We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2809 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5607
E-mail hotel
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
Algotels
Vio.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (9)
Bathroom (5)

About

#13 of 35 hotels in Sandusky
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Sandusky Inn “ your home away from home.” We aim to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Given the proximity to Cedar Point, our guests can easily experience one of Sandusky's most popular landmarks. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, online booking, and free internet access. However, our pool is temporarily closed due to Covid-19. If you’re looking for an restaurants, consider a visit to the various establishments across from us. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Sandusky Speedway Motorsports Park (1.1 mi), Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (1.2 mi), and Ohio Veterans Homes Military Museum (1.0 mi), which are some popular Sandusky attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the motel. Sandusky Inn puts the best of Sandusky at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
41Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The Ren wrote a review 5 Nov
Detroit4 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing motel! Easy and convenient location, perfect parking. The owners are extremely nice and even remembered me from my previous stay. Very willing to take care of you as a guest! The rooms are SUPER clean which is very much appreciated. While the rooms could use a general update, this will forever be my go to for whenever I am in the area next!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vola wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
The place was perfect for my 1 night stay. Very close to Cedar Point - less than 10mn drive. For what you pay (100$) you do get a good value for this area. I was looking for a safe and clean room and got that. Someone mentioned the strong smell (cleaning products?) and in my case, I kept the door open for about 30mn when I got there and it solved it for me. But someone sensitive to scents may have issues. The AC was nice and cold, the welcome was warm and courteous with a bottle of cold water upon arrival (the only time I get a welcome bag with water and goodies is when I check in at an Hilton chain for being an Honors member). And when I offered to pay for another bottle of water at check out, they just gave me one free of charge. What I can say is that they value their customers and work hard at making you happy if it is in their power. And they keep the place up to standards for a 2*. And lastly, I had booked a 2 queen but ended up being alone and since they had a king available, they offered me that room which was nice. All in all, it was good value for my money and I will stay again next month hopefully!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Thank you for the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we are a new family owned, independent motel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us! Thank You for noticing the work we are putting into improving our property, guest reviews like yours empower us to continue on. We will definitely share this with all our staff! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TyH wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I believe this is a family owned location. I was greeted with a cold bottle of water. There were no unexpected charges/deposits and it served the purpose for a quick stay while visiting the amusement park. The room was clean, there’s Wi-Fi and the front desk/other guests were very pleasant. Definitely would recommended and will utilize in the future. It’s also close to cedar point , great wolf etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Thank you for staying with us at Sandusky Inn, the five star review, and kind words! We are glad you made the choice to stay with us. We work hard to provide a pleasant guest experience for everyone and I am very glad you noticed all our efforts and hard work. We will be sure to share your message with all our staff members. As we are a family owned, independent hotel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us, we heavily rely on word of mouth and reviews like yours to compete with all the franchised properties around us. We appreciate you can coming and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sage wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
I stayed for 3 nights and I can honestly say it was one of my most comfortable stays. Every inch of the room was perfectly clean and the staff was absolutely pleasant. I do plan on staying here next time I'm visiting Ohio. The local restaurants are great too. Dianna's deli restaurant is right up the street, in view, and they are marvelous. It's a simple room that's super comfy and peaceful! Basically, I highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you for staying with us at Sandusky Inn, the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to utilize all that we have to offer on your trip to Sandusky. We are very fortunate to have a great location right on the main road. We are surrounded by places to eat as well. We work hard to provide a pleasant guest experience for everyone and I am so glad you noticed all our hard work. As we are a family owned, independent hotel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us, we heavily rely on word of mouth and reviews like yours to compete with all the franchised properties around us. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for one night in the tripe double bed room and it was great! Rooms were nice and spacious, everything was clean and neat. The bathroom was huge and had all amenities! Great location right in my lane road! The owners were very very sweet also! Highly reccomend!