We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
50 NE Catawba Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$105
View deal
Hotels.comUS$107
Booking.comUS$107
ZenHotels.comUS$145
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (196)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 04/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Updated 04/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 15 hotels in Port Clinton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Port Clinton, Ohio Hotel's Location is IdealPlanning a business trip to Port Clinton or a Lake Erie vacation? This hotel's location puts guests close to Catawba Island, Marblehead and Sandusky. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Port Clinton - Catawba Island, overlooking one of Ohio's northern lagoons, is close to everything.Smart travelers who enjoy historic towns, superb boating, sandy beaches and the world's best roller coasters appreciate our location in Port Clinton. Hotel guests are close to the historic Marblehead lighthouse, the wineries of Put-in-Bay and the sandy beaches of Kelleys Island. Serious thrill seekers know that Cedar Point Amusement Park is 17 miles away. Don't miss the great fishing on Catawba Island. And did we mention all the nearby water parks?Business travelers can combine relaxation and close the deal at this Port Clinton hotel. As the preferred choice for Davis-Besse Nuclear Power, Fenner Dunlop and Lafarge, guests have a short commute.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Game room
Hiking
Mini golf
Skiing
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1710Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 959
  • 423
  • 194
  • 92
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
designskc wrote a review 5 Sep
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Wonderful hotel with great staff. Valerie was so friendly upon check in and Miss Pat was very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Designskc, Thank you for the wonderful review about your recent stays with us. We are so thrilled that you had a great time. Our staff is top notch and award winning in service. Thank you for recognizing and praising them. We hope you will come back and see us again. Sincerely, Kim+
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Relax582245 wrote a review Jul 2022
Indian Wells, California2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Easy to book and friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool, clean rooms, great choice of snacks for kids, close to all spots. Would recommend for family’s as it’s near restaurants and Indoor pool is great when weather is bad.Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Hello Relax582245, Family time is important and we are so thrilled you were able to spend quality time with your family in our facility. It really means a lot knowing our guests had a great stay. We have the best staff on the planet and it great that you recognized how friendly they are. We hope you get to come back and stay with us again. Kim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa P wrote a review Aug 2022
New Albany, Ohio9 contributions1 helpful vote
The front desk is the best, especially Valerie, who is so friendly and helpful. The problem is that this is an older hotel and it shows. It is not horrible, it is average. But Port Clinton is also an average place.. unless you treat yourself to eat at the Gideon Owen winery ( 1/4 mile away) or the brewery (Twin Oasts), then food is average or worse. It is just a run down area. And yes this hotel is expensive...very much so... for what it is, but there are few options. And yes, the price varies. It was fine and the manager and Valerie made is better... thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Few good rooms. Rooms with a "view" look over a pond with invasive plants.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Lisa P, Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you received excellent service from our superstar Valerie. We hope you will comeback and stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Kim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
inlovewithJesus wrote a review Aug 2022
Apopka, Florida32 contributions10 helpful votes
Checked into our hotel. Was informed our room wouldn't be cleaned for the 4 nights we were staying. Room has no soap, tissues, body wash, or lotion. Breakfast was nasty unless you like powder eggs and dried bagels. By the end of the stay, the towels were all soaked and had to ask for more and the trash overflowed. The ac smelled moldy. Not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Hello InlovewithJesus, We would have serviced your room upon request. It would have been our pleasure to assist you. I am so sorry that you had a horrible experience. We hope you will come back and give us a second try. May Jesus bless us all with positivity and enlightenment. Sincerely, Kim Bartish
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vivian n wrote a review Aug 2022
West Bloomfield, Michigan2 contributions
Had horrible experience. Within 1 hour of checking in we received notification that the roomrate dropped $100. Immediately went to front desk and both women claimed that they are new and don’t know how to make adjustments. Then late at night came back to room and took a shower and looked up and saw the ceiling was full of black mold. I took pictures and showed it to the front desk. Explained I have allergies to mold. Nothing was done to remedy the situation. I will never stay in that horrible hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Hello Vivian751, I am so sorry for the issues you had during your recent stay with us. Our rates will change depending on the demand and supply. When making a reservation you are guaranteed that rate whether the rate goes up or down. That rate is your set price point. We hope you will come back and give us another chance to prove to you we are an excellent facility and take pride in our cleanliness and service. Sincerely, Guest Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cathy569 wrote a review Aug 2022
