We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
700 E Krayler Ave, Stillwater, OK 74075-2985
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
HIExpress.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 18 hotels in Stillwater
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Stillwater? Then look no further than Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Stillwater to your doorstep.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area is a family-friendly hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, outdoor furniture, and newspaper. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Stillwater. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Stillwater, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area is located a short distance from Boone Pickens Stadium (1.4 mi) and Oklahoma State University (1.7 mi).

Travellers looking to enjoy some sukiyaki & shabu shabu can head to Tokyo Pot. Otherwise, you may want to check out a Greek restaurant such as Nikki's Greek Restaurant.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a park, such as Boomer Lake Park.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area as you experience everything Stillwater has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
27Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 5
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jane A wrote a review Nov 2021
Dallas, Texas7 contributions
We were coming to town for a football game and wanted to stay close to the stadium. Since it was last minute I was lucky enough to get a room at this hotel. The price was way more than I wanted to pay, however since It was last minute and the location was good I decided to just suck it up and book the room. So since I had to pay more than I normally would for any room I’m very glad that I can give a positive review: The young man that checked us in was very friendly. The lobby was clean, the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet. There was a good complimentary continental breakfast. The only negative experience that I had was when I called in to modify our reservation, the lady whom I spoke to over the photo seemed irritated and was not friendly. It did not set the tone well for the hotel, in fact I was afraid we’d get rude service while there. Also, when we were at breakfast the lady at the front desk and hotel staff seemed to be meeting behind the front desk and discussing a customer in a negative way. It was not very professional.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
cwag88 wrote a review Sep 2021
durant, ok16 contributions16 helpful votes
We were in town for parents weekend and the college football game. When we got to the hotel our room was on the 3rd floor and smelt dirty and musty. It was late and we were only staying one night and the beds and bathroom looked clean so we went to sleep. The next morning we were getting ready to leave and a man walked into our room without knocking and said oh I’m sorry we had you checking out today but he was not wearing a uniform. In fact was wearing long baggy shorts and a tank top. We left our room 5 minutes later and there were no housekeeping carts in the hallway anywhere. We told the desk agent when we checked out and he seemed very unconcerned and didn’t even acknowledge anything we told him. He just looked at the computer. I will not stay at this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Shannon M wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
+1
My husband is a frequent work traveler, and a bit of a hotel snob (according to me). Hes like quality hotels, and HIE is one of his go-to hotels. This experience was different. He used his IHG points to book a room for me and my sister for a long birthday weekend. Since we were going to be late getting there, he tried to call from 8-10 pm, never getting an answer. Then he called IHG, they tried, also couldn't get through, but put a note on the reservation. We get to the room and there is no soap or toilet paper in the room. No longer a toilet paper shortage going on and after a long drive that was not great, but not that big of deal. I called the desk and couldn't get an answer from the front desk, so I go down there. Finally had to walk around the hall yelling "HELLO!", for someone to help me. We also walked around in the room and noticed our socks getting filthy from the nasty floors. We stayed two nights only because we didn't want to pack everything back up. Customer service was severely lacking. There was constantly water in the floor of the lobby from a broken ice machine. They didn't put down towels or mop it up. They just left out a wet floor sign. On the other side of the lobby, someone walked in with very muddy shoes and the mud stayed longer than we did. In addition to the carpet in our room being disgustingly filthy, the carpet in the hall was visibly filthy. Not just dirt but grass and stuff that you could see was never vacuumed. While there we watched the college students, that were supposedly working, all sitting in the lounge area. Every time the phone rang, no one got up to answer it. Every time I called down from my room (because my TV was not working) the phone was never answered. But then I realized I left my charging cable in the car and walked down and they were all sitting there not answering the phone that was ringing at that time. None of the employees were dressed like they were at work. None of them even wore a name tag so you could tell they were not just guests sitting in the lounge. I was surprised when I started yelling for help that they got up. I thought they were going to offer assistance in looking for an employee. Nope, they went to the back to help me. The young men were friendly and helpful when you were standing right there. I have never been in a hotel that every employee was college aged young men. That was on the week days. Saturday rolled around and an adult female cleaning lady showed up and a man in his 30's was at the front desk. As a mom to three teenage boys, I can tell you that a teenage boy is the LAST person that I want cleaning my room! They do not understand what the word "clean" means. No offense meant, just honest truth. While there, I pulled up the reviews for this hotel (which I should have done first, but every other stay at a HIE has been great) and I saw that the reviews were very 50/50. As I started reading, I realized all the 5 star reviews were from the first two years this hotel was open. All the bad reviews were from the last two years. For a hotel that is only 4 years old, I can not believe how dirty and run down it has gotten. I can only guess that they had a change in ownership or management two years ago. I have honestly stayed in Motel 6's that were way cleaner, had better service, and the fact that they didn't have a pool or breakfast... is just what I got here anyway. I think my 2 star review is very generous!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
BBb wrote a review May 2021
Kansas City46 contributions19 helpful votes
Understanding that things are different due to Covid, this hotel has failed to adjust in some areas. If you aren’t providing cleaning service in order to avoid contact, then provide more than 3 bath towels for a room that will hold 4 people for 2 days. The bathroom also only had 1 bar of soap and no shower gel so I guess use the one bar for hand washing and bathing? The bathroom had a Kleenex holder but no Kleenex. The gym did not provide any cleaning products to wipe down equipment aside from dry paper towels. Breakfast is provided but very minimal. This would have been better with some fruit such as bananas and granola/breakfast bars. They did have cereal, yogurt, milk, juice and microwave sandwiches. Staff was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lora Weems, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
B_kah1 I understand your frustration in not having amenities that we were accustom to in the past but most of the hotels supplies have been on back order for sometime I know this is a problem which we have been trying to rectify. I do hope we will see you again in the future as the hotel is trying to train new staff and fight inventory issues. Thank you again for your stay again i am sorry
Read more
Phyllis C wrote a review Apr 2021
Bartlett, Illinois, United States34 contributions5 helpful votes
What worked: Room and surroundings were clean. What staff we found was friendly and tried to be helpful. Parking lot in front was well-lit. What did not work: "Hot breakfast" consisted of cheap packaged breakfast sandwiches, packaged yogurt, milk, etc. Nothing fresh, including no fruit. And no microwave - you were expected to carry it all to your room and microwave it there. NO COFFEE! Instead, we were told to use the Keurig in our room. We tried...it was half filled with water from a previous traveler, dirty, and only provided lukewarm liquid. Clearly, the staff was trying, but as was commented, they were short of help. Also, not trained - the employees were parking in prime spots at the front of the hotel instead of leaving them open for guests. Given all the pay support from the government, no can only conclude that the owners are taking advantage of the pandemic to provide as little as possible and pocket more $$. We are loyal IHG members, but after this experience, we are considering other hotels for our Stillwater visits.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: High cost for amenities provided.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel
Responded 15 May 2021
Hello Phyllis C, It was our pleasure to accommodate one of our valued IHG Rewards member. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the breakfast options and availability of the coffee. Trust that we always have our guests’ interest at heart. That said, I have shared your feedback to our hotel’s upper management as a reference for continuous improvement on our services and amenities. I’ve also sent you a message in your mailbox discussing your stay further. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOklahomaStillwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sanborn Lake (0.8 km), White Barn Estates (1.2 km), and AMC Stillwater 10 (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Texas Roadhouse, Da Vinci's, and Nikki's Greek Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stillwater - University Area, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.