We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2001 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4403
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!GRUESOME GETAWAY PACKAGE
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$149
TripadvisorUS$149
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$149
Agoda.comUS$161
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Pool & Beach (12)
Videos (2)

About

#23 of 35 hotels in Sandusky
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just a short drive from Cedar Point and Cedar Point Shores, the newly renovated Castaway Bay is an indoor waterpark oasis that features a 38,000 sq. ft. tropically themed water paradise along with a variety of rooms and suite combinations that each feature a mini-fridge and microwave. Children’s activity programming, an outdoor pool and a fitness room are just some of the additional amenities of this waterfront property. The hotel features a Quaker Steak & Lube restaurant along with a deli serving Starbucks coffee, breakfast buffet and snack shack.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Water park
Entertainment staff
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:BARE-BONES PACKAGE
19Reviews21Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Roxanne B wrote a review 4 Sep
Riverview, Michigan1 contribution
+1
The room was disgusting! We had a dead bug on bathroom floor, tags from whoever stayed before us, we had dirty bed sheets in which we called and asked for them to be changed and they did with another set that was dirty. The floors are filthy. We went to the pool came back to the room and when I was wiping up the floor our white hotel towel quickly became black. The bathroom sink is on a stand that is open underneath and the disgusting filth of not being swept or vacuumed just so disgusting all the way around in this room. The staff is so unfriendly! When I approached the desk to ask about a sewing kit I got such an attitude from the lady at the desk for disturbing her. The coffee shop ( Starbucks) works busy playing and talking to never bother taking care of their customers. The experience here was horrible! The elevator floors were the absolute grosses floors I have ever seen in an hotel ever! Halls from check in to check out never vacuumed or cleaned. I have so many disturbing photos of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Klopfer, Marketing at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Responded 6 days ago
Hi roxvin , I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. Our team prides themselves on upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and the best service for our guests, however it seems we fell short in your case. I will be sure to follow up with our team to ensure these issues are properly taken care of so that this doesn’t happen again for our future guests. -Tyler
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherry W wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This resort has a little bit of everything and it was all so much fun! The staff there were very friendly and helpful, the waterpark is excellent, and having an arcade, mini-golf, mini-bowling, and an escape room all in the hotel was so cool. We came for a baseball tournament so we were there with other teammates families and the kids had fun doing all the things at the water park. The hotel was clean and the rooms were very nice and comfy. The food options left a little to be desired, but everything else was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alyssa A wrote a review 1 Sep
Buffalo, NY6798 contributions65 helpful votes
Check in: You check in at the middle of the resort but your room is likely located elsewhere. You can drive around to find one of many magnetic keyed doors and park in an area closer to your room location. There are also rolling carts located on the 1st floors to help bring stuff up and down to your room. Room: If you have been to a Disney value resort you will know what to expect-the rooms are very similar. We booked 2 doubles – a basic room for 3 nights for my son and I. It has the beds, plus what looks to be a sleeper chair but we didn’t open it up to find out. It has a small table with 2 chairs which was nice for a meal in. We ate Panera one night in the room. The beds were pillow top and comfortable. The AC was unusually loud but we managed. The rooms can be kept ICE cold which is nice and we had no issues with smells or humidity. (4th floor). The blackout curtains are great. You could keep the room pitch black if you wanted to during the day for a napping child if necessary. Our room also had a hairdryer but some have said their rooms didn’t. We brought one just in case. The water pressure was great in the bathroom and there was always plenty of hot water. The floors in the rooms are not carpeted. I hate carpeted floors at water parks or any hotel really so this was a plus for me. Yes, the floors are dirty...carpet is worse. If it really bothers you bring a mop. LOL Fridge/Micro: The room has a fridge and microwave which is nice. The fridges are rather large and are not ‘coolers’ but actual fridges that keep items as cold as the items in your own home. We brought paper plates, solo cups and paper towels with us. They were helpful. Plugs: I counted 6 plugs in the room that are easily visible not including the 2 in the bathroom for a total of 8. There are also 2 USB plugs on the counter area by the fridge. You won’t have any issues charging electronics. Water park: I was pleasantly surprised by it. There were 7 larger slides I think for maybe 5 and up. There were 3 smaller slides for the under 5 crowd. A little wave pool where the waves weren’t real big – perfect for younger kids. Towels and seating was plentiful. I spent a lot of time in the hot tub which has access to the outdoors. Public spaces: The public spaces are super cute. If it’s nice out go to floor 3 and in the middle of the resort there is an outdoor area overlooking the water—it’s gorgeous for a morning cup of coffee. The resort hasn’t even been open a year yet though and you can already tell in a few years this place is going to look beat up. The hallways already need repainting. The elevators are slow and people are always complaining about them. It’s a minor annoyance but when you are exhausted after a day at CP it’s tough. We often just took the stairs when we could. Staff: The staff are working hard but they are very understaffed. You can see staff still cleaning rooms at 6pm at night. It is true that they don’t refresh rooms and the trash cans are SUPER tiny. We brought our own larger trash bag which solved the problem. If you need towels? –there was always a huge cart in the hallway with fresh towels, trash bags etc. that the staff use to do the rooms. Just grab what you need. It’s easier than calling down. What you are getting for your money is really a themed Comfort Inn