We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Beachside Retreat West Inlet
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

This is our third trip to the cottages, and we never get tired of them. They are nestled in amongst dunes right on the beach so are more peaceful than you can imagine. The view goes on forever and you can walk for miles on secluded beaches without seeing another person. Our hosts were just lovely to deal with, helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puggle01
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

we were party of 6 , 4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, me and my husband stayed at the sea eagle cabin, well , shouldn't call it a cabin, cause it's practically a one bedroom apartment, complete with a full kitchen and very good size living room. The kitchen was so well equipped plus an outdoor BBQ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana Y
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This was a perfect way to spend our last two days holidaying in Tasmania. The unit was immaculate and stylish too. The location is perfect, quiet and secluded. We can't think of anything to improve. The artistic touches in the decor of the cabin really enhanced the feel of the place. The manager was friendly and informative about local attractions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My partner and I stayed at the Luxury Beach House with Spa Pool (Sea Eagle) for two nights. The house is in such a beautiful location with lovely views of the beach. Unfortunately, our stay was far from luxury. The first thing I did when I arrived was find the dust pan and broom to sweep up dead blow flies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bear15162
Management response:

Thank you for your review, i am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As i recall it has been a month since your stay, i wish you had come to see me personally or at least let me know that our accommodation wasn't up to your standard whilst you were here. we have offered you compensation, obviously this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Reception on arrival for the four day stay was non existent with the unit left open and key on the kitchen bench. We immediately stepped onto kangaroo/animal droppings on the entry steps. They were everywhere. Not a nice start. Inside windows filthy with grime and years of dirt in every window ledge but views overlooking a stunning beach. We stepped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike G
Management response:

Mike thank you so much for your review. Seeing we were in contact every day, i wish you had made your complaints direct to myself. 2 days prior to your arrival, i contacted you regarding the reception hours and apologising for not being here to greet you. you seemed fine with my detailed description on how to get to your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My partner and I spent 8 nights here over Christmas 2016 in the Oystercatcher cabin. We were looking for a quiet retreat to spend a Christmas break, and this property delivered completely. We booked in August 2016, shortly after the property changed hands, which caused a bit of nervousness. The previous owners lived on site; the new owners live overseas,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Stayed for 1 night in the Sandpiper unit. Comments relevant to this unit style. The location is very quiet with views of the water and access to the beach for walks. Individually designed units well spaced from each other. Inside the cabin was self contained with a basic kitchenette and cooking utensils. there was a heater that wormed the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
Latrobe, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Sandpiper cabin. Nice and clean, the heater kept us warm in the cold weather we had. Right next to the beach and 5min from Stanley. Would be happy to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stredda
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Peaceful, relaxing, private and warm and comfortable. Jeanette made us feel very welcomed and we could not fault our accommodation it was perfect. Only negative is that our stay wasn't long enough. We hope to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tammy S
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review

Hi Tammy S, Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is lovely to have appreciative guests. We try very hard to please everyone who stays here, but sometimes this is not easy. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes Janette.

Kangaroo Island
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Fantastic quirky cottages with private beach frontage. We stayed for two nights in Sand Piper cottage, an interesting architecualy designed building. Most of the cottages are different and separated sufficiently to give your own privacy. Friendly and hospitable hosts although they have sold up and are moving on. The only negative thing if you could call it that was the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 850bone

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
4.0 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
181 reviews
14.6 km away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
277 reviews
3.4 km away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
173 reviews
3.8 km away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
120 reviews
4.3 km away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Price Range: $138 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachside Retreat West Inlet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beachside Retreat West Inlet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not serviced”
 of 5 bubbles Bear15162, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The houses further from the homestead seem to attract more animals.”
 of 5 bubbles dhongkong, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“We thought all the cabins looked to be well situated.”
 of 5 bubbles travelsafe52, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great view”
 of 5 bubbles judyolds50, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All good and secluded”
 of 5 bubbles DenysJ49, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5