We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
266 Delaware St P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (6)
Bathroom (2)

About

#8 of 9 hotels in Put in Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Edgewater Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Put in Bay. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Edgewater Hotel is a hotel offering a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a kitchenette in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Put in Bay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Stonehenge Estate (0.6 mi) and South Bass Island Lighthouse (1.2 mi), guests of Edgewater Hotel can easily experience some of Put in Bay's most well known attractions.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the barbeque restaurants, including The Chicken Patio and TJ'S Smokehouse, all of which are a short distance from Edgewater Hotel.

Should time allow, Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial and Lake Erie Islands Historical Society are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Edgewater Hotel as you experience all of the things Put in Bay has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Mini golf
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Minibar
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
24Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ed G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I recently stayed here this past weekend and I’ve also stayed over the years of coming to the island.! I’ll ALWAYS stay here because of how close to the bars and restaurants it is. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I will be back without a doubt.!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angela H wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
Edgewater "Hotel" Settle in folks. YES, I know that this is an extremely lengthy review, I truly want to help you experience all that you will find, should you choose to stay here October, 2021 Disembarking on to Put-in-bay Island you are greeted with wonderful views and energy in the air. As you walk the short distance from the pier to the Edgewater "Hotel" you feel excitement, You just know that you found the perfect place to be in the middle of all the action. Your GPS says you have arrived at the place that will be home for the duration of your stay. You set down your luggage looking around as there is no hotel around you. After checking the location again to make sure you entered the information correctly, you see a golf cart rental place which has the name Edgewater. You look around again slightly confused, and the go over to the rental spot to ask where your hotel is. The lady working barely looks afay from her cell phone and says this is it, go around the side to get checked in. You look at your family. Give a little shrug, grabbing your luggage you walk around the side. Then you see it.... This is not a hotel, it's a motel. On the left you see the sidewalk that runs the length of the building with doors to the rooms not even 6' away from the fleet of golfcarts and motorcycles that take up the space between your temporary home and a bar. You recover from the bewilderment of what you will be enduring you remember the "hotels" description. The rooms have been updated. Taking a big breath you nod and think, "the rooms gonna be great. I can deal with this, even though it seems a bit run down." The lady at the "desk" looks up and says "Yeah". You approach and tell her that you have a reservation and are checking in. "Name" she says. "We have to put a 250 hold on your card for damages" Not remembering reading that, you say "Ok I guess" and hand her your card. Once all is finalized, you have you room card in hand and go to your room on the bottom floor. Walking down the sidewalk you immediately walk into a spiders web. Flialing your hands all around you trying to get it off, you see several more. Finally you get to your room. You put the card against the reader. The light turns green., you turn the handle down and open the door. The first thing you see is that the room is gigantic, ok you realize, the price we paid for this room is because of its perfect location and rooms that are big enough to be an apartment. There is a living area on the right, a couch and a chair in front of a TV that has cable cords tangled, running down the wall. On the left 2 queen beds, with a night stand between. Facing you there is another night stand supporting a microwave, with a full size refrigerator to the right. Looking back at the microwave you see the fire alarm pull is hanging off the wall. Throwing your suitcase on the bed you walk towards the corner of the room where you see the sink and then the bathroom to the right. It is about the size of a closet. They are the ones you saw online. Being remodeled they are actually very nice. You notice there is an abundance of towels which is great but no wash cloths. Thankfulky you brought a loofah. You see small spider webs surrounding the mirror over the sink and the bar where you hang your clothing. Strings of dust hang down from the ceiling in the corners of the room. The dresser doesn't want to open as you pull on the knobs. You remember seeing one kind of similar sitting in front of a house to be taken by waste management. It has definitely lived its life and has the scars and dents all over to prove it. In fact all of the furniture is in a state of disrepair. You go back to the side of the bed, sit down to take off your shoes and are immediately greeted with creaks of old worn springs. Every move you make echo through the room. As you stare at the multitude of stains that grace the floor you think, "What have I done" If you have made it this far, please know that I write this to try and give you a true vision of what this place is like. Look for another location, the price is