We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8390 E Northshore Blvd, Marblehead, OH 43440-1059
Hotels.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 7 Specialty lodging in Marblehead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Thirty-one cottages situated on 4 wooded acres with marina & pool. Tiki bar at pool is byob. Pet friendly rooms feature 2 bedrooms with sleeping for 4-8 people. Many sleep up to 15 for large groups of fishermen or family reunions. Charcoal grills, picnic tables at each cottage & games such as horse shoes and corn hole. Fire pit & volley ball. Free wifi, cable & a/c.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
45Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cindy Heinlen wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We just got back from a long weekend at the cottages. We were a little apprehensive with the reviews we read but decided to try it for ourselves. We went with 4 teenagers and had an absolutely fantastic time. Sandy and Steve were more than accommodating and helped us any way they could without hesitation. I think the problem people have is following the rules which are very simple. This is a business and they have to set basic rules so that everyone can enjoy themselves and take advantage of the things they offer ie: great clean fish cleaning house that they provide, docks, pool and clean quiet accommodations. Maybe some people just need to be adults
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan R wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions6 helpful votes
Our room was dated. The “general manager” Steve, ( this is what he told us his title is) was rude and treated us disrespectfully when we had done nothing wrong. Many others have detailed their experiences so it is not necessary for me to do so. The owner of the property clearly condones Steve’s Behavior. I am amazed the owner of the property supports someone on their team being such a bully/power monger. This property has the potential to be a great family friendly property! We will not stay here again. Unfortunately Steve has ruined this for many people. These issues are with Steve, but more so with the owner who allows Steve to do this!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
michaelcotter76 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jackson, Wisconsin5 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our 3rd year staying here. Wanted to rebook the same cottage. They said no they booked the cottage with someone else and rebooked us in a smaller cottage. So much for keeping us happy! Then, they over charged us for an extra person and charged my credit card without any notification. Good thing I caught it. I then had to spend 4 hours disputing. Also, the men in charge act like they are doing the customer a favor. They walk around policing the place and the customers feel like they are walking on eggshells. RUDE PEOPLE! If you want to feel appreciated after paying 2000 a week stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
stevenbush wrote a review Jun 2022
Fennville, Michigan5 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent 6 days fishing at little Ted's. Great stay. New fish cleaning station. Great crowd. Sandy and Steve took great care of everything. Thank you. Kept the boat at the marina. Nice ,have been going here for years plan on going there for my fishing trip there forever. Highly recommend staying there
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matt wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I APOLOGIZE FOR THE LENGTH OF THIS REVIEW BUT PLEASE READ TO THE END!! I left Little Ted's Cottages this morning, 5/16/22 AND I WILL NEVER GO BACK!! I have been reserving cottages multiple times per year at Little Ted's for the last 3 years. Their location is, fortunately for them ideal, and this weekend they exploited this to an unacceptable level! When I first booked in 2019, I had read the reviews about how horrible the management, especially Steve, the facilities manager, was to the customers but I decided to book anyways because as a fisherman I wanted the prime location. After spending 8-12 hours on the water, a convenient location is valuable and with the knowledge of past reviews I managed to steer clear of any issues (although walking on eggshells when you are shelling out $200+ per night for a shower and bed is frustrating to say the least)! In order to accommodate us for our current 3 night stay, a reservation that was made in February, we would need to move from one cottage to another on Sunday morning. Not an issue, so we thought. We got out on the water at 5:00am so that we could be back and get our belongings out of the cottage before the required 11:00am move out time. We arrived at the dock at 10:15am, unloaded our fish from the boat in our own container and dropped them at the fish cleaning station which is on the way from the dock to the cabin. We completed the move out from our initial cottage so that it could be cleaned for the next arrival and since the new room was not yet ready we decided to clean our fish as we waited. To our surprise, after approximately 30 minutes, when we got back to the fish cleaning station our container of fish was nowhere to be found! Steve and Jim were there working on upgrading the cleaning tables and when asked, they both claimed to have not seen the fish nor having any idea where they might be. Clearly frustrated, we started looking around the area for the fish and after a few minutes we found them hidden in the maintenance building which is on the back side of the fish cleaning station. When confronted with the evidence, Steve immediately became very defensive and aggressive toward us and said that he had no idea how the fish would have gotten there or who might have put them there but that we were out of line if we were accusing him of such an act! After a few minutes of very tense conversation with Steve he informed us that we were done! That we would "NEVER AGAIN BE WELCOME AT LITTLE TED'S COTTAGES!! Unfortunately, this is where things get very interesting. We spoke with Sandy who manages the office and reservations about the incident, and she had no reaction, neither positive nor negative let alone an apology or offer to try to make things right. We noticed that there were security cameras prominent in the area of the fish cleaning station/maintenance building so we asked her to review them. As we expected, she claimed to be unable to do so and simply stated that she would like to speak to Steve about the situation. Nothing more was said to us by anyone from the establishment for the remainder of our stay. Clearly this kind of behavior is common by management and acceptable by ownership of Little Ted's Cottages. My cell phone is on file and I would welcome a call from the owner directly if he would like to discuss this unfortunate situation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mark wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We found out the hard way, small print, cancellations due to weather are not refundable. The management could care less if you stayed there or not, completely oblivious to the guests. Rooms are old and dated but in good repair. Parking is a little tight but doable. you get what you pay for, not going to stay there next year. Spectrum TV was out for the entire visit, no mention of comp for no TV.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Miclau, Owner at Little Ted's Cottages
Responded 27 Apr 2022
We regret that you did not have an enjoyable time during your stay with us. The weather in our area is very unpredictable in mid-April and would encourage you to visit our area later in the summer. It is our policy to not refund due to bad weather as this is very much out of our control. Regarding the cable television, as you state, we have been in contact with our cable provider every day since we opened trying to resolve a seemingly undiagnosable problem. Nevertheless, thank you for your business and the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hokyboy wrote a review Sep 2021
burlington washington8 contributions
Omg what a great place I loved it we fished we partied the managers steve and sandy were amazing they are so cool absolutely the best bang for the buck they were super helpful great knowledge of the area sandy is a saint helped my wife we definitely will be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mma310 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We planned to stay 2 nights - the room was disgusting- bugs everywhere! it’s not renovated- even though they advertise it as such -beds weee awful- they double charged me on the number of people staying and we left a day early!!!! Horrible management- you can’t get a hold of anyone-
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
stevenbush wrote a review Jun 2021
Fennville, Michigan5 contributions2 helpful votes
I have been going to little Ted's on my yearly walleye fishing trips for several years .I love the place.they have everything you need.marina to dock your boat,but if you don't want to the launch is 1/2 mile away,fish cleaning station.thats huge to have that.parking for boat and truck.the cabins are great for staying in.i see negative stuff about the manager but I happen to like having him around to keep things in order.some people think it's a drinking village and they happen to fish.just because you rent a cabin for a week doesn't entitle you to do what ever you want.i plan on going back to little Ted's every year till I'm not here anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Miclau, Owner at Little Ted's Cottages
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciated your business and support - looking forward to hosting you for many years to come!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David R wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We have been going to little Ted's for several years. The last couple of years we have had minor run in's with STEVE the maintenance guy. STEVE has always came across as arrogant and condescending, it was STEVE's way or the highway. But this year STEVE the maintenance guy was at a new level! STEVE had multiple people ejected from the park, two others (that we know of) he extorted money from them, STEVE told them that they either pay or STEVE would call the police and have them removed from the premises! The one guy had a wheel of his boat trailer slip off the side of the narrow concrete pad, it left a rut approx 2" deep x 12' long, STEVE charged them $300 or STEVE would have them ejected from the park. Another guy had the rear wheel of his truck go slightly onto the grass and along side the gravel drive, leaving a rut approx 1" deep 4' long, STEVE charge him $100 or STEVE would have them ejected/removed!      Almost every one we talked to had some kind of confrontation with STEVE! STEVE left an note on our door that if we didn't stop dropping cigarette butts on the ground that we would be charged. When we talked to STEVE about this and told him that none of us smoked, STEVE just said "Well those cigarette butts were certainly close to your door for you guys not smoking" alleging it was us.      I would suggest that you seriously reconsider staying at this resort. The whole time we were there, we lived in fear of having a confrontation with STEVE. You certainly didn't have to do much to have a bad experience and possibly be ejected. STEVE knows he has the upper hand, we were from 3hr away and could not afford to get ejected. I think it is totally wrong with STEVE having so much power over the customers, and using that power to extort $$$$ from customers.      So, if you enjoy paying to have STEVE curse and swear, threaten you, pay to have STEVE throw you out for what ever reason STEVE deems inappropriate, then this is the place for you. Some day soon STEVE is going to crack, and STEVE will get Little Ted's in the news and get them a well deserved law suite. We will not be back until STEVE is gone.... 
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Miclau, Owner at Little Ted's Cottages
Responded 18 Jun 2021
We are sorry that you had a negative experience while staying with us. Nevertheless, this is an unfair review. For one thing, we have communicated directly with the aggrieved party (not you) and remedied the situation to their satisfaction. In fact, that person has reserved and placed a deposit on a two-week stay with us next year. If they had been "extorted" as you say, they would not be coming back to stay with us. We require a security deposit to cover any damages caused by guests during their stay - this is standard practice across the hospitality industry and does not qualify as 'extortion' when it is required to be applied.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioMarblehead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LITTLE TED'S COTTAGES: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 41 Photos (Marblehead, OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Little Ted's Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Little Ted's Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Marblehead Lighthouse (5.0 km), African Safari Wildlife Park (6.7 km), and East Harbor State Park (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Little Ted's Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Little Ted's Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Little Ted's Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Little Ted's Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciao Bella, Toft's Ice Cream Parlor, and Casa Las Palmas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Little Ted's Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Little Ted's Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Little Ted's Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Catawba Island Historical Society (7.2 km).