We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here one night for a wedding and it was a great stay. The pool and gym area look awsome. The bed and pillows were clean. Overall everything seemed very cleaned and i really enjoyed my stay. I ordered room service in the morning and it was very quick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zsanders1
Winchester, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a state convention at this facility. We were concerned that it might not be big enough. We used the main rooms, the Ballroom and the Terrace Room as well as the Lil O Room. We had large meetings in these rooms and then had a luncheon and a banquet, which was packed out all in the same day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley4771
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that the convention was successful and hope to do it again in the future, Please stay again.

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights here for a family function. The beds and pillows were exceedingly comfortable. The hotel food was very good. However, the highlight of staying here is the staff. They are actually glad to have you there and are friendly, humorous, and helpful. They even give you an apple. I thought they charged a lot but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rawsco1
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I am very happy we made your stay comfortable. We have plenty of apples and coffee service in our lobby to greet you. We know most of our Guest have traveled a long distance and need a little extra comfort upon arrival. Please stay again.

Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance of pretty much anything you'd want to see in downtown Portsmouth including the murals. The rooms are really comfortable like every other Holiday Inn in the pool area is really beautiful. Free to park, and there is a restaurant and bar inside the hotel; however there's a lot of really good restaurants within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsblizz
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I love our location as well, every season brings a new view. Even though we are a downtown property, you can still see the hills of Kentucky and the changing of the leafs. Please stay with us again.

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Pretty good hotel in an area with a pretty poor selection of hotels. Supposedly recently renovated, and it appears to be true. Elevator is small, and halls are narrow. When was this built, 1960? I would comment that their renovation contractor needs to be called back for some finishing touches. Rooms was very nice, bathroom was small but had nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R A
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Hotel. You are close in your guess of when the Hotel was built. It was 1970. There has been changes over the years, but the biggest Renovation was 2010 and we opened as a Holiday Inn in 2011. Improving and upgrading a hotel is a continuous action. Please stay with us again.

Reviewed 30 September 2016

I have stayed here a few times, due to my son being a student at shawnee state university. While I do think they overcharge for the rooms, because of the location to the school, it is a clean pleasant hotel. The pool area is very clean, and well maintained. Our room was nice, and clean - no issues. Any experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla V
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Hazel is wonderful as an employee and co-worker, she is pleasant all the time. Please stay again.

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Supposedly family members are supposed to get a discount at this hotel visiting Shawnee University Students. I called the 877 number to book and was routed to India who apparently handle reservations for Holiday Inn. He told me they were sold out. So I called the front desk at PORTSMOUTH Holiday Inn who said they in fact had rooms, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Shawnee State Family discount is a local negotiated rate. You have to call the hotel direct to get this 20% rate off of the Best Flex rate. Your reservation was made through a third party, you paid the third party in advance, not us. We cannot change or cancel anything you book through a...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 29 August 2016

i have stayed here 8 days so far and will stay 5 more. They have a very good restaurant called Oscar's but there is no free breakfast. There are no first floor rooms ..... the pool on the first floor is massive and consumes much of the ground floor ( wish my grand kids were with me). The elevator to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the fabulous response. Please stay with us again if ever in our area and we welcome your grand children as well.

Casstown, Ohio
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We have stayed here the past two years for the DTWC and the hotel is nice. Staff was amazing and location is great. Called ahead and got a great view of the Kentucky side. It was a great location within walking distance of many restaurants. Track was less than a mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSOTZING
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Please stay again.

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Staff was very friendly. Room was very beautiful and beds were so comfy, we loved the pillows and the option of firm or soft was a nice extra feature. Pool area was nice, it made you feel like you were in the tropics. Only complaint was the small restroom. No free breakfast and the on site restaurant can be quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please forgive us if you were expecting a free Breakfast, Only the express hotels are permitted to do Free Breakfast, because they have no Restaurant. I do appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again. I like your title "Great Mini Holiday", very nice.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
85 reviews
12.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
32 reviews
35.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
35 reviews
38.1 km away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
17.9 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 711 2nd St, Portsmouth, OH 45662-4001
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: $189 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Ramada Inn Portsmouth
Ramada Portsmouth
Portsmouth Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No rooms on first floor but rooms are quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 318MikeH, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Call ahead and ask for Kentucky view.”
 of 5 bubbles JSOTZING, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only decent view is on the 2nd street side on building.”
 of 5 bubbles B3229VPbethc, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for south side”
 of 5 bubbles Clg131, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Loved the view from 512”
 of 5 bubbles Bob1789, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay