We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murphin Ridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Murphin Ridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We've been to Murphin Ridge Inn many times; most recently last week. We love the cabins for their isolation and quiet but we've also stayed in the guest house in the past. There is always an interesting group of fellow travelers to chat with at meals, or you can keep to yourself if you prefer. The food has never disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GroundH2o
MurphinRidgeInn, Front Office Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and visited several local places. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We had the best time. It is such an awesome place set in a beautiful part of Ohio. My wife and I went to get away for a couple days. Everyone there was so attentive and warm. The food was extraordinary! We are looking forward to returning. They definitely go out of their way to make it a special time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
MurphinRidgeInn, Front Office Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, come see us again soon!

Greenfield, Indiana
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The holidays can be stressful, but taking time out for my birthday is important. We stayed in cabin 6 which is beautifully furnished. Had a wonderful relaxing time. We hung out in our cabin, visited the nearby Amish stores, and enjoyed Jerry's fabulous ribs. We also took a drive to Portsmouth to see the murals on the flood wall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
MurphinRidgeInn, Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is the second time we have visited, and the first time we stayed in a cabin. The cabin was great--I am so glad we upgraded. It was nice to have more room and privacy. The food is delicious--other reviewers mentioned that it was pricey but we think the prices are more than fare, especially for the quality of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kris R
MurphinRidgeInn, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!

Claxton, Georgia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Rudest staff! Never will return and do not recommend! From the moment we walked in the door, we were looked at like we didn't belong. Not a welcoming environment like you think an Inn would be. The food was just ok.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luther R
MurphinRidgeInn, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Luther, I am sorry, we have no record of your stay with the information provided to us. We strive to accommodate everyone in a friendly manner......we have received a certificate of excellence from Trip Adviser for 2013,2014, and 2015......If we were rude, I would like to apologize to you.....Our kitchen and our staff are small and we do require...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This was our 3rd visit and it was just as great as the first. Beautiful setting, great food, fun hosts and lots to do in all directions. Did we mention the cabin? Beautiful! And it's all just a 1.15 hour drive from Cincinnati. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lh0lt
MurphinRidgeInn, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review

We regret that you were disappointed. We always get great reviews on our Pork Chop. We hope you will return and try us again.

Gastonia
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We were there in late November and couldn't take advantage of enjoying the grounds or any of the sports activities. The room was very nice but not spectacular. The walls could have used some wall pictures,but were bare. We ate at their restaurant the night we arrived and I was very disappointed. We both ordered the pork chops. It came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSpicer
Cincinnati
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This inn is a hidden treasure. The workers are so friendly. The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Just be prepared -- there is no wi-fi in the cabins. (There is wi-fi in the guest house where you check in, gift shop, and dining area). There is also no television or cable. This is a trip you take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina D
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

WOW!! BEAUTIFUL!!! BETTER THAN ANTICIPATED!!! This was a gift for anniversary. The location is way away from hustle and bustle of every day. Cabins, meal house, fire pit, hiking trails, PEACE AND QUITE. The food was great. The service was spot on. The atmosphere was romantic. The cost was perfect because the helping of our 4 course meal was "over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 298jasone
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We've stayed here several times. Last time we stayed it was under the new owners. I cannot remember month. They were very nice and could tell they were trying to get into the feel of things. Is a nice quiet area and the food is always fresh and good. Loved seeing A local Amish family come in for dinner. Several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrianInOhio

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Union
10.1 km away
Comfort Inn - Seaman
Comfort Inn - Seaman
#1 of 1 in Seaman
45 reviews
27.9 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
35.8 km away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 4 in Maysville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 km away
Brown's Motel
Brown's Motel
#1 of 1 in Aberdeen
12 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Region: United States > Ohio > West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murphin Ridge Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Cincinnati, Ohio
over a year ago
Cincinnati, Ohio
over a year ago
Cincinnati, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Murphin Ridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins are a little more private. No TV or wi-fi, but nice for a change.”
910ScottA, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cabins don't have wifi, but rooms in the guest house and the restaurant do.”
Y928UBtracym, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms good!”
susanf619, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cabin if available, or a room with fireplace in the inn”
neals126, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabins are best for couples getaway.”
D1797UOsandram, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5