Akron, Ohio1 contribution
+1
We checked in and left right after putting things in room for evening.I took a shower in morning. When getting out of shower looked up and noticed mold all over bathroom ceiling.I was whizzing for 2 days. Called twice to talk to manager but have need unsuccessful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 109. Make sure to check bathrooms for mold
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Hello Cathy569, We are so sorry for your recent experience. The General Manager has been in and out of office due to family emergencies and deaths. Our corporate office has been notified to contact you. Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We had such a nice time at this hotel! Valerie was absolutely amazing and very accommodating! Thank you Valerie, we will definitely be back! Rooms were clean and breakfast was great ☺️ the pool was nice and the hot tub was nice and hot!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Hello 16203ZZallisonw, Thank you for the review about your recent stay. We so much appreciate you and your wonderful words of praise. Valerie is our hidden gem and we are lucky to have her as a part of our team. Once again thank you for the wonderful review. Sincerely, Kim Bartish
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki L wrote a review Jul 2022
Crooksville, Ohio2 contributions
Staff was amazing and rooms were very clean. Loved the outside patio by the pond! Pool was nice and the workout room was really equipped. Centrally located. Very close to Ferry service. Wish the hotel had a lounge. For 300+ a night we had to drive to find a quiet place to enjoy dinner and a drink.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Hello Short524, Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you and your time letting us know how your recent stay with us was. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Sincerely, Kim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nae R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The stay was ehhh. As a platinum elite member I’m kind of disappointed. Some staff were friendly and some wouldn’t even speak. Because they were understaffed, I had to do housekeeping which I don’t mind. I just didn’t like how the young lady cleaning rooms treated me when I asked for assistance. Also the Breakfast was okay, but My family was too grossed out to enjoy it. I think I chose the wrong season or week because the may flies were atrocious. Mayflies had the best of the stay for us. I think if I was informed of how bad they were, I would have stayed at another location. Attached is this picture of how bad the may flies were.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Hello 488naer, Mayfly Season around here is a hit or miss. Some years it is not so bad and some years they have taken bulldozers and dump trucks to get them off the streets. Being indigenous to our area they hatch usually in May (hence MAYfly) but the last couple of years we have had hatchings in June, July, and even August. We are so sorry that they were a nuisance we do not like them either. We are so sorry about the issue you had with the young housekeeper we will address your comments with the housekeeping department. Housekeeping service is available for all stayovers upon request. We would have been more than happy to service your room. We hope you will comeback in a different tome of year and give us a second chance. Sincerely, Kim Bartish
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hank wrote a review Jun 2022
Westerville, Ohio1 contribution
We spent one night here after a fun day at Put-in Bay. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful but the highlight was watching the Bald Eagle perched in the bare tree across the lagoon who was watching us! He/she posed in the tree for 20 - 30 minutes before flying off in search of a fish or a small animal for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a third floor, north facing room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Hello N2071OBhenrys, Our local area is known for birding. It actually has the biggest birding week in May. We are so proud of our Eagle nesting in the back. Thank you for the 5 star review! it means a lot to us when a guest leaves here happy. We look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Kim Bartish
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express & suites port clinton hotel port clinton, holiday inn express and suites port clinton, holiday inn express port clinton, holiday inn port clinton, port clinton holiday inn, catawba island ohio
LOCATION
United StatesOhioPort Clinton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include African Safari Wildlife Park (1.0 km), Cheese Haven (0.2 km), and Island Adventures Family Fun Center (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toft's Ice Cream Parlor, Mon Ami Restaurant & Winery, and Dianna's Deli & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Port Clinton Lighthouse (6.5 km) and Catawba Island Historical Society (6.7 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.