We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woolmers Estate

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Woolmers Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Woolmers Estate
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lot of history. We stayed on the Easter so things were closed but we managed a walk around. Cottage was comfortable and beds great. Loved the wood fire and the cottage was warm once the fire was lit. Enjoyed the bath. Only downfall was that we would have liked more cooking utensils to use and maybe some salt and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide Tripper
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us so we can make improvements for our guests to enjoy their stay. Thank you for your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit here, stepping back in time and seeing a large collection of farm buildings, old machines and the wonderful convict built home. You need to book for a tour which can be done at on arrival in order to see the interior of the house. Allow plenty of time as the rose gardens are also well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hammo_12
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your positive thoughts on your visit Woolmers.

Nerang, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

If you only have time for one heritage mansion, take half a day to see this one. Still privately owned by the family so is open every day and the guides are excellent. So much very interesting history, an impressive collection of furniture and paintings, lots of buildings to go through all with their own history, the Tasmanian Rose Gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

The new Visitor Centre has been built in the way when you enter the Estate at the new entrance the building cannot be seen until you get to the car park. A lot of planning and thought has gone into the landscaping and materials used for the building so that we do keep the charm and beauty of the Estate....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 February 2017

An amazing historical journey of the area, a farming dynasty that has been in the same family (the Archers) for 6 to 7 generations. The property was at its peak some 34,000 acres. The house also had a visit from British Royalty. The people staffing the property are volunteers who are passionate about the property and its history. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KymP63
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and lovely comments about your recent visit to Woolmers Estate. Our guides are very passionate and such comments are very rewarding. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards, Admin

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed here for only one night but would have happily stayed there for a few nights. Its a different experience than staying in a hotel up at Launceston. Both my wife and l enjoyed our time in the cottage and the freedom of walking around the grounds after closing time. My daughter will be going to Tasmania with her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated walking around the grounds and gardens at your own leisure. Hopefully your daughter enjoys her stay as much as you have.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Our family stayed at the Coachman's Cottage at Woolmers Estate for 3 nights and we have mixed reviews. This was built in 1847 so you need to be aware of that before you stay, don't be thinking luxury, modern facilities. We had 3 large bedrooms up steep, creaky stairs where 6 could sleep. Downstairs was a huge kitchen, toilet, bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71Kellie
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and we will continue to work hard to maintain the buildings upkeep. Some young people appreciate old Heritage buildings but as you are aware not all young people are the same. Even though your daughter wasn't that keen at least she has had the experience. Thank you for staying with us and glad you gave us...

Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We drove here especially to see the rose garden as it is the National rose garden and the estate is a world heritage listed site. I could not have been more disappointed. The gardens were in a shocking state, full of weeds, dead plants and roses that hadn't had a good prune for a few years. Having visited rose gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan H
South West Rocks, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Having lived at Coachmans 23 years ago and raising my sons (Single dad) there up till 1994 I had decided to book Woolmers as a treat for my boys and as a surprise for my youngest sons (birthday 24th Dec) My idea was to have quality time with my wife (of 8 years) for the first 2 days and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieDaveDavis
Woolmers E, General Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry to hear your recent visit to Woolmers Estate did not meet your expectations. We have an onsite Caretaker, with a dedicated telephone number, to attend to such issues promptly when they arise. The phone number is in the compendium located in each self-contained cottage. You have been contacted directly by the General Manager and your...

Russell, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2016

You simply must take the guided house tour as the grounds and gardens are so unloved and uncared for...they are such a disappointment, esp. The poor condition of the roses in the heritage garden and this is NOV. when they should look amazing! The house however, is another storey altogether...much loved and so authentic. Our guide was just so knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hopeave
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

Its nice to hear you enjoyed your guided house tour of the main house and disappointed you didn't enjoy the gardens. Unfortunately we have had so much rain through winter and spring. All the rain has affected the blooming of the roses this year. The gardens are very much loved by one particular volunteer. Through lots of hard work and...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Norma was our very informative guide for the homestead and even on a cold wet day we had a delightful time and learnt a lot about the history behind Woolmers Estate. The homestead is full of amazing furniture and everyday items and hearing the history behind various pieces and the story of the 6 generations of the family was fabulous....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmeg2016
Woolmers E, Front Office Manager at Woolmers Estate, responded to this review

We are very lucky to have such passionate and very well trained guides here at Woolmers. The guides spend countless hours researching the history of the Family, the homestead and of the Estate. We are so glad you appreciate the rich history we have here at Woolmers and happy you enjoyed your visit. Maybe you could come and stay with...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
21.3 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
16.0 km away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
719 reviews
20.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,294 reviews
1.7 km away
Brickendon Estate
Brickendon Estate
#3 of 5 in Longford
59 reviews
4.2 km away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woolmers Estate is a World Heritage listed convict property. We have fully-self contained Heritage accommodation on site. To view the main Historical Homestead we offer guided homestead tours at special scheduled tour times. Self guided tours of the outbuildings, grounds and gardens are also on offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woolmers Estate

Address: 658 Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Price Range: $110 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woolmers Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woolmers Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woolmers Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay here, just visited for the afternoon”
Hopeave, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Coopers cottage is beautiful!”
  • Coopers Cottage!
srinivasr43, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask what work is going on at the site before booking a room.”
Q55VXpaulw, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if all are 2 storey - not good for people who can't climb the staircase.”
Evie2011, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I would expect all the cottages to be equally quiet.”
allanalderson, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
CheapTickets
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates