We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Elms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Elms Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of The Elms Hotel
 Click to rate
Midwest
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Wouldn't expect a dining experience like MIA in a college town-it's a quality restaurant that would be at home in any major city in the world. I have family that lives here in Oxford and typically prepare for predictably prepared meals-wow, MIA is an exception and fantastic blend of flavors. Seafood, meat and pasta was all executed flawlessly! We'll be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbhk007
Intercourse, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This hotel is nice, comfortable rooms, great location. However, there is one major problem. The wireless wi-fi is absolutely terrible. When a signal is available, it is very weak. Constantly dropping out. This makes conducting basic business, internet communications all but impossibe. This is inexcusable for a hotel of this price level. In today's internet world, there is no excuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boreas414
Management response:

My apologies for our shortcomings in relation to our wireless internet. We are aware of our problems, and we are currently working with our current provider and our IT personnel in order to upgrade our system.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We arranged to have a block of rooms here for our wedding months ago, and we had an email confirmation and everything. Now, people are trying to book rooms for our block and they can't because the hotel gave our block away to a group of swimmers who will be in town for a meet. They somehow thought our reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrs313
Management response:

I book all group blocks for this hotel, and I am not aware of any issues with a wedding block. Wedding blocks are released 30 days out from the event date, and it is possible guests could have tried to make reservations after the block was released. I have never released a group block ahead of the contracted date in...

Berea, Kentucky
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Lobby is pretty & peaceful. My room is fine, very clean, comfy bed. But I won't stay here again. Frustratingly poor Internet connection, fraternity house right next door, 50% of staff shockingly rude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katwilliams64
glen ellyn
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The hotel is centrally located with convenient parking across the street. The rooms are large and comfortable, clean with nice beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. They don't have their own bar, but there are plenty of options close by, including one that shares the building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mudfoot
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Staued at the Elms in a king suite when I dropped my son off for freshman year. Room was very large, clean and nicely appointed. Had dinner for 13 on Friday night for Family Weekend and the whole experience was wonderful. Great drinks at bar followed by an awesome dinner. The whole party was extremely happy with their dinner whether...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MIchael C
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This is no longer a Holiday Inn, it is now called the Elms Hotel. It is a great location if you are visiting Miami University, only 2 blocks away. It is also close the shops and restaurants on High Street just around the corner. The room was very comfortable and modern. There hotel parking is in a garage across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJG1221
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Perfect location and very flexible with our checkout. Breakfast was fine. Will definitely be trying to stay at this hotel for the next four years as my son attends Miami. Easy power walk from hotel to HIGH street. Would of used the workout room but it was such a beautiful a.m., I decided to learn the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gapmom
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We were in Oxford for a family gathering and stayed 2 nights at the Elms--note that this is NOT a Holiday Inn but a private hotel--ie not a chain. Oxford is a very quaint university town and the Elms is located right at the intersection of the the 2 main streets--Main Street and High Street. Parking is available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10RogerTheLodger10
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Nothing special here, the hotel is called The Elms, not the Holiday Inn. First it's hard to get a room here since they block most off the weekends off for "special" people. I got 1 to pick my daughter up, shocking. Like all the other reviews the noise level from outside the hotel is high, from drunk college students to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb G

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
1.3 km away
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Sycamore Inn
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#4 of 8 in Oxford
106 reviews
19.5 km away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Elms Hotel, Oxford, OH's only uptown hotel. We are known for our charm, culture and convenience and we are located only one block south of High Street. The Elms Hotel is two blocks from Miami University of Ohio's campus and is situated within walking distance from all of Oxford's exciting attractions. The newly constructed Elms Hotel is conveniently located to historic Uptown Oxford which is known for its red brick buildings and picturesque landscape. Our hotel is in close proximity to Miami University attractions such as Yager Stadium, Goggin Ice Arena, Shriver Center, Marcum Center and Millett Hall, all are within walking distance from the hotel. Located within close proximity of Oxford is Huston Woods State Park, Huston Woods Golf Course and Indian Ridge Golf Course. Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG) is 60 miles SE and Dayton International Airport (DAY) is 50 miles NE. The Great American Ballpark (Cincinnati Reds), Paul Brown Stadium (Cincinnati Bengals) are all with in a 50 minute drive. McCullough Hyde Memorial Hospital, Oxford's premier medical facility, is located within 3 blocks. Our staff is known for their warm and welcoming service culture that continually impresses our clientele. We revel in taking care of our visiting parents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel

Address: 75 S Main Street, Oxford, OH 45056 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oxford)
Region: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Oxford
Price Range: $149 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Elms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Elms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get room on fourth floor and stay away from the rooms facing the North (side street/alley) unless you want to hear drunk and partying college students at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Edgemore, 14 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't vibrate.”
 of 5 bubbles 894susanp, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
“The rooms facing the alley are the loudest because several bars have exits into it.”
 of 5 bubbles tdubb62, 8 Apr 2013 | Read review
“avoid odd-numbered rooms and bring ear plugs; call 911 instead of the front desk”
 of 5 bubbles prairiemom, 16 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a room furthest away from CJ's, which tends to the loudest bar surrounding the hotel. the restaurants are located on the second floor, which is useful to know if you are traveling with someone that has a disability.”
 of 5 bubbles staceys404, 4 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5