We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This is a good place to stay. Very quiet and just one block off Hwy 101. The owner serves a great breakfast. It is close to the Chetco River and great hiking. The best room opens to the garden. A comfortable vacation stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraFit_10
St Louis
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

They were very accommodating with late night arrival. Wonderful homemade breakfasts were the highlight of my day! Room was warm and cozy for our November stay. Enough hot water for showers for everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D S
Kingman, Arizona
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed nice and warm on a cold Weekend on the Oregon coast. Each room had a little space heater that was more than sufficient. We had the room with our own bathroom which was nice. The 2nd night, there was an issue with the hot water not working, but the quickly fixed the issue. They were willing to work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foo431
Oregon
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We stayed one night on our travels down the coast. With this being the cusp of winter, we were the only guests for the night. We appreciated the quiet, the convenience of walking to a restaurant, and after dinner we relaxed in the living room to have a sip of the wine we brought and read our books. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wahiawakid
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay near Brookings, OR and ran across this place. While recommended to us by a friend we were concerned with a couple of the posts on Trip Advisor. Don't let a few posts deter you from this place, we loved it. It is a two building property with rooms in both buildings. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TuscaTraveler
Woodland, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed one night. It was comfortable enough, but in need of a deep clean (dirty carpets). Stayed upstairs in a good size room but tiny shower. My parents stayed downstairs, again good sized room but a bath which had no plug. Breakfast was ok, but the owners family were in the kitchen making quite a noise at the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STC101
sciinnkeeper, Manager at South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. The carpet you are referring to was cleaned a few times in August and September. Red wine spills are simply there, unable to be removed. It was due to be replaced but the carpet was back-ordered for 6 to 10 weeks. We have now gone with hardwoods due to the long lag time. The...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The young man who greeted us on arrival after a looong day in the car was a bit "surfer-dude" but clearly the person in charge and showed us to our room which was, he said, his favourite. It was in a stand-alone structure and upstairs, not what I had imagined when I booked. Too tired to think about it, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twokiwis2014
sciinnkeeper, Manager at South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello, Oh yes, I recall this mix-up quite well. Again my apologies. The "surfer-dude" needs a little brushing up on accents and ask for names on check in. The apartment is modern, much different than the main house. I will look into sprucing it up! A good winter project. Thank you and my apologies for the confusion.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 September 2016

From our brief two-day stay, this place is a gem. It is a beautiful Craftsman-style house, circa 1917, built by renowned San Francisco architect Bernard Maybeck. We stayed in the Maybeck room that was like a private suite. It is a shut-off from the main house onto a private corridor leading to the bedroom and bathroom. There was also a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PDXMichael B
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Lovely B and B. We stayed in a large suite on the first floor. King bed, electric "wood burning" stove in corner, private patio and private entrance. Large bathroom with soaker tub. Inside was lovely, furnishings exactly what you would want from a B&B. Clean and decorated beautifully.Exterior needs a sprucing up. I like the overgrown "English Garden" look but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice B&B with loads of antiques and collectibles throughout the property. In excellent condition with super friendly hosts. Fresh made breakfast was very good and prepared us well for our new day of driving. Hostess even called the nearby local restaurant to ensure they were open with available table for dinner. While Brookings was not big on sights to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david_small74

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.8 km away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
350 reviews
1.0 km away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
186 reviews
8.0 km away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
89 reviews
0.2 km away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our in house rooms offer full breakfast at 8:30 am, included in the price of the room. You are welcome to have tea, coffee, wine and use of the refrigerator and microwave. The Garden Cottage does not include breakfast as there is an efficiency kitchen in that accommodation which has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster over and hotplate. If we can accommodate you for breakfast and you would like to join us, please ask. There is a small fee of $10.00 per couple. The Sea View apartment is a full apartment with a great kitchen. We do not include breakfast with the apartment but if you would like, and if we can accommodate your party, we are happy to do so. Please ask on check in. There is an extra charge of $10.00 per couple. We would love to be able to include breakfast for all our rooms, but if the main house is full we simply cannot seat and serve everyone to our standard. We will absolutely do the best possible for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Price Range: $117 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Angel room is quite small, but the bed is very comfy! Perhaps best for a single traveler as far as space in the room to put bags and gear.”
 of 5 bubbles Wahiawakid, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the Maybeck room - very private”
  • May beck room private patio
 of 5 bubbles pdxmichaelb, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Maybeck room is easier to access than other rooms, which require steps up to the main entrance plus stairs to rooms on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 793nc, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Maybeck room was great - private entrance through a courtyard and private bath that was very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles bamablakesc, 2 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If you can't climb stairs there is one large room with bath downstairs with its own entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles BunnyC511, 26 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5