We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront

Save
Share
1811 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Fairfield Inn
US$101
View deal
Expedia.com
US$107
View deal
TravelocityUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
PricelineUS$101
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)

About

#4 of 15 hotels in Port Clinton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fairfield Inn & Suites Port Clinton Waterfront is an ideal location for ferry service to Put-in-Bay & Kelleys Island, 1/2 mile from Port Clinton's beach and Lakeview Park. Enjoy Lake views from select guest rooms & outdoor patio. 18 min from Cedar Point.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
75Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 22
  • 5
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jet46106372213 wrote a review 20 Nov
I have to give this hotel and it’s staff the highest rating. Being on vacation, we have stayed in several hotels this week, and this hotel is by FAR the best we’ve stayed in. The room has a refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave and safe, AND it has both a closet and drawers, which other hotels seem to find unnecessary. The lighting is excellent, and we had a great view. Thanks to Kari and the team for a delicious breakfast, including nice, hot oatmeal and oat milk for those of us who are vegetarian/vegan. I highly recommend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joan C wrote a review Jun 2022
Cleveland, Ohio72 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I enjoyed my stay at this very fine hotel. The Marriott brand is my favorite because of the convenience and the amenities. This is a perfect family or couples hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, and it was an absolutely lovely weekend. With Cedar Point, Put-In-Bay being nearby, and the hotel being right on the water, with the most beautiful sunsets, I enjoyed our one-tank anniversary trip! Thank you Ms. Jean for granting our room request for our anniversary, you made our trip extra special! #IstillloveMarriotthotels
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get an unobstructed view for the sunsets. Try the Tin Goose Dinner for a good old fashion...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
knrolo wrote a review 10 Nov
Ri49 contributions9 helpful votes
We drove 15 miles out of way (in the middle of a 10 day road trip) to go to a Fairfield Inn because they had a no-pet policy. I am a dog lover, but we'd had too many negative experiences in pet-friendly hotels on the trip. It was a relief to walk into a hotel that didn't smell of cleaning fluids. Room was clean and the breakfast gal was helpful and friendly the next morning. Nice breakfast assortment. Pool was a bit too chilly for me and there was no spa. But we were glad we'd stayed there overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennifer K wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
My sister and I had another destination that fell through. We booked here last minute and visited Kelleys Island. The price was good and I always trust Marriotts. They’re clean, comfortable, staff is friendly. The breakfasts are always delicious! This trip, we met kitchen staff Kari. She’s amazing! This girl is cheerful and helpful and man does she hustle! Seems nothing ever ran out. She deserves a raise! People like Kari make the visits that much better. She went above and beyond to make sure everyone was happy and had everything we needed. We’re definitely staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scenic588502 wrote a review Sep 2022
New Bern, North Carolina1 contribution
I cannot tell you how frustrating it is as a full time traveling consultant and long time Marriott loyalist, to stay at a place that is only in business because of its location. People come to this hotel because it is the only Marriott property for many miles and it is literally right on the shores of Lake Erie...like 100 ft from the lake. Beyond that, nothing to like here. If you are an early riser like me, and try to take a shower, the cold water is non existent and you have to back the water pressure down so that you can find some way to take a shower without getting scalded. The sink taps are the same way. You turn on the cold water and you get hot water. The night shift front desk is irresponsible, recently allowing a group meeting in their conference room, which is right next to first floor guest rooms, to holler and carouse until well after 9:30pm. Upon calling the front desk, I realized one of the voices carousing with them was the front desk person! Of course she was apologetic, but could not move my room due to lack of available clean rooms. Which brings me to the next problem which is their lack of room servicing. They are carrying on the COVID excuse for way too long. They have not hired back staff and have obviously found the sweet spot is to offer as little service as possible, raise the rates sky high, and rake in the profits because they offer nothing else. This brand has really allowed their owners to keep screwing the customer with no thought to what the brand used to represent. I find it appalling and not in keeping with what this extremely pricy brand should be doing for its customers. They have totally abandoned their care and concern for the traveller and haver replaced it with sub-standard help, no services, and plenty of blame to go around except for themselves. They continue to recover financially, but have yet to recover reputationally, choosing the dollar over the traveller. Take a gander at their 2021 Annual report: "Leisure demand led the recovery and was very strong in 2021. While business transient and group demand have lagged leisure, we did see gradual improvement throughout the year. Looking ahead, we are optimistic about continued RevPAR recovery in 2022, led by sustained strength in ADR and continued improvement in demand. Full year adjusted diluted earnings per share (EPS) totaled $3.19, compared to adjusted diluted EPS of $0.18 in 2020. Adjusted EBITDA reached $2.3 billion in 2021, nearly doubling year over year." Doubled EBITDA and can't service a room or figure out how to make the cold water be cold.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose a good room somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alicia Chapman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront
Responded 17 Sep 2022
Joe P. Thank you for your feedback. We have passed along your comments to our team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missqueenie wrote a review Aug 2022
Whiteland, Indiana332 contributions136 helpful votes
The room was spotless and very quiet even though the hotel was sold out. There is a nice seating area outback overlooking the lake. Breakfast selection was okay but found it odd no bread for toast. If in the area I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jack D wrote a review Jul 2022
Strongsville, Ohio62 contributions9 helpful votes
irst the pluses. Very new hotel, with large clean rooms and we had a stunning view of the lake. Appreciated the outdoor common areas also. The fitness area looked great and the free breakfast every day was a plus (though a little variety beyond scrambled eggs and sausage or bacon everyday would have been welcome). The negatives were an EXTREMELY tiny indoor pool which was bone chilling cold. If you were going to put a new hotel right on the Lake, why in the heck would you not put in an OUTDOOR, heated pool also? Housekeeping? Almost non-existent. Other than emptying the trash, the staff DID NOT MAKE THE BEDS ONCE in our three night stay, nor bother to pick up or replace towels. Honestly, if this had a nice sized, HEATED pool (indoors or out) and housekeeping that actually did some housekeeping beyond emptying one small trash can-this place would easily get a 5/5 from me. As it is, we will look elsewhere to stay in Port Clinton. A pity, as the location is terrific-and quite close to area attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alicia Chapman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Jack D Thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback. We have passed along your comments to the staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toinette S wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I feel the staff showed Discrimination. The Front desk, her name was Teresa when I went down to ask for bedding and towels, because my room was not cleaned for 2 days, sat 3 towels on the counter, I stated I needed more her response was, I quote "You Get What I Give You!!". I walked away and called customer service, they in turn had to call front desk Teresa to have her give me and my family bedding and towels. On going down to get the bedding it was placed on a filthy luggage cart, I asked for washcloths that were not on luggage cart she threw them on the lggage cart as she rolled her eyes., This behaviour is Totally unacceptable. Teresa also stated there was not any discrimination because they have workers of color. ( as lawn care and maids). Totally unaacceptable.I had asked for my room to be cleaned numerous times. The first night I changed all bedding and vacuum the floors and empty trash cans. The other rooms on my floor was cleaned only my room was not I asked.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alicia Chapman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have passed along your comments to the management staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackinbama wrote a review Jul 2022
Massillon, Ohio896 contributions326 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night and we chose the hotel because it offers easy access to the Miller’s Put-In-Bay ferry. So rather than drive from our home two plus hours away to the ferry we came up the night before. This allowed us to eat a nice dinner at the Jolly Roger’s and get a good nights sleep before heading over to the ferry. They have a decent breakfast too. So we had breakfast and we’re car two on the 8:00 am ferry on July 4th. Also received a room upgrade (Lake view).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thomas wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Fairfield inn, in port Clinton for the night on Saturday July 2, 2022. Checked into the room around 5 pm, and immediately found stained sheets(we thought no big deal, we will get another one) in total we asked 3 times at the front desk for a new sheet. We finally got the correct size and thought everything was good to go for the night(we went to go get dinner and came back and picked up the sheet). We came back to the room and we’re getting ready for the night and something hit my wife in the face. We turned on the light and it was a legit bed bug. I smashed it and we packed up our things and checked out around 10pm. NEVER once, have we found a bed bug at any hotel(and we’ve stayed around the country). Lady at the front desk was in a panic and nervous when I said we were checking out. I called this morning at about 10:15 am(we had to get a separate hotel room last night) and the Fairfield inn staff said we didn’t find no bed bugs but a smashed “red spider”. Well no kidding. Nice try to cover it up. It was small and brown/red color and was definitely a bed bug not a spider. Didn’t mention all the random black hair and dirty rag underneath the bed because we are not people that complain about everything or look for an excuse. However this was no excusable. Fairfield inn staff also said I would not be getting refund because I checked in. We are a huge Marriott customer and prefer them when we stay out of town. I know one customer doesn’t make a difference but we just can’t stand behind an event like this happening and everything being okay. Cheers
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alicia Chapman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront
Responded 6 Jul 2022
THmills97, Thank you for your feedback. As we explained this was not a bed bug, it was a spider. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have passed along your comments to the management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travelodge Port Clinton OH
LOCATION
United StatesOhioPort Clinton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES BY MARRIOTT PORT CLINTON WATERFRONT: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 114 Photos (OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront
Which popular attractions are close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Aviation Museum (4.2 km), African Safari Wildlife Park (5.2 km), and Port Clinton Lighthouse (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciao Bella, 1812 Food & Spirits, and Jolly Roger Seafood House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Port Clinton Lighthouse (1.8 km).
Does Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Port Clinton Waterfront accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.