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thank you for staying with us at Sandusky Inn, the five star review, and kind words! We are glad you made the choice to stay with us. We work hard to provide a pleasant guest experience for everyone and I am very glad you noticed all our efforts and hard work. We will be sure to share your message with all our staff members. As we are a family owned, independent hotel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us, we heavily rely on word of mouth and reviews like yours to compete with all the franchised properties around us. We appreciate you can coming and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coira C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Worked great for a 2 night stay! Would stay longer too. Owner was very kind, check in was super easy, and we were even given some free water upon our arrival. It was pretty hot inside when we got into our room, but the AC worked great after we adjusted the settings. It made for some nice white noise too without any clicking or tapping, which mostly drowned out the noise of the street and gas station behind the hotel (which is entirely bearable regardless by the way). The space was small but not cramped, the giant king bed was super comfortable, the room was clean, everything stayed intact, and we were able to relax without any issues!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Thank you for the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we are a new family owned, independent motel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us! Thank You for noticing the work we are putting into improving our property, guest reviews like yours empower us to continue on. We will definitely share this with all our staff! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My new wife and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon and it was outstanding. The room was clean and the service was excellent we most definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again when we visit Lake Erie.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Thank you for the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we are a new family owned, independent motel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us! Thank You for noticing the work we are putting into improving our property, guest reviews like yours empower us to continue on. We will definitely share this with all our staff! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xavier wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This summer I wanted to take my kids to Cedar Point. I wanted to do both parks in separate days. I booked my stay in Sandusky Inn. It was awesome. The room was very clean. Is near the parks. The attentions from the owners was beyond expect it. Definitely I recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Thank you for the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we are a new family owned, independent motel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us! Thank You for noticing the work we are putting into improving our property, guest reviews like yours empower us to continue on. We will definitely share this with all our staff! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan W wrote a review Jun 2022
Westminster, MD10 contributions47 helpful votes
I went solely off of a) price and b) reviews, expecting a clean room to relax in between trips to Cedar Point. What I walked into was a less than hygienic room, with a strong cleaning chemical odor, mixed with mildew. We stayed one night, experienced allergic reaction to the room's smell and we were bitten by insects multiple times. I told the proprietor about the odor and that we could not tolerate it. He cancelled the remainder of our reservation and promptly refunded the balance. I give this "Inn" a 1 out of 10, based on physical appearance and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 29 Jun 2022
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take cleanliness very seriously and in the post pandemic world we are very cautious to disinfect all surfaces, this may have been the the reason you smelled cleaning products but it is because we clean our rooms throughly. If you had brought this to our attention sooner we absolutely would have tried our best to resolve any issues you faced. Upon hearing your feedback in the morning we promptly refunded the remainder of your stay even with such short notice. As a small family owned business, customer satisfaction is always a top priority, we will work hard to improve for all our future guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Calvin wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Went to cedar point and stayed at the Sandusky Inn. The rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Only 10-15 mins drive from Cedar Point and was able to check in after 10pm when the park closed. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend and will be staying here next time we go to Cedar Point.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shiv Patel, General Manager at Sandusky Inn
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Thank you for staying with us at Sandusky Inn, the five star review, and kind words! We are glad you made the choice to stay with us. We work hard to provide a pleasant guest experience for everyone and I am very glad you noticed all our efforts and hard work. We will be sure to share your message with all our staff members. As we are a family owned, independent hotel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us, we heavily rely on word of mouth and reviews like yours to compete with all the franchised properties around us. We appreciate you can coming and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson sandusky
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park
LOCATION
United StatesOhioSandusky
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDUSKY INN: UPDATED 2022 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 24 Photos (OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandusky Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Sandusky Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ghostly Manor Thrill Center (0.8 km), Goofy Golf (0.3 km), and Skateworld (0.8 km).
Which room amenities are available at Sandusky Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sandusky Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandusky Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Demore's Offshore Bar and Grill, Dianna's Deli & Restaurant, and Casa Real.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandusky Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (1.9 km).