We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3309 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5614
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Booking.com
US$62
View deal
Expedia.com
US$62
View deal
Lol.travel
US$57
View deal
TravelocityUS$62
Hotels.comUS$62
AlgotelsUS$66
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (59)
Videos (1)

About

#18 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South is located in the heart of Sandusky Ohio on Milan Road. With 75% of rooms completely renovated in 2016-18, we are just minutes from Cedar Point or the water parks of Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Maui Sands & Cast Away Bay. 33 rooms with external access: 4 Suites located on the second floor (2 Full XL beds with sofabed), 23 Rooms with 2 Full XL beds, 5 Rooms with a single King bed and 1 Room with a Full XL bed & a jacuzzi. A Mexican restaurant, Casa Real, is located on the premises. Ming's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, and Denny's are within walking distance. And, Ghostly Manor Thrill Center, a Family Entertainment Center with roller skating, bounce houses, arcade, mini golf, motion theater, walk thru haunted house and jungle gym, is located on the premises.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
119Reviews4Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 43
  • 37
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
StarWarsDave wrote a review Jul 2022
Garden City, Michigan208 contributions39 helpful votes
Over paid but with an event in town that was going to happen. However, beds were very uncomfortable. Room was clean. AC worked great. They allowed me to check in early. Staff was kind. Wish there was a coffee pot in the room but you do get a microwave and fridge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do have coffee makers available upon request at the front desk and serve coffee in the lobby every day from 7am - 11pm.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber M wrote a review Mar 2022
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This hotel was amazing. Chris and Dale were super nice. Room was very clean, beds were very comfortable. Place seemed very clean. Would totally stay here again. Was a very pleasant stay. Area was quiet, hot tub was a super nice touch. If I’m ever in the area again, would stay here hands down.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you again during your future stays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noodles3316 wrote a review Jul 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania5 contributions
Awoken by bedbug bites first night. Staff was actually accommodating and were given the choice of an upgrade or money back and treating of our clothes. . We opted for another room, not an upgrade but just wanted another room thinking that one had to be bug free. Eh, were we WRONG??!!! The second one was worse than the first and when we left in the middle of the night we were told we’d have to contact booing.com to get a refund. WRONG AGAIN!!! After jumping through hoops bc no one knows the art of customer service anymore, we were informed no refund would be granted. This after acknowledging their fault at first but now backtracking. And when asked for the general manager the cowards would not furnish his info. Thanks again Econo Lodge on Milan rd in Sandusky oh!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom A. wrote a review Mar 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
The house keeping and a couple of the staff members are supremely rude. The house keeping has a very aggressive demeanor when cleaning guests rooms and can hear their loudness when banging household items and getting lodge rooms ready for next guest and are inconciderate of guests that are still staying with them.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid being in room anytime around checkout when staying multiple nights.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do apologize for any issues you may have experienced and will take this issue up directly with the staff. We hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee Malaspina wrote a review Nov 2021
12 contributions
+1
EVERYTHING about this place is great. The rooms have been newly renovated. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave oven. They are clean and spacious. It is very quietthere. Resturants and shopping are nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & for the kind words. We hope to see you again during your future stays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily R wrote a review Oct 2021
Cleveland, Ohio37 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed overnight at this Econolodge because we planned to visit Cedar Point's Halloweekends on Friday while our kids had a day off from school. The location was convenient (about 5 minutes from the park), the room was clean and modern-looking, and check-in late on Thursday night was a breeze. The grab and go breakfast in the morning was enough to get us going for the long day ahead. Overall, this hotel was a great value. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we do something similar next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & for the kind words. We hope to see you again during your future stays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
h0ckeygirl36 wrote a review Apr 2021
Pennsylvania660 contributions171 helpful votes
+1
Was really disappointed. We went into our room and it looked like it was newly remodeled which was nice. We were all tired and wanted to get washed up and go to bed. I go to get the tub ready for our granddaughter and i notice something on the side wall up top and then i look around an their is hair looks like from when you shave. I had to drain the tub and start cleaning it myself. There were no carpets however we realized the floor was filthy. OUr feet were black and had garbage all over them so had to make sure we wore socks and/or shoes around. My boyfriend did take a hand towel and wipe down some of the floor and you could see all the dirt on it. Our tv didnt work in our room either. Breakfast was basic and grab and go things. When checking out my boyfriend said something to the lady and she had an answer for everything and to me not acceptable answers. She told us that we should have called for someone to fix the tv which wasnt to big of a deal that main issue was the cleaniness. My boyfriend showed her the socks and towel and she said oh i believe you. This lady was also the cleaning person and the person who checked you in and out. Again her answer was you should have called and someone could have came. We shouldnt have to call to make sure our room is cleaned esp with all the covid stuff going on it should be spotless or close to before we even check in. I will say the hotel was in a nice spot and the fitted sheet was super soft and bedding smelled clean. However the floors and tub being uncleaned is unsatisfactory and we will not be back to this hotel or recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy Criscione, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review - I do apologize the room wasn't adequately cleaned! I will address these issues with staff, so we can improve on the experience we offer our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kandees wrote a review Oct 2019
buffalo ny28 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a king room. Hardwood floors, mini-fridge, microwave and an in-room safe. The room was very clean and quiet. Lots of room to put all of our shopping bargains we found around town. Bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. Awesome location, lots of restaurants, stores and entertainment nearby. Quick drive to Cedar Point. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy C, Owner at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 3 Oct 2019
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you had plenty of room! We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle W wrote a review Sep 2019
Columbus, Ohio1145 contributions131 helpful votes
+1
We were looking for a budget friendly hotel close to Cedar Point. This worked for our needs. It was a clean, comfortable nights stay. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, and iron. It is a motel- door opens to the outside- if this bothers you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 8 Sep 2019
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ParaMom_Jenn wrote a review Sep 2019
South Bend, Indiana111 contributions10 helpful votes
This is our second stay at this property and as usual, we were not disappointed. The first time, we had a room with two double beds, but this time, we had a suite, room 242. The beds were clean and comfortable as usual, but we have a few surprises we enjoyed. The bathroom was updated with modern fixtures and a sink--I'd like it my house. There was a little dining area with a table and two chairs and lots of room in front of the tv! The only down side--the curtains were too short for the windows, the couch needed to be cleaned--it had dirt on the arms and the cushions, a couple of the rods to pull the curtains closed were broken off and laying the windows, and the curtain on the window by the bed had something on it--not sure what it was! The breakfast is okay, they really need some type of meat to go with the waffles. Other than those few things, we will be staying here again for Halloweekends in October
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Billy C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Hope to see you again during your future stays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge sandusky, sandusky econo lodge, econolodge cedar point south
LOCATION
United StatesOhioSandusky
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ECONO LODGE INN & SUITES SOUTH: UPDATED 2022 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 70 Photos (Sandusky, OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Nearby attractions include Ghostly Manor Thrill Center (0.2 km), Goofy Golf (0.4 km), and Skateworld (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chet & Matt's Pizza, Dianna's Deli & Restaurant, and Casa Real.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (2.7 km).
Is Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.