not worth what you receive. I truly hope if you do decide to stay here, that they have updated since I have posted this. Thank you for reading, I wish you good luck and a happy vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paula M wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Do not book here , manager rude, did not refund our money back. Cancelled room well in advance with the Corona virus. National Guard on island testing workers. Chose not to go. Very rude !!! Hotel is not what it said it would be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don"t book room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike R wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Booked a room for this weekend 7/16-7/18. The corona virus was ramping up the week of and decided it would be SAFER to not go. Called to cancel and received a big hassle ended up paying $200 for nothing. Save your money,go somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Doug wrote a review Apr 2020
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania2 contributions
So my friends and I have been going to Put in Bay for 10 years for an annual bday bash. We’ve stayed at a number of places but decided to book here this year, even though the only way to book is through Booking.com. Not a preferred method. Well we all got caught up in the pandemic and had to cancel our plans, all 10+ of us. We requested refunds so we could maybe stay later in the summer or fall. Nope. They are charging us all $150 per night for the cancellation even though it is over 3 weeks in advance and we cannot go there due to the pandemic. They encouraged us to book later in the summer but we would still be charged the cancellation fee!! So unless you are 100% sure of keeping your plans DO NOT BOOK AT EDGEWATER. Go somewhere else on the island with better policies, like the PIB Conference Center. Highly disappointed and will never book here again. Neither will my 10+ friends, or their friends or anyone we know.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Believeland37 wrote a review Oct 2019
Rocky River, Ohio169 contributions53 helpful votes
We had a terrible experience here. Do not book here. We booked a room over the phone and were told it was a Deluxe Room. The website only shows Deluxe Rooms or Suites. When we checked in, our room was completely different than described on their website. When I called, I was told I was in a Standard Room. I asked them to show me where on the website there is a Standrard Room because it's not there. They quickly changed their story and told me I was in a Deluxe Room. The website says all Deluxe Rooms have a double vanity and shows a photo of a room that was totally different than what we were placed in. To start, the room was very dirty and there were ants all over the bathroom. The two beds even had completely different sheets. We asked them to clean the room, and they said they did, but they did not. We have photos from before and after, and there was still food on the floor "after they cleaned". The disaster doesn't stop there. We booked a Deluxe Room, because that was the only option, other than a suite. Deluxe Rooms, per their website, have Queen beds and double vanities. Our beds were Fulls. When I called to explain we must be in the wrong room, I was told they were "Hotel Queens". The double vanity, also not in the room. We had a single sink without a vanity at all. Again, not as the website says or at all like the photo. The photo shows the vanity in the hall, our pedestal sink was in the bathroom (totally different than described online). I called again. I spoke to a Manager who was extremely rude. She was absolutely horrid. She told me she wasn't going to argue with me "over a sink" and there was no one else above her who I could speak with. Their solution to resolve the issue, was for us to pay $340 more to upgrade to a suite. I kept explaining it wasn't about "a sink" it was about the false advertising they have on their website and that we didn't get what we paid for. She told me there was nothing they could do and we couldn't get out of our room because we were in contract. Due to the dirt, rude staff, and overall terrible experience, we lost 3 hours of our trip by trying to resolve the situation, and ultimately ended up checking out and staying somewhere else. They told us that we couldn't get our money back. Take my advise, stay away. I had shared my experience on Facebook and the owner commented that the photos weren't of their hotel, completely false and then tried to blame us for the issues. Please read reviews carefully and take them for what they are. I have many TripAdvisor reviews and I do not falsely make claims. This truly was a terrible experience and even worse after the fact, as the owner has proven to be very difficult. I have shared images of the bugs and dirt from after they "cleaned" as well as their website not indicating a Standard Room and stating all rooms have double vanities, as well as a photo that was not from the room we were in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MelindaB101587 wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions5 helpful votes
Cleaning staff was polite that was it. Checked into our room smelled like straight marijuana. Told the young man at the front desk he said all the rooms smelled like this and if we wanted to move he couldn’t move us we had to call someone else. Tried calling. No answer. Called again. No answer. The place was a dump would have stayed somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth C wrote a review Jul 2019
42 contributions50 helpful votes
