We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,483: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Attending a conference so can’t comment on waterpark or other family activities. The property is well maintained although there is some construction going on in the lobby. Check-in was effortless and professionally handled. Room was well maintained, comfortable and quiet. The Reserve restaurant has a varied menu and my two dinners were good quality/quantity. The service the first evening was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MVTeacher
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 24 September 2014

My family has been going to Kalahari for over 7 years and they never seem to disappoint. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. We always have fun when we go, that's what keeps us going back every year. I recommend you sign-up for their email specials, it will save you a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsDBo419
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

The best compliments we can get is when our guests chose to come back time & time again & you've been coming back for 7 years! THANK YOU! I'm delighted to hear that found our associates so friendly & helpful & rooms always clean & comfortable. I'm glad everyone has fun. We look forward to having you & your family...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 September 2014

First impression walking into the resort is positive, the place is huge and looks really exciting. Decorations are really neat! Dell service was good and the employees seem generally happy. After checking we went over to the waterpark, and were quickly disappointed at how many attractions were closed! It was startling. Literally half of the water slides were closed. this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mab45
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. I am sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations. While I'm glad the overall first impressions were positive I am discouraged to hear about where we have fallen short. I will connect with our waterpark director on any slide closures. As we put safety as our number one priority, we...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Was a vendor at the recent Ohio SHRM conference. Didn't go to the Water Park, but did utilize the sleeping rooms (2 nights), a couple of the lounges, the convention center and the ballrooms. I came here thinking. . ."uh oh, a kid's Water Park. . . .a family get away destination. . . average to below average rooms. ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne V
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Love hearing Wayne that we were able to surpass your stay with us while exhibiting within our Convention Center. I love that you can be a Convention guest and never have to interact with the waterpark if that isn't, as you say, you're thing. Completely understandable. So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the rest! We can't wait to see...

Reviewed 23 September 2014

We’ve been several times and typically have a great time. We get e-mail offers for specials or look on the specials tab on their Web site. The resort is under construction right now. So it wasn’t as grand as usual. And a few of the attractions were closed so that was a bummer for the kids. This is truly one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha R
Parma Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, I love this place and have been coming here an average of three times per year or more since it opened. But I was so disappointed that most of the slides were closed during our visit this weekend. We had planned to spend the whole day and have dinner at the Great Karoo then go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracykay
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We love having you visit us time and time again. Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your thoughts. I am sorry to hear that this journey, we have fallen short of your expectations. I would love the opportunity to look into this and learn about your stay. Please connect with me directly at SocialConnect@KalahariResorts.com. I have...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

We purchased a room on Groupon and thought this would be a great place to stay during our trip to Cedar Point. The hotel room itself was nice, but the lights didn't work great and the pillows were so tiny we had to call and request more- they told us they could only give us two more (we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jillp728
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us for your journey to Cedar Poitnt. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find value in your stay. I wanted to provide some further clarification to your concerns for not only yourself, but also future guests. Our lockers are available for rent. Those are $10 plus a $10 deposit in which you...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 21 September 2014

This was our first time going to Kalahari and it was fantastic! I happened upon a groupon which made it very affordable for our family of 4 but I would still go even if I had to pay full price. We stayed in a hut room, the very basic, but it was a nice size, was well themed, had very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelli F
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Our room was initially right by arcade which was noisy, they upgraded and moved us with no problems. Kids enjoyed the stay, room was clean. Staff was accommodating, pizza was great. A couple of the water slides were closed with no real reason why, that was the only negative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mlearst
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 21 September 2014

The front desk went above and beyond my expectations. When I wanted to stay another night for a deal that I had for one night only, they kindly allowed us to stay for two nights at the same cost. The entire staff was friendly. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. When we had an issue with our restroom someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leffingwell2
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

It's great that the front desk was able to accommodate a second night's stay for you! I'm delighted you found your room to be large, clean & comfortable. Best yet to hear is how impressed you were with our resort. Reviews such as your is what we consistently strive for. Thank you again & we look forward to having you...

774 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (731)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (317)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
303 reviews
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $181 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
6 months ago

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Closer to the water park is nice, the farther you are from it, the quieter the room.”
 of 5 bubbles dtruchan13, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the Nomad room, which are closer to the lobby/waterpark which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles H648KEjennifers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Unfortunately there is little you can do if you get a loud neighbor.”
 of 5 bubbles Mspicer342, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you tell the truth with how many people will be in your room. The extra $25 includes the waterpark ticket.”
 of 5 bubbles carrie0817, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room far away from the elevator lobbies.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonbV5273JD, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5