with a medium sized indoor water park to keep the kiddos entertained during rainy times. We paid 150/night total including taxes for 3 nights at the end of August. I don’t feel I’d be happy if I paid 300/night like some have said. Know what you are buying and decide whether or not the value is there for you and your family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christine A wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I had high hopes for this stay but they were quickly dashed. The room was nice and very roomy, no real complaints about that except the sheets didn’t fit the bed so if you pulled to tuck the bottom sheet on one side it came off on the other. We were located by an elevator so at 2:30 in the morning some drunk people fell and hit the wall and were laughing and yelling and woke up my 1 year old grandchild. (That isn’t the hotels fault but i would suggest if you have little ones don’t stay near an elevator). When we went to the waterpark every life guard looked like they were serving time on death row. Not a smile to be seen. The poolside restaurant, which the front desk told me had awesome piña coladas, had no piña coladas because their machine was broken and in fact were out of a few things even given they have an extremely small menu. Then restaurant attached to the hotel closes at 8pm….no bueno there. The whole vibe at this place, except the front desk, was just not good. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and amazing and that’s the only one I can say that about…it was just all down hill after check in. All in all this was not worth the $800 we spent to stay here for a weekend. At this point we are just waiting for the weekend to be over. Very sad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Bridget Y wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The staff and room have been great, except for 1 lady at the water park here at the hotel..she has not allowed our kids to go by them selfs to the water park..they know how to swim and are pretty mature for there age 12 and 14..she is the only one who made us go in with them..it upset me because there is no constancy either everyone enforce that rule or do not at all..there is times where we let them go and we enjoy quiet time without the kids and if I didn't trust them I wouldn't allow them to go..other then that the experience is great..we will be going back to kalhari next time we didn't have any problems there plus this is more for younger kids
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sheila L wrote a review Aug 2022
Bloomfield Township, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
I did not like it at all. I went into the pool area with our baby. We wanted to get into the hot tub so we stood there and read the sign to make sure we were following their rules. The Lifeguards (One Specific) stared us down like we were animals that were trying to escape a cage. We can read. I spoke with the Supervisor (Matthew) about the way we were made to feel. He apologized. I asked him to teach his staff some people and leadership skills. I told him I am not only a RN supervisor, but I rescued a 12 year old boy from the bottom of a 9ft pool and provided CPR then sent him to the hospital. I know water safety and would never break the waterpark rules. That stare was so cold. I did not take my baby back in there. We stayed in the room for the remainder of the time we were there. I will never return to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cls2627 wrote a review Jul 2022
Kearny, New Jersey102 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
Sooo we booked this place because it said it was recently remodeled and the price was decent for the package we bought which included , breakfast each day and tickets to the amusement park for 3 days. Well we should have just paid the money for ANY OTHER PROPERTY!! When we checked in and arrived at the room it was a disaster! There were no rugs just ugly green vinyl floors that were ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE( Grimy) pics attached … we kept finding spiders every morning in the room… the bathroom had a shower curtain that was full of mold along the bottom again ( pics attached) which we went out and bought Clorox bleach and cleaned , because … get this , they never came in and made up the room… we had to ask several different people for clean towels and garbage bags did I mention we were there for 5 days… so yes no clean sheets either.. also the strangest thing ever … no Iron in the room?? In conclusion if you like grimy floors dirty showers and wrinkled clothes then this is the place for you!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Shannon R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Staff was great, hotel was beautifully decorated, my kids loved the waterpark (ages 10 &12). So close to Cedar Point, would highly recommend! Only negative was wait at checkin but Tom was super nice and helpful. Life guards were always professional and hard at work. Will definitely be going back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tiffany S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our family always has a blast at Castaway Bay! Not only is super close to Cedar Point, but it offers a very fun water park experience! It's also cheaper than some of the other waterpark hotels in the area which is always a plus for a family of 8 like ours! The staff was very sweet!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kmhoff1315 wrote a review Jul 2022
Spring Hill, Florida4 contributions
This place was so much fun! Perfect for my family with a 9yo and 7yo. The staff was friendly and helpful. The water park was equal parts fun and relaxing. Wow, those lifeguards are attentive! Breakfast wasn’t anything spectacular, pretty standard hotel buffet breakfast. My kids loved the welcome booklet and the character meets. I don’t think they stopped talking about Rocket and Hank the whole trip. The only negative was the bottom sheet on the king bed was a flat sheet tucked. We will absolutely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castaway bay hotel sandusky, castaway bay sandusky, sandusky castaway bay, bay castaway ohio
LOCATION
United StatesOhioSandusky
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Nearby attractions include Merry-Go-Round Museum (3.2 km), Ghostly Manor Thrill Center (1.9 km), and Johnson's Island Confederate Cemetery (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toft's Ice Cream Parlor, Berardi's Family Kitchen, and The Brick Oven Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Cedar Point's Castaway Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedar Point's Castaway Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (2.3 km).
Does Cedar Point's Castaway Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Cedar Point's Castaway Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.