Our vacation started with being checked in by a stressed out reservationists who let it be known she’d “had a long day.” She realized she’d checked the guests that arrived before us into the wrong room, so we waited while she corrected her mistake which she blamed on “the resort.” They charged me for a golf cart, but wouldn’t give it to me since everything was already locked up for the night. Clean updated room, except we could get into it since our keys didn’t work at 1am. No utensils in the kitchenette or dishes and NO ICE. No wristbands or any data shared about the “pools” available. No help with luggage. This resort gave out my phone number to a taxi company that failed to pick us up at the ferry. Otherwise, it’s centrally located. That’s as nice as I can be. I bet it’s going to be another long day here at Edgewater.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tammy J wrote a review Sep 2018
11 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel was clean. Check-in was quick and the gentleman at the desk was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious. The bathroom was clean although small without any counter space or even a hook to hang your towel on. The hotel is centrally located. It's within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. If there is any down side to the hotel it is that it's right next door to a bar that plays music VERY LOUDLY until 2:30am. If you enjoy hanging out late this is the perfect spot. If you start drinking early (like us) you may want to try someplace else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joezette K wrote a review Aug 2018
Carey, Ohio, United States11 contributions
We stay here for Aug.10-12. We had 6 in our party staying the night with a total of 10 visiting for the day but not staying. The hotel service was horrible! The guest that were visiting for the day could not use our room to change from swim suits to reg. clothes. They could not come up to our room to use our bathroom, eat food we brought/ or drinks. We were told we would be evicted if anyone without a band was caught on property. Mind you these guest were not staying but wanted to spend the day with us... We had guys helping us carry cooler and our bags to our room and a young man with curly hair from the hotel was rude and yell they couldn't help us! We just arrived and had no idea the crazy policy of this hotel. I booked through Expedia and there was no mention of this policy or we wouldn't have booked this hotel!!! Two family member ended up staying at another hotel and we used there room to change our extra guest! Stay at the Islander!!! Great hotel!!! Here is the policy for the Edgewood as posted on Expedia. MasterCard Discover Card American Express Visa Children and extra beds •Children are welcome. •Rollaway/extra beds are not available. •Cribs (infant beds) are not available. Pets •Pets not allowed You need to know Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy. Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges. Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. •No onsite parking is available. No rollaway/extra beds available No cribs (infant beds) available So no it is not stated about extra guest using the room to change or use the bathroom. The excuse we were give was fire marshal code which is fine so we only sent 6 up at a time to change and use bath room. NO BANDS IF CAUGHT WE WOULD BE EVICTED! Very rude and unprofessional! We did apply to their wish and they continued to stalk us and watch us like hawks to the point every time we went by we would hold our arms up to show our bands. I was so upset with these people I wanted to cancel the cart I reserved, but they wouldn't allow me to cancel so I went back to the room to get cash but they charged my card before I made it back to the room. The day we where leaving they kept asking us if we were checked out yet. Mind you it was 9:30AM and we had until 11AM to check out... I am a travel agent and I have never been treated like this non will I send any of my clients to this hotel!!! We were not load or disorderly we did everything they asked and they were still Stalked us and were rude and unprofessional!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay clear of this hotel!!! Horrible I am a travel agent and I never have been treated like this!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkM9966, Owner at Edgewater Hotel
Responded 14 Sep 2018
Thank you for helping us communicate that a 6 person suite cannot be occupied by more than 6 people. We advise you of this at the time of booking, upon your arrival, and you provided the names of the 6 people who were permitted on property. For the safety of our guests, and to comply with the State Fire Marshall occupancy ratings, we cannot exceed these number. We are sorry you chose not to follow the rules of the hotel which caused your issues.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
edgewater hotel put in bay
LOCATION
United StatesOhioPut in Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDGEWATER HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 25 Photos (Put in Bay, OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Edgewater Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Edgewater Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooligans Irish Pub, Put-in-Bay (0.1 km), Lake Erie Islands Historical Society (0.2 km), and Put-In-Bay Rolling Pub (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Edgewater Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Edgewater Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Edgewater Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Edgewater Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Forge, Pasquales Cafe, and The Keys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Edgewater Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Edgewater Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Put in Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Edgewater Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial (0.8 km), Stonehenge Estate (0.9 km), and Catawba Island Historical Society (7.9 km).