreciated.

rotherham,england
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Due to family problems Ross had to look after us while doing his normal daytime job,and a grand fist he made of it.His father-in-law let us in and showed us to our room and explained about the teddy bears.We were just about to have a sandwich when Ross came home and said hello,and after telling about the crash we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royj
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind feedback.

Sydney
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

Good base from which to do the Tahune Airwalks from. We dined at the Kermandie pub 5 kms or so for dinner as meals weren't available at that time at the B & B. The rooms were very nicely decorated & bathrooms equally so. I am not normally too keen on B & B's as I am 60 & prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobynBSydney
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2015

This was my first B&B experience and I loved it. Great hostess - Leanne - who was friendly, informative and welcoming. The room was cosy, clean and private with a pleasant sitting area on a covered verandah. So much potential here and looks like the right people are working toward making it a successful little business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle S
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We have just spent 3 nights at 'The Bears' in Geeveston in the family room (Steiff). We would highly recommend it to others. Our room was immaculately neat and clean, the beds comfortable and Leanne and Ross were excellent hosts; going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and to help us when one of our children was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilli A
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We chose Geeveston in order to access the Hartz Mountain National Park, which has some stunning walks. We stayed in the Chiltern Suite at the Bears...as with many old homesteads the natural lighting was low in the room, however the modern bathroom was well lit, spacious and pristine. The room was cosy but fine for our purposes, I suspect the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gulliford101
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved "the Bear" and highly recommend staying and dining. Our room was cosy and warm, the bed was divine and the spa bubbled beautifully. Great location - artisans, craftsmen, op-shop aiding Cambodia and platypus watching in strolling distance. We had a delicious Tassie produce and wine driven dinner, ready at a tap on our door, provided with expertise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asialover99
Diamond Beach
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stopped in at the cafe for lunch today and had the tastiest home cooked food we have had in a long time. Great hearty servings of locally produced foods at a reasonable price. A great addition to Geeveston, friendly owners. I wish them well in their new business. We will be back again for a feed and will recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddyDiamondBeach

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
0.3 km away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
18.5 km away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 4 in Dover
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
70 reviews
3.8 km away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
41 reviews
2.8 km away
Kermandie Hotel
Kermandie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Huon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bears Went Over The Mountain

Address: 2 Church Street, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Geeveston
Price Range: $111 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bears Went Over The Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Bears Went Over The Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bears Went Over The Mountain staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bears Went Over The Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles abigail2567, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the spa.”
 of 5 bubbles Phillip8789, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The spa room was tops!”
 of 5 bubbles 297elles, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Dont bother - rooms are not as what you book and confirm!”
 of 5 bubbles 472LindaT472, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Go to the forest air walk at Geeveston”
 of 5 bubbles ReganandBobC, 28 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay