We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1515 Cedar Point Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-5209
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
FindHotel
US$96
View deal
HIExpress.comUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
TraveluroUS$101
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 35 hotels in Sandusky
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience our waterfront property near Cedar PointKnown as "Americas Roller Coast," Sandusky is the ideal place to stay featuring Cedar Point Amusement Park. Situated on Sandusky Bay with a waterfront view, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky's location provides guests with easy access to great attractions like Cedar Point, Lyman Harbor Banquet facility, Jackson Street Pier, and historic shops and museums in downtown Sandusky. Along with a well-equipped meeting room, The Holiday Inn Express Sandusky has several amenities geared toward corporate travelers. For instance, our Business Center has print and fax services and personal computers. We're close to a variety of local businesses including KBI, Ventra, and U.S. Tsubaki. When you stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Sandusky, our hotel's location puts you just minutes from public beaches, antique shopping, fishing charters, golfing and a variety of restaurants, including The Thirsty Pony located right next to the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English
133Reviews10Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 27
  • 14
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bryan W wrote a review Jun 2022
Westminster, MD10 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed here after vacating another place in town. Room was clean, staff generally friendly. The pool area was heavily chlorinated, with the water cloudy, even after being unused all night. Definitely needs some attention there... Room was nice enough, and the hot breakfast was appreciated prior to visiting Cedar Point. Thanks to the front desk lady who helped me with my rate. I would stay here again in the future. :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hello Bryan W, Thank you for telling us about your experience with us during your stay at our hotel. This will indeed help us improve for you and other future guests. I apologize for the situation you described, and I have shared your sentiment with our management to ensure proper action is taken. We are delighted to see you have chosen us for your stay. I hope you visit again in the future and give us a chance to show you the adjustments we've made to improve. See you around! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pioneer31583344577 wrote a review Jun 2022
20 contributions6 helpful votes
The property is nice and new from the outside and impressive when you enter. However, being located near Cedar Point and rail road tracks, you will hear the vehicles drive by including many motorcycles well into the evening. Once you finally get to sleep you will continually be woken up by the train horns that come and go all through the night. The noise was so frequent that I thought I was reenacting a scene from the movie, My cousin Vinnie. The arrival was a little unprofessional since the person checking me in was loud and she had friends there that didn’t enhance the arrival experience and I’m being kind. You will hear conversations well into the evening from individuals who think they are the only ones at the hotel, hence they talk as loudly as they want to. Unfortunately, this is true at a lot of hotels these days. The bed and room is very comfortable and clean, the bathroom spacious and the food offerings at breakfast very good. If you can tolerate these things or are some of those people I mentioned in my summary, you shouldn’t have a problem with this hotel. However I value a good nights sleep and will head back to The Hampton Inn Milan.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Hello Pioneer31583344577, Thank you for leaving your opinion about our establishment. It's crucial for our improvement and allows us to make proper adjustments to offer you and all guests a better service in future stays. I would like to take this chance to apologize for any situation you might have encountered. Don't worry, I have shared your sentiment with our management for further attention. Nothing makes us happier than delivering the best experience to our beloved guests. We are deeply thankful for choosing our establishment for your accommodation. We hope to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I chose this place for my family of 5 to stay on a 2night 3 day trip to Cedar Point and I am so happy with my decision! This place is home away from home! There were many different rooms to choose from. Something for everyone! I chose the 2 bed 1 bath with kitchen and sofa bed. It was very roomy and the A/C worked so well! Very clean! Parking right out front! And a huge gated pool with slides! My kids loved it here! Only 5 minutes to Cedar Point too! Big shout out to the staff too! They were all so friendly, warm and welcoming! The helpful gentlemen at the front desk, and of course Sandy and Betty! Oh also they have a complimentary breakfast in the mornings too! Such a nice little family owned hotel. I will for sure choose South Shore Inn on all my stays in Sandusky! Karen
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jill wrote a review May 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota1 contribution
We came in late in the evening, and the person greeting us was so amazing and nice! I believe her name was Ashley. She helped us feel comfortable and relaxed during the check in process, after a long day of driving. The rooms were clean and quiet. My Mom and I are happy with the stay and plan to visit again. Thank you again Ashley, for the wonderful customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The parking in located in the back. The fridge is bigger then most hotel rooms. You can buy...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa B wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed this past weekend for a tournament and 2 nights in a row got little sleep because there were teenagers partying, drunk and disorderly, banging on doors, playing loud music, and running the halls. It appeared as though they booked rooms for an after dance party. Called front desk and the noise continued until after 4am - these kids should have been asked to leave! Paid for 2 nights sleep and got about a half a night. They really need security walking around after 11:00 to ensure a good experience if they are going to allow kids with no parents to book rooms. It was totally unacceptable. Pool area was quite loud quite late as well. Room smelled odd. Would not recommend or stay here again. It's unfortunately because it is one of the better located hotels in Sandusky - just managed poorly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Hello LisaB16800, Thanks for sharing feedback. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, what you mentioned about not being able to sleep due to issues with noise and the room having an odd smell gave an bitter taste on your stay. I am sorry for the letdown. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Comments such as yours are valuable and relayed to the team to help point out areas needing additional attention. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca Palmer wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
We had a great stay here. I brought my teenage daughter and 2 of her friends here for a girls getaway. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size for us. The front desk staff was helpful, friendly, and gave us great local restaurant suggestions. I requested a rollaway bed, and it was brought to our room within minutes. Breakfast in the morning was really good! Everything was hot and fresh, the staff there was kind, kept up with bringing fresh food, and keeping it all clean and wiped down. Overall a wonderful stay. We would recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sjbarry57 wrote a review Sep 2021
Cleveland, Ohio20 contributions25 helpful votes
The room was the perfect size for us. Two queen beds and pull out sofa. Very nice room. It was cool to have the body wash and shampoos in the shower but they need to be refilled. Breakfast was awesome! Check in was nice and easy. Location was perfect. We were happy there was a little convenience store in the hotel for when we came back from the park since nothing is open late in that area. All in all it was a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The water view and Castaway Bay view were very nice to wake up to in the morning with the sun...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
leslie817 wrote a review Aug 2021
Avon Lake, Ohio21 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked this hotel so my daughter in law and grandkids could be close to Cedar Point as I live an hour away. It was so nice that they could come back to hotel get cooled off and hit the park until closing. The staff was so nice and facility was quiet and clean. From check in to check out it was a pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
blally wrote a review Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois26 contributions71 helpful votes
Dirty bathroom with hair all over the floor, all of the ice makers on our floor were broken or missing , one of the elevators was broken, left side door wide open for anyone off the street to walk in during late hours, working elevator was very dirty. Need I say more
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great location, newer hotel but dirty and disappointing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Vacayman wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Pros: this hotel was clean and I specifically chose holiday inn express bc of it's cleanliness and cinnamon rolls at breakfast. Our room and hotel in general was comfortable and clean. Cons: the indoor hotel pool was so chlorinated that we couldn't breathe. We had to stop using the pool bc we could not stop coughing and our eyes were burning. This was disappointing bc we arrived early to have a nice evening swim. Other con: those damn cinnamon rolls. Oh how I love them. I book this hotel bc of you. Much to my disappointment the self serve breakfast didn't exist and it was a employee serves you breakfast (presumably bc of covid). I asked for as many cinnamon rolls as they could give me and they replied that they couldn't give me many. Sounds dramatic but devastating. The last time I stayed in a holiday inn express the breakfast attentant made sure we were supplies with as many cinnamon rolls as our family desired. I guess I just came to expect that. Instead the morning started with cinnamon roll disappointment. Also bc nobody in front of is wanted pancakes we took them but then lost our place in line forcing our family of three to share one sorry breakfast plate
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioSandusky
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Castaway Bay Waterpark (0.3 km), Star Lanes (0.9 km), and Pipe Creek Wildlife Area (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thirsty Pony, Quaker Steak & Lube, and Dairy Queen Grill & Chill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (2.0 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.