We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,331: English reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The hotel was affordable and two of the staff we dealt with were great. We decided to stay here because we were going to Cedar Point for a mini vacation. When we arrived to Maui Sands Resort Alicia had checked us in at one a.m. We were extremely exhausted from our 6 hr. road trip. We came across a dilemma...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria O
Management response:

Dear Gloria O: Good to hear from you again. You are very welcome. We are glad your stay went so well! We also appreciate the kind words about our Team Members Alicia and Hope. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional each and every day. we are pleased they were able to assist you. The water...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was our second time staying at Maui Sands and it was great we stayed in a family room and it was perfect size for our family of 6. The price was great. the water park was very clean and the staff was very friendly. all of the water park things were open and I liked how they had fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia V
Management response:

Dear Alicia V: Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are very pleased everyone in your family had an enjoyable visit. With a variety of attractions, the water park is ideal for families of all...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Came here because it was cheaper then a hotel close to cedar point, it was ok, but I wouldn't stay again, I didn't like how everyone was checking in at 4 , the check in time, so there was a massive line & with small children that was annoying. I didn't like the hotel suite it was really small, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beydd
Management response:

Dear beydd: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are always interested to learn about our guests' stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the water park. With a variety of attractions, it is ideal for young families. Plus, all of our lifeguards are Red Cross-certified and monitor the activities in the water...

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 11 October 2016

An amalgamation of everything that I would like to avoid at a hotel - broken toilet in my room, broken public restroom, but the hotel staff tells me to use the public restroom anyway because the urinals are working at least. Others are using it as well so I go in and then a surly and rude janitor starts yelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanH4062
Management response:

Dear DanH4062: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing stay at the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay that includes clean and comfortable accommodations. We also apologize that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be professional and courteous each and every...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

When u booked the room on booking.com, I was told they needed a credit card, buy it wouldn't be charged, I could pay in cash, well they charged my card for half the room on the day of my arrival. I get there I find out the restaurant is closed the lounge is closed, half of the water park is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank action1214
Management response:

Dear action 1214: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay. We also apologize that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be professional and courteous each and every day. The kind comments about...

Trenton
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Friday evening. After being sent to the wrong room twice and the fourth trip to the front desk we finally got into our room. The room was nice and clean. It looked like it had recently been upgraded. That is the only good thing I can say. The whole point of staying at a resort is everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura R
Management response:

Dear Laura L: We are sorry you had a disappointing stay at the resort. We are currently completing a renovations program. The grill and the lounge are currently closed and we hope to have the projects completed by the end of next month. We apologize for the inconvenience. We try to inform all callers about the status of these updates....

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. The first night we were there we were put in a room that the ac was broke. It got to over 80 degrees and no one slept well which put a little damper on our trip. The next day we were moved next door where the room was just as bad. The bathtub didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kcroucher
Management response:

Dear Kcroucher: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing visit to the resort. Unfortunately, we did not do many things well during your stay. We also apologize for the unkept rooms. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We want all of our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations....

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I reserved 2 rooms for September 3rd. At check-in, (we arrived late after spending the day at Cedar Point) the clerk was rude to every customer that asked for help. I paid in cash for my room, and my uncle paid with his card for his. There was a group of young women who were angrily waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank antoinette m
Management response:

Dear antoinette m: We are very sorry for the difficulties you had during your visit to the resort. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. Recently, the resort was treated by a professional service. We are also sorry you were not treated properly by all of our Team Members. We expect all...

Suburbs of Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I booked online the morning of our stay (a Tuesday) for the sole purpose of taking my son to a water park. When we arrived to check in, I was informed by another guest that the waterpark was not open. Nowhere during the online booking process was that stated. I called hotels.com and explained my dilemma. Their agent was great...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lilspinster
Management response:

Dear lilspinster: We are very sorry about your disappointing visit to the resort and that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional to all of our guests each and every day. Once Ohio schools are back in session (in most cases, the third week in August),...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This "hotel" should be closed by the health department. We checked in late around midnight, girl at desk was nice. As soon as we walked into the building which I later found out was the older part, the smell was horrific. We walked into a room with what looked like oil spots all over the carpeting. The bunk beds you...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We are very sorry you had such a disappointing stay at the resort. Unfortunately, your room was not serviced properly. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. However, most of our guests have any enjoyable visit and many are repeat customers. We also apologize that you were not treated properly by all...

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $141 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring Antibiotics.”
181lisan, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5