We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Huon Bush Retreats

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Huon Bush Retreats
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I got here because all hotels in Hobart were full and my travel agent had made a mistake. Arriving in the middle of the night when you are worn out is not the best way of arriving and taking it in. Once I got some rest and reassurance about what was happening, I started seeing the beauty of the place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location was amazing, close encounters with the wildlife. The catering was simple but second 2 none. Our only comment was that the accommodation was extremely tired. The direction to guests on house rules and expectations were excessively direct, dictatorial and u unwelcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacman101
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The road into this accommodation is dangerously steep and narrow. Beochures at gate warn visitors about dangers of ths road. Accommodation - warning you need to boil drinking water to make sure it is safe. Chemical smelly toilet. Rooms are run down and shabby. Horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66lapwing
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hello 66lapwing, Interesting that you rate our property so differently from the vast majority of all visitors. We understand that an eco responsible nature experience does not suit everyone. Our 167 four and five star reviews are from people who seek nature, peace and quiet and chemical free lifestyle, in a carbon positive forest setting. These people love it here....

Lake Cargelligo, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After several nights of hiking and camping we decided to treat ourselves to some luxury accommodation in the Streamside cabin. The serenity and isolation of the cabin was exactly what we were after, with lush forest views from inside and from the outdoor bath where you can enjoy the slow transition into the beautiful starry night with the sound of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HughnMel
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hi HughnMel, Thanks so much for sharing your experience at Huon Bush Retreats with the TripAdvisor Community. Clearly, our reasons for building this experience and your reasons for choosing to stay here have matched perfectly. Your review will help other like minded people choose and enjoy these experiences also. We hope to see you again sometime. Cheers Paul D

Northcote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 nights during the summer and had a wonderful holiday. We have two sons, aged 5 and 8, and they loved the activities that were easily accessible from Buttongrass Retreat- the cave, thermal pool, train, beaches and bushwalking. The accommodation itself is very well set up and the bath on the deck an absolute highlight. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M P
PaulHVE, Manager at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

G'Day M P Thanks for visiting Buttongrass Retreat, near Hastings Caves in Far South Tasmania. As you discovered, this spacious 2-bedroom cabin is perfect for a family. Reading between the lines of your review, it looks like you took the Ida Bay Railway, then walked to the Beach at Southport Lagoon. A lovely day out. Maybe keep us in mind...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic site to stay! We used this as a base while travelling around the Hobart area. About an hour to Hobart but what a relaxing drive and feeling of being remote. The facilities are phenomenal and better than expected, the guys are great with their care and conversation. They picked up quickly on our background and gave us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2950VAgrahamw
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hi VAgrahamw, Glad that you enjoyed your visit to Ranelagh General Store and your stay with us at Huon Bush Retreats. There is certainly lots to do around here and being an hour from Hobart, Bruny Island, Airwalk, or Hartz Mountains, yes, a great base. Thanks for your visit and review Paul D

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: Great value for money at $30 per site for 1 night during peak christmas period. We stayed recently in our camper van here. The site was separate to everyone else (except the wildlife which was amazing), which we really liked. Very unique for a camper van site. Toilets clean and there is a outdoor bath you can pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryTransporter
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hi Terry, Thanks for your visit and review. Glad that you liked the individual campsites, each in its own forest setting. Looks like the views, nature and sanctuary were also pluses for you. The cleaners are supposed to clean the bath each day. If they missed the day you were here, I apologize for that. Or maybe it was a...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were expecting more services / comfort for the price, especially in the kitchen : we have been able to find cheaper accommodations (cabins, cottages) with excellent comfort and services during our 2 weeks road trip in Tasmania. The teepee concept was attractive, but we were globally disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank degoneaoz
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

G'Day natacha, Yes, you can certainly find cheaper accommodations, yes, you can find more comfort and yes, you can find more services. However nowhere else will you find such a true nature experience and eco-responsibility. The price that we charge includes wildlife without cages, protected forest, walks to a waterfall and mountaintop, all in an operation that is 3800 tonnes...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

Don't expect anything luxurious from the accommodation. The cabin's facilities are minimal with only a fireplace as heater and a basic kitchen and toilet, But it is located in a beautiful area surround by gorgeous trees and hiking trails. Don't miss this one if you are there for only a couple of days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daan H
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hi Daan, Thanks for your review, glad that you enjoyed the "...gorgeous trees and hiking trails...". Our self contained cabins provide eco-responsible comfort. The wood fired heaters are carbon neutral, as we grow more wood than we burn. Furnishings consist of queen bed (some cabins also have extra bunks), 2 full sized sofas, dining table, outdoor setting. Kitchen has full...

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We enjoyed a lovely night relaxing in the outdoor bath under a starry sky, watching the satellites cross overhead and a couple of shooting stars!! We even had a visit from some of the local and quite friendly wildlife!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelalex2017
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review

Hi michaelalex, Glad you enjoyed our outdoor bath. This really is a lovely way to spend an evening. The view from Clifftop Cabin bath is even more spectacular when the Southern Aurora is happening. Thanks for your visit and review, Paul D

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
37.2 km away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 4 in Dover
122 reviews
6.3 km away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
67 reviews
7.2 km away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
24 reviews
6.9 km away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
9.6 km away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self contained cabins, tipees and campground in an extensive private habitat reserve, 50 minutes south from Hobart. Relax, explore, experience, nature. We live up to our name as a true retreat. Privacy is protected by 4km winding gravel road, 12 volt solar electricity, interpreted bushwalks and wildlife onsite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Huon Bush Retreats

Address: 300 Browns Rd | Ranelagh, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Price Range: $126 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huon Bush Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Huon Bush Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huon Bush Retreats staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont be swayed by website.”
 of 5 bubbles 66lapwing, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Both tipees are as good as each other. Tipee east is closer to the camp kitchen. Both tipees are only 1 minute walk from the toilet/shower facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles 430meganc, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had clifftop cabin which provided fabulous views down the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles susiej127, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A few more matching wine glasses, how about a few apples from the local area?”
 of 5 bubbles susansQ6311BH, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stock up with food and drink at Huonville (comprehensive retail choice) or Dover (small shop) en route!”
 of 5 bubbles 881pamelah, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5