We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Budget Inn Sandusky

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Budget Inn Sandusky
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Best Budget Inn Sandusky
 Click to rate
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 10pm, staff was nice. When we got to our room it smelled so bad of some kind of spray we had to leave the window open. Went to use the bathroom, no toilet paper, dead bug in sink filthy. Reservation made thru Orbitz so they sent me an email to rate it, I left a comment. At...

1Thank Crystal S
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While our property is geared and marketed toward the budget-conscious traveler, there is no reason to expect anything less than clean and comfortable accommodations. That is our goal for every one of our guests. We're very sorry that we fell short of the mark in your case.

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed July 3-5 2016. I booked the room in January, so had a great rate of $53/night. Arrived late on the 3rd, front desk was awesome, friendly and accommodating. The reason this motel is getting 2 stars is because the bathroom was disgusting. Clean carpet in the room, clean sheets/mattresses (thankfully), but the bathroom was gross. Other people's hair...

1Thank tiffanylynnwilliams
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're very sorry that you experienced the problem in the restroom as you indicated in your review. We will certainly use your feedback to review our high standards with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future. Thank you, again, for bringing this to our attention!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I made a reservation for the first weekend in June back in the March. When I arrived, I was told by the staff at the front desk that they inexplicably did not actually have the room I reserved. After waiting for roughly half an hour, they managed to transfer my reservation to another hotel. Beyond that, the hotel itself was...

2Thank tstonebraker
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

While I am happy to hear that our staff directed you to another one of our properties, I must still apologize that you had to encounter this problem. As you might also be aware, we are a seasonal property only open in the summer months. The time that you were going to stay with us was at the very beginning...

Reviewed 25 May 2016

hotel doesn't look like one pictured. mold paint dirt everywhere if u don't believe me look at pictures. whole in ceiling above closet. signs saying how much things are if u were to steal them. signs reading if u are late to check out they will over charge u. just overall uncomfortable when i go to a hotel i expect...

1Thank Genevieve F
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

While it is true that this is a seasonal property marketed toward the budget-conscious traveler, you are right when you say that you should expect nothing less than clean, comfortable accommodations. It appears as if you stayed with us either the very first weekend we were open for the season--or very near to it. While not an excuse, I do...

buffalo ny
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Went here after a horrible experience @ HoJo Express on Milan (no front desk clerk, no one to check us in, we had reservations!) We were very lucky to have Knights Inn avail for our stay from July 26-31, but they had no availability for the night of 7/25. After being turned away due to no vacancy or too much...

Thank Sandra K
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We're constantly trying to improve our product so your comments will go a long way in helping us prepare for the 2016 summer season. We hope you'll give us an opportunity in the future to make up for your less-than-desirable stay in the past.

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here this weekend for his birthday. When we first arrived I didn't think it was too bad, until I found that the bathtub had not been cleaned. I was also woke up at least half a dozen times due to a waterline in our room that shakes like an earthquake and squeals like...

1Thank Hilary L
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're sorry that we weren't able to meet or exceed all of your expectations. In terms of the room that you were given, we would have gladly re-roomed you if you had brought this to the attention of our staff. In terms of the bugs, this are indigenous to our area and to the best of our knowledge DO NOT...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. I read the previous reviews so I wasn't expecting too much out of this place. We were spending all of our time at Cedar Point so I wasn't super worried about the room. We had a room with 2 double beds. Pros: The price, conveniently located near food and shopping, room appeared to be clean,...

Thank Soakinupsun54
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for rating and reviewing your stay with out. As you point out, this property is one that is targeted toward a budget-conscious traveler. As such, we don't provide many of the amenities you brought up in your review. To do so would increase the cost to our customers. We're glad to hear that you found the room clean...

Lambertville, Michigan
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I had to fix the toilet. The room stunk so bad we had to leave the door open for an hour. Front desk would not move us. Over $200.00 for one night. Beds were very uncomfortable. Overall experience was horrible.

Thank Max M
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We do our level-best to re-room guests who encounter problems. It may have been that there were simply no other rooms available during your stay. However, if you wanted out of your reservation, we would have refunded your money and allowed you to pick someplace that was more...

Reviewed 29 July 2015

When I looked at the outside of the hotel, I felt that I actually found a decent and fair-priced hotel in the Sandusky area after a weekend at Cedar Point. I was sorely disappointed. I was greeted warmly at check-in and check-out, which was the most positive part of our stay. However, the room I was placed into with my...

Thank MichiganTonyabbott
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're sorry that your experience didn't exceed all of your expectations. I am hoping that there was nothing anywhere that led you to believe that continental breakfast was included in your stay. With the obviously much lower rates that we charge, this is an amenity you'd pay a lot more for if you were to stay at a property that...

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

I'm going to this hotel tomorrow and I would like to know if you solved your problems like the stink, leaks, mold, etc problem. Please answer me as fast as you can so I can book in a different hotel. This hotel is scaring me from all the reviews and I need to make a good impression to my friends...

Thank Essra A
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We always work diligently to resolve any problems that are brought to our attention. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (27)
Room/Suite (19)
Bathroom (5)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
313 reviews
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
317 reviews
5.9 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated for the summer of 2014, the the Best Budget Inn Sandusky is a big savings hotel! Bring the family and friends along to enjoy our selection of larger 1, 2, and 3 bedroom family-style rooms, as well as rooms with a separate two-person Jacuzzi. Your stay includes free wi-fi internet access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, and an outdoor pool. We also offer a game room, laundry service, and easy access to local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Budget Inn Sandusky

Address: 5918 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sandusky)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $89 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Best Budget Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Budget Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Budget Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Best Budget Inn Sandusky staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!”
393sandrak, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
468marck, 12 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel.”
madeaccountforthis, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“A different Hotel”
ashleysN926JV, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Request a ground floor room.”
WalterS_12, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates