We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reviews prewarned us that this hotel was clean but tired. They are in the process of modernising the Hotel and we took a refurbished room ( at additional cost). It was tastefully done with everything fresh and modern including new bedding. Bathroom was upgraded and had a great shower. It was limited to a small shower cubicle by the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on the way to Hobart.And it was almost night,so need to rest before we continue.We already check other hotels but this one was most suit for us.So There was not so many staff work in here.We were surprised to meet the same person in 3 different venue.In the reception,in the room (to bring us the extra bed) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nenycute
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. Pleased you had an enjoyable stay on your way to Hobart.

Hamilton, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn't say it would be my first choice again. Got a budget room,so what that means we don't get clean bathrooms. I could see dirt on the grout in the shower, cant say I have seen many shower curtains in motels in this day and age, don't want to see again either. A room where you have to go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 384jack
Blackheath
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

A disappointing venue with mixed conditions. While the public venues on the ground floor are fine, it was a different situation on the top floor where we were located. While clean, our room clearly needed maintenance, as did the corridor. Dissapointingly at breakfast we were entertained by a staff member vacuuming the breakfast area. No wifi is available on site...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnkeithpettit
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Hotel in a great location, the room was clean and had everything we needed and the staff were good. In need of renovation, but it's a work in progress and some rooms more modern. Limited places to eat in the area so we choose to eat in the hotel, big mistake, on the coast we expected fresh seafood, the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Olliebar2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Do not stay here! As soon as we arrived in our room we knew we made a mistake. Unfortunately we had already paid. The first room on the ground floor was so old, dated and small we were shocked. The bed was too short for my 6ft 3 husband so we had to 'upgrade'. The second 'honeymoon suite' was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah P
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay with us. A couple of points we'd like to raise though: * the room you were booked into is exactly the same size as all our other rooms-that type of room is sold as having a double bed and has a garden view as it is on the ground floor; *...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Don't even think about staying here. Make the effort to drive to the next accommodation. I had 9 workers staying here (myself included) under the workers package! Meals were pathetic! Dry meat and veg! Not one happy man amongst us! Two didn't eat dinner because a filled in voucher needed to be handed over at the time of ordering the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirk P
sbrh, Owner at Scamander Beach Hotel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Why not mention about the many complaints that we had (and brought to your attention) whilst you were in the Bistro about the fowl language & loud noise by some of your workers? Those complaints continued from other guests after your group went to the rooms. As you have stayed here before...

Jamberoo, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2017

A very comfortable room with nice views of the sea and inlet.. Meal was good. A pity the male proprietor decided to berate a member of staff in front of customers in the Restaraunt. From earlier comments to us about the choice of salad and/or chips with certain meals he had not read nor understood the menu. This appeared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The accommodation is okay and the staff that checked us in were friendly and helpful but in Scamander there is really only one place to eat and that is downstairs in the hotel bistro. We ordered the fish of the day (flathead) expecting it to be fresh, well I have thawed out frozen fish from my freezer that was 6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie R
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Definitely 2 to 3 ⭐️. Such a lovely position however it's time for a major revamp and clean up. Still locked in the 70's. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was very basic. It was great to have an elevator to the 3rd floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mummygirl58

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel motel is positioned on Tasmania's mild, sunny east coast within easy access of beautiful sandy beaches. Relax on your own balcony or enjoy a swim in our pool; sit in our gardens with a good book or discover native wildlife in close-by nature reserves. Daily meals of lunch and dinner are available from our family bistro and bar. Our Ocean View and River View rooms provide spectacular panoramic views from private balconies of the ocean and Scamander River. Our garden rooms open onto a secure children's play area and gardens, ideal for relaxing while watching the children play. Off-street parking and a guest laundry are also on site. We have a well stocked bottle-shop, Keno & UBET, available in both the Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Address: 158 - 164 Scamander Avenue, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Price Range: $111 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scamander Beach Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Scamander Beach Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scamander Beach Hotel Scamander
Best Western Scamander
Scamander Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scamander Beach Hotel Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have ocean views, the higher floors are better”
Jan_n_Glenn, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pick somewhere else”
384jack, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 50 which was good”
B8436SPjohng, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms face the ocean.”
W9891TPkevint, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The River View rooms have been modernised and nice. Dont go the ocean view rooms. Terrible queen bed. Very dated.”
YClayton, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5