We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Resort

Booking.comUS$145*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$145*
US$145*
US$145*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Commodore Resort
 Click to rate
Jerry City, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was picked because it is a smoking room and the price was good. The location was great and we did like that the room was outside of the resort, but that is where it ends. The bathroom wall was filthy, the sheets on the bed looked like they had been bunched up in a ball a stored that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melinda1566
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear the room was less than satisfactory, I have already addressed this issue with the housekeeping staff so this does not happen again. Unfortunately we no longer have coffee pots in the rooms do to some of the guest that visit here on weekends in the summer. In the lobby area subway does have coffee starting at 10...

Meyersdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was what we expected. It was decent and clean with no complaints. We couldn't get to the island the first night because of the weather and they didn't charge us. Right in the heart of all the action. You can walk everywhere. However Mr. Eds is the place to be. Definitely not a family hotel. They are upfront...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! Friday night was a surprise for all of us with the boats stopping. Our company tried to make the best of it by throwing those that could make to Port Clinton a party at Mr. Ed's Bar & Grille located by the Jet Express on the mainland, not sure if you made it there,...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff!!! Clean room, thanks Melissa!!! Great location, right in the center of the action!!! My favorite place to stay on the island. And Mr. Ed's bar is attached to the hotel, with great food and music.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra h
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and glad you enjoyed your meal at Mr. Ed's.

Defiance, Ohio
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The updates they've made are abundantly clear, room was clean, looked nice. Only real complaint is that the bed was very hard (some people like that, I woke up sore) also the fridge in the room ran loudly. I've heard its noisy in the summer (they even give you complimentary ear plugs) so I'm guessing you wouldn't hear the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAA414
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Sorry to hear the fridge was louder than expected, I will look into this. Some of our guests like to take afternoon naps while on vacation and our swim up pool bar has music when it is open so we provide ear plugs so they can rest peacefully. Hope your return soon.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I went there with couple of friends and we had good time. Weekends in September are still busy and you have the football season coming as well. I enjoyed the island too because during the week it was relaxing and beautiful. Great staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please come again

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

The island itself is a very fun place. I liked the hotel because of the workers there and because it is downtown. They have a bar and a disco club next door. Did I mentioned the Subway in the lobby? I had a really good time! :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
pibkelly, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that our staff is doing a great job and friendly. The smell of the bread baking at Subway always makes me hungry.

Columbia Station, Ohio
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I would not recommend this hotel unless u dont care cause just need place to drop your head. is old and needs updated. Not very clean the floors the elevator. The rooms were outdated not comfortable sleeping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilmarymac
Jennifer F, Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience at our hotel. I am responding to ask why you are writing this 7 months after your stay.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night in room 244. 3 of us with 2 beds. Front desk clerk was nice and checked us in quick. Room 244 was exterior with 2 double beds, refrigerator, big shower, and microwave. Upon arrival I discovered some housekeeping issues. I called the front desk and within minutes they sent up a couple ladies to remedy the problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misspatrick1977
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The place was very convenient to all the action. Room was very clean. Pool with swim up bar but closes at 7:30 pm which was a good thing for sleep. :) Staff was friendly and helpful. Lobby not much with a Subway in it but it's really not about the lobby just a nice place to sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kbitt21
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Hotel is very dated. The beds are not comfortable - old mattresses & bed spreads! Entire hotel has an odor, mix between mustiness and chlorine. There is a subway restaurant in the lobby. Definitely not a place where you would want to hang or lounge in you room to relax. Box Tv with limited cable. AC unit is built into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cincyjetsetter

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.4 km away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
225 reviews
1.0 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
7 reviews
14.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
386 reviews
17.0 km away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
277 reviews
0.2 km away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a lot to offer. We are located in the heart of downtown Put in Bay. We are the only Put in Bay hotels on Delaware Ave with a Caribbean style, MIST swim up pool bar with cabana bottle service. We are also proud of Mr. Ed’s Bar and Grille. Mr. Ed’s has become a must needed stop for great food and great entertainment. Known for their tasty wings, burgers, large sandwiches, fresh cut french fries, perch, and wraps. Need to dance? Party the night away in the open air at the Green Room, a dance club atop of Mr. Ed’s Bar. Open Weekends at 10:00pm. Yes! This is true! Commodore Resorts has a Subway Restaurant located in the hotel lobby. Need a golf cart for the day? Ask at the front desk. We have that too. One of the best Put in Bay hotels! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Address: 272 Delaware St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Price Range: $170 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Commodore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did get loud on the weekend, with young people staying up late (2-3 am).”
melinda1566, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Would go second floor”
Kbitt21, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the older section are smoking rooms but avoid the poolside rooms if noise bothers you.”
KeysAuthor, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go to Bayshore Resort”
lynna205, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“book a different hotel”
randykristir, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$145
TripAdvisorUS$145
Orbitz.comUS